We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny bathrooms in a big room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny bathrooms in a big room”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

At first impression you think this will be a terrific stay. The lobby is well decorated and comfortable with a nice bar area. The staff is friendly and check in super fast. The room was big with a sitting area, big TV and king bed. The negatives that ruined it from being special, are the tiniest, most dysfunctional bathrooms I have seen in a major chain. The door actually hits the toilet and the mirror bangs around when you go to shut the door. The bed was also a disappointment and not as comfy as other hotels. Pool area is nice but stark, no greenery, just concrete and brick. But once again the staff came thru and brought out fresh towels with a smile. So not a bad choice, just some odd design flaws.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    117
    55
    26
    13
See reviews for
154
58
20
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I just decided to list a few features that reviews don't always include, regarding room details and vegetarian options. Otherwise, I found the other great reviews to be true for me.

Amenities: When I stayed (May 2012), my room featured a clean bed, an iron & ironing board, hair dryer (in drawer), shampoo & conditioner, toothpaste, alarm clock/radio, coffee/tea maker, and a shower with full tub. The A/C was clean and had no odors, although when I went to bed, I noticed the occasional sound from temperature adjustments. That's probably normal for every hotel. Anyway the sounds weren't too loud, and I found that I could actually turn off the A/C (I'm not too fussy about temperature).

There was also a sofa, table, and a large flat-screen TV with 20-30 common channels plus HBO (free), HBO Family (free), and premium shows.

I didn't plan on swimming, but folks were enjoying the outdoor pool area. Consider bringing swimwear.

Instead of vending machines, you can buy "grab and go" items in the lobby at any hour and optionally bill them to your room, so you don't need to carry loose change. The lobby also sells specialty Starbucks coffees, teas, pastries, beer, wine, and cocktails (but I'm not sure what hours).

The free breakfast (until 9:30 weekdays, 10 am weekends) has just enough variety. Most options are vegetarian. I remember seeing choices like egg/bacon sandwiches, hot oatmeal, pancakes, yogurt, kids' cereal, fresh chopped fruit, toast, raisin bagels, and beverages. The front desk said that the "sweet hot" item varies every day: either pancakes, waffles or french toast. I was told that the morning egg sandwiches always include bacon (they're pre-planned), but vegetarians can buy a made-to-order breakfast sandwich at the nearby counter.

There are many restaurants nearby (such as Golden Corral) -- plus a Mexican restaurant within walking distance.

On each room's phone, there's a button for "Gallery Host" (food orders). The only menus I saw were in the lobby. Most menu items are available 24 hours, including the breakfast sandwiches. Here are the main vegetarian meals I saw:

Hot sandwiches (about $6 each):
Breakfast sandwich with bacon (optional), egg, gouda on a potato roll, plus fruit & potatoes.
Sunrise croissant sandwich (low-carb - spinach, mushrooms, egg and muenster).

Sandwiches with chips & pickle.

8" pizza (pepperoni, sausage or cheese - about $7)

The other reviews say everything else you need. Compared to a nearby inn with inferior reviews, the Hyatt only cost $20 more per night, so I decided to go for it. It was just a 2-night visit, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BobM_Syr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The Hyatt Place was a great stay for our four-day vacation in Richmond. The staff was very friendly. The suite-style room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the use of the pool on a hot, spring day--towels were provided, of course. The breakfast buffet was good and the location of the hotel was very convenient. If traveling to Richmond, "google" Richmond + newspaper to read current events for the time you are visiting. We were able to find "The Secret Garden Party". We purchased tickets before going to Richmond. The Garden Party took place in downtown/historical Richmond with a "progressive, cocktail party theme". Five museums, churches, or other sites had beverages and appetizers. Music was provided as well as a shuttle which went between venues. We had a great time. Next year's "Secret Garden Party" will be scheduled during the 2nd week of May. Check it out!

Room Tip: We booked directly with Hyatt after looking at travel sites to see what prices were available. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Hyatt Place was wonderful. The lobby has a small bar and a counter where you can purchase a nice variety of food items. They are very reasonably priced. Our room was very large and nicely decorated. The pool area has plenty of seating. The breakfast was also very good. All the food was nicely displayed and offered several different items. I wish we had been able to stay longer to enjoy everything!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

PROS: very large rooms, lovely large sitting area, lovely lobby, VERY well run/great service
super beds, very nice breakfast (much better than other chains like Marriott)..oh those pastries - where do they get them from......

CONS: small bathrooms (why do all the Hyatt Place hotels have poor bathroom doors, guess they forgot to renovate them), not much around the hotel

OVERALL: Its Hyatt..its classy.. much better than other hotel chains around same price level but lets keep it a secret !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt the weekend of the Monument 10K in Richmond. This was our first trip to the area and got a great deal on Priceline. We have never stayed at a Hyatt before and were pleasantly surprised. The room was very big, awesome TV, very nice sitting area and furniture. Our only complaint: the bed is not as comfortable as say a Hilton Garden/Hampton Inn. There are a lot of restaurants only a few miles away. I would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriolesFan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hyatt Place recently as I was in town for the Monument 10K. I was pleased with the initial reception from the front desk staff and for the added information and directions to a local grocery store. Staff was friendly, cheerful and genuinely appeared to enjoy their job! The continental breakfast is amazing. Very well stocked and delicious food, lots of fresh fruit and above average selection. Decor is charming and the king bed suite had plenty of room. The room and lobby were extremely clean. I would recommend this hotel for one night or a long vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#5 of 6 in Midlothian
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
774 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Address: 201 Arboretum Pl, Richmond, VA 23236-3485 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Richmond
#24 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum Hotel Richmond
Hyatt Richmond
Richmond Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing