We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott for two nights during a conference I attended there. Every staff member was attentive and helpful. When you came into the lobby, they would each make a point of greeting you. The hotel location is excellent. We walked/ran to the river. There was a shuttle to take us to Shockoe Bottom and he came and picked us up when we called. I highly recommend this venue for any stay in downtown Richmond.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    257
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
130
105
37
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, VA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I (and family) stayed at the Richmond Marriott this past weekend while in for the NASCAR race at the Richmond International Raceway. It was a very good stay. Richard, who was our bellman, is great! He was very pleasant and very informative. I think he is the Bellmen Supervisor at the hotel. The other staff and service was ok -- from check in to valet. Valet is I think quite expensive at $25 per night. My husband and I both work at resort so we understand that hospitality, service, and personalization is key to making a good or ok stay into a great stay for a guest! It was very surprising to me that this hotel was quiet (didn't have trouble sleeping at all) even though it seems to be right in the middle of the action in Richmond. Our room was a traditional guest room with two queen beds. Very nice and well kept. The hotel was very busy though that weekend with other race fans. We did not dine at the sports bar that is inside the hotel. The only place we dined at there was the Starbucks for breakfast (very friendly staff there also!!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazonqueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I'm a road warrior who stays in hotels 200 nights a year for work, usually at Marriott or Hilton affiliated properties. (Marriott Platinum & Hilton Diamond member)

I've had 2 separate multi-night stays at the Richmond Marriott, and would definitely put it in the top 1/3 of domestic Marriott properties. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms immaculate and finely appointed, the beds comfortable, and the hotel very well maintained. I was very pleased with my experience.

The hotel itself is in a rather quiet part of downtown -- there isn't much happening in the immediate vicinity besides the convention center. The hotel does have a free shuttle that will take you to/from the restuarant district should a little nightlife be your fancy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasking9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Were not used to nicer hotels so any descrepencies may have gone unoticed. But we were pretty happy overall. I asked on 3 occasions to have something done or fixed and they responded right away. It was fixed not only that day but the time they asked ME for. Air wasent cold enough, they fixed it, Forgot my phone charger in the car, they went and got it. Room was not made by the time we got back, it was fixed in 1 hour while we went swimming. Parking seemed high at 25 but was worth it to me, parking can be such a hastle in a city. Now I was disapointed in no free wifi in the rooms only the buisness area. Hard to research a trip from a smart phone even. Great spot downtown in my opinion but right on the edge of the "tracks" If you walk in the right direction, no problem. Bathroom seemed a bit small for a nicer hotel but the room was good size, no fridge however, might want to check on that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo4Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Area
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed one night at Marriott in downtown Richmond. The best going for it was location across from Convention Center, which could account for why they feel it is okay to charge large rates and give nothing with it. Parking was $25.00, Internet was $12.95, and of course no free breakfast. All of those features I can get for free at place that charges much less. Room was pleasant but needed work. Sink had huge crack in bowl, TV had fuzzy reception, noise from other rooms was bothersome. I could hear all the conversations up and down the hall as people walked around and talked. Soundproofing an issue. Bed not particularly comfortable. Service downstairs was excellent, but in some cases wrong. My company paid for room in advance. I was told the room was not paid for, and the person checked and said yes, not paid for. I hauled out my laptop and showed a manager the receipt I had been sent. Then the manager discovered that the room was indeed paid in advance. The friendly staff, especially the parking people, cannot make up for overpriced rooms, faulty information, and facilities not up to 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am a Marriott rewards member and stay in Marriott hotels around the world and have to say this is either the best or the #2 best I've stayed in without question. All the basics you can count on; room was extremely clean, rooms and spaces were spacious, etc. But what sets this Marriott apart from almost all others is the amazing customer service. I stayed for 3 nights and every single staff member said 'hello' to me every time I walked by, I actually started to avoid staff members because I was busy. The front desk staff anticipated my arrival and had everything ready, I had to decline constant offers of assistance with bags, directions, etc. The restaurants are high quality and the location in the city is perfect for site seeing the historical sites.

This Marriott and it's amazing staff should be used as a training model for other Marriotts; many other Marriott's are good; this one is great. I don't get to Richmond very much, but whenever I do; I will stay here without question. My only regret is upon my departure, I couldn't find the manager to express my experiences to them directly.

This staff is awesome. Period.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardr285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel has a great location next to the convention center and a easy short walk to the Thomas Jefferson designed Virginia State Capitol. Very nice sports bar and starbucks in the hotel. Down side is parking and internet. Parking is $18 self parking or valet $25 with internet costing $12, which is a large increase in your stay. When booking online, opt for the extra $10 fee which includes valet parking and internet. Richmond Coliseum is next door, perfect for seeing a Raiders game or concert.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitziLinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Paradine, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback MitziLinka, and thank you again for your recent visit to Richmond! I'm guessing you were here for Cirque du Soleil at the Richmond Colisuem. How was the show?
I am glad that you found our location to be convenient and enjoyed the service in T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill and Starbucks. As you noted, we offer package rates for those looking to save by including both parking and Internet in their guestroom rate. I hope that the next time you're in the Richmond area, we'll be able to have you as our guest once again for another fantastic weekend. If so, you'll notice yet another improvement, as we're installing BRAND NEW BEDS in all 410 rooms this week!

Thank you again for your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Property: Richmond Marriott
Address: 500 East Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing