We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richmond Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family stayed here during the weekend of the Marathon, November 2013. The location proved to be ideal. It was an easy walk to the start line and steps from the finish line.
The rooms were nice, very large and recently updated. The staff was awesome, warm, incredibly patient and extremely helpful with all of our questions. They really proved themselves in the hours after the race, when the lobby was flooded with exhausted runners making all sorts of requests. Check in was easy. The parking garage was handy. The breakfast buffet was great, but I would suggest going somewhere else if you want a decent dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank personofleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hello personofleisure, we appreciate you choosing our hotel and staying during the Richmond Marathon weekend. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to see your return this year and perhaps before the 2014 Marathon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 884 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

First... Checking in was so nice. We were early to arrive and they were more than accommodating. Both ladies at the front were just so funny and friendly. The room itself was big, clean, new and had a wonderful view. I had to check out literally 2 hours into our stay due to a family emergency and was not charged! I'm so grateful for the kindness and common sense of this place, who was happy to assist me in getting out of there quickly. I wish I could do more for them than simply writing a review. I love this place. Thank you all kindly.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank slidermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear slidermuzz, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We are sorry that you had to leave and could not enjoy our hotel longer. We certainly hope all is well and would like to invite you back soon. Again thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband reserved this wonderful hotel for our wedding anniversary, and we had a great time. The staff was outstanding, and the breakfast was great. The manager was so very nice to my husband and the Crowne Plaza really made our stay awesome.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shoney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Shoney75, thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We booked this last minute for the 5th of July and could not have been more pleasantly surprised. We had a wonderful view of the James River, an unexpected spectacular firework show, and extremely friendly staff. We were able to walk to almost all of the attractions we wanted to see would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!

Room Tip: Get a view of the James River!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello Katie, Thank you for your recent comments and input following your July 4th celebration. Quick becoming a tradition with the RVC crowd, Fireworks over the River. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just held our family reunion here last night, and could not have picked a better venue. The service and facilities were outstanding from the general manager down to the front desk staff. In particular, Ben, Lori, Jessica, and Desiree went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect. We will be holding our family and business events here on a regular basis. We strongly recommend the Crowne Plaza for its great location, amazing views, excellent customer service, and affordable rates. The rooms are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the James River
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Alex M, thank you for choosing our hotel to host your Family Reunion. We are glad that your family had such a memorable experience and look forward to your return soon. Again thank you for providing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed here on a Sunday night, May 4, 2014. The rooms were very nice and clean, and adequately spacious. It seemed to be an old hotel but very well maintained. Restaurant was closed on a Sunday night, which was disappointing, but was able to get a decent meal in the bar, which was prepared by the kitchen. Breakfast bar was good way to start the day.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the river
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Wayne P, thank you for providing your review. We appreciate you taking the time. We apologize that you had to dine in our Great Room but are glad you enjoyed your meal. Return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I am staying in Crown Plaza, Richmond, Downtown, VA for many years.
Their Front Desk Employees Ms. Geeni, Karen and Supervisor JL and Room Service Ms. Pat are of great help and always pays attention to our requests and always ensure that every stays are made as comfortable as possible.

From My experience, Crown Plaza Down Town always give me the best comfort, clean rooms best breakfast.

Great location, nice views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Kris M., we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your business and comments. I will share your comments with our staff and mangement. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $179 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing