We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3/17/12 stay”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good stay at this property. The hotel was in good condition, the staff incredibly helpful. The location in downtown Richmond is ideal. Easy in, easy out. Good (expensive) parking with less expensive public options. We stayed on St Patricks night - with an Elton John concert taking place downtown. LOTS of "happy" people. The hotel handled an overflow crowd (they were oversold and placing guests with confirmed reservations at another quality downtown hotel) beautifully. My only disppointment was the lack of insulation in the rooms. Noise was an issue (not related to the concert or the St Patty day participants). Normal movement in the hall - neighbors going in/out of their rooms, typical conversations between friends - were distubring while in your room.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 825 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

went to this hotel to visit the restaurant as was attending a concert in nearby venue, it was St Patricks day, restauarsnt was far to busy, staff could not cope with numbers, line to put your name down for table was taking as long as wait for table, should have known better, after 30 minute wait , shown to table, orderd meal, appetizer did not arrive, after 30 minutes main turned up, ok for a burger, ordered another drink, didn't turn up till after check had arrived.
if you are going to a concert at the colliseum, give this a miss, why do staff pack in customers when they have no chance of providing a reasonable service, management to note !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Richmond Marriott. I'm generally not a fan of large, convention-style hotels and prefer boutique properties. That said, I definitely see why the Marriott chain has fans.

The staff of this hotel are excellent. I am currently 7 months pregnant, so my husband requested a room with a tub so I could soak some achy feet. The woman at the front desk asked if I wouldn't mind waiting for the appropriate room, which we didn't. We had arrived hours before check-in time, but we were still given two free drink tickets for the Starbucks in the hotel to use while we waited. The gesture was totally unnecessary, but really kind and appreciated. We ended up being upgraded to a huge suite with a jacuzzi tub.

The suite was really lovely. The decor was a bit boring for my taste, but everything was clean and new, which is really the most important thing. The suite had a huge parlor with kitchen area, large king bedroom and a spacious bathroom with said tub. We were only staying one night, but the suite would have been perfect for a family or business associate staying long-term.

Although not the hotel's fault at all, I have to admit that I found downtown Richmond a little boring. I was suprised that there weren't many dining and shopping options around the hotel for evening entertainment. I guess it's more of a business district. If I did return to Richmond, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityGirl610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Was looking for a nice place to stay close to the Nattional and gave the Marriott a try. Perfect location. Staff was really friendly. Nice clean room. Bunch of field hockey players staying for a tournament but it was very quiet. Pricey parking but the room rate was great. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Central to downtown and right by the coleseum , this hotel is a good location for anything you want to do in the city. Walkable to VCU. The hotel has all the ammenities you would expect from a Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caryon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at the Richmond Marriott for the Virginia Wine Expo. There was a special rate, so very reasonable cost.
Pros: clean room, very quiet (I didn't expect this because of the expo), Starbucks in the lobby
Cons: you can either valet or use public parking--the hotel doesn't have it's own garage so you pay (a lot $18) each time you leave on a weekday. Weekend rates are cheaper. There is an enclosed walkway connecting the garage to the hotel and the convention center. The garage locks the entrance to the hotel at 10pm. Your room key is supposed to let you in but it was broken. A hotel employee said to use the aluminum can to prop the door (I feel so safe). The restaurant didn't serve breakfast so you either has room service (exorbitant for a 2-3 star hotel, or you can have a sugary Starbucks calorie trip.
I'd probably only stay in this hotel again for the convention center. If you have a convention, I'd highly recommend it for value and convenience (too bad about breakfast).

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, excellent service, beautiful rooms with very comfy beds!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#16 of 82 in Richmond
2,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $163 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing