We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael at the Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was in town for one night and had a great experience! Especially Michael Dunsworth. Michael took excellent care of us all night! On a crowded night, as everyone came down to watch the World Cup games, we never once felt like we had to wait for service. Many thanks to Michael and E Ron.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sshafaei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hello Sshafaei. thank you for taking time to provide your valuable feedback. Our team in our GreatRoom Bar and Lounge will be proud to hear your feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 885 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

I am a huge advocate for great customer service. The second I have to deal with a grouchy worker, the experience is completely ruined for me. We stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary. This place not only has great rooms for a very reasonable price, but also has the very best customer service. From the lady that checked us in, to Tamas who drove us to and from dinner, to Artilo who served us drinks and food at the bar, the service was over the top. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The lady at the front dest even offered to call the restaurant herself to ensure our reservation would be held because we were running a few minutes late-- (the place told us prior that they would only hold a reservation for 10 minutes). The room was awesome-- aside from a lack of sound insulation-- but you definately can't beat it for the price! We had a suite with hard floors, no carpet, and a huge, almost wrap-around, window view of the city and river. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMereLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Mrs. Mere Lynn, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your valuable review of our property. Yes, we believe in Great Service! I will pass your comments onto Tomas and Attilla they will be proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel appears nice in the lobby, however, my room was not very clean and there were blood strains on one of the washcloths in the bathroom. The beds air worn out and need to be replaced. As soon as I entered the room, my eyes began to water and throat began to ache due to the overuse of air freshener that the housekeepers had sprayed in the room. The walls are paper thin... Even WITH EARPLUGS - I could easily hear the guy in the next room coughing along with what seemed like 30+ doors being opened and closed in the hallway. I still can't figure out why there were so many people coming/going from/to their rooms at 1:45AM in a Thursday morning! Would NOT recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Av8torGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Av8torGuy, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide our hotel with your review and feedback. We apologize for your multiple issues. Your stay was at the least was unacceptable and not what you deserve. Our management team will review your input and share with our staff today. Again thank you for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed here for travel for 4 days/3 nights, and it was a nice enough hotel. The room was clean (except for the previous occupants water bottle in the mini-fridge...gross because I took a sip of it before I realized that it wasn't new). The staff at the front desk wasn't overly friendly, but it isn't something that would keep me from going back on my next trip. If you like to enjoy some alone time with lots of quiet and good service for an adult beverage, the hotel lounge is for you. It was nearly empty every night (weeknights), and the bartenders were FANTASTIC! They even got us blankets to curl up on the couches when they saw that we were chilly.

The hotel's restaurant makes made-to-order omelets, which was really nice.

Would I stay there again? Sure...however, if I were craving a bit more entertainment and things to do, I might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hello Beachlover155, thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We hope you return soon to our Very Quiet Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Throughout my stay, I was received help from many bellman. They were always pleasant and helpful. Orlando was especially pleasant and I had an enjoyable conversation with him while he took me to my destination. I appreciated all of the friendly staff during my stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hello Dawn G, thank you for taking the time to pass on your remarks and observations. Orlando has established a regular group of weekly customers that enjoy his service and company. We hope you return again soon to enjoy our friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a solid 4 star hotel. There are a couple of things to be aware of when choosing this one. 1.)The gym is actually not located in the Hotel it seems. Weekdays I think they have a neighboring facility they use but on weekends you would have to go out and travel a few blocks to use a gym with which they have an arrangement.
2.) The neighborhood is a little loud with late night activities on the weekends so you might want to opt for a higher floor to distance yourself from the 1 am whoops and hollers.
3.) check in was smooth. They did not have a room with 2 beds for us so we had no choice but to take a single bed room.

Room Tip: see above notes
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hello Bigsky3, we sincerely appreciate you taking the tme to review our hotel. I apologize that we did not do a good job letting you know our fitness center is available next our pool. However we also offer extended workout needs via our local YMCA. Again thank you for taking the time to provide your input. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am a firm believer in first impressions! We were very disappointed in our check in at this hotel. Especially being the fact that we were checked in by the Front Desk Supervisor/Manager Ja'el. It was very obvious she did not like her job. Very short. Seemed very disgusted by our questions. Would cut us off half of the time and was unable to even inquire about certain things. We were wanting to split the room and pay cash. She did not like that. Then it turns out that she overcharged us....we found this out at the time of check out. We finally get that resolved. Then when I check my bank account the week after they had charged me double!! Not a very pleasant experience. Whether you like your job or not....you better have a smile on your face and act like you do. If it were not for the customer staying at your accommodation you would not get a pay check!! However....when I called about the billing issue....I spoke to Janet and she was VERY apologetic and VERY helpful. She was right on it. Took it directly to accounting where they immediately credited my account! THANK YOU JANET....WISH YOU WOULD HAVE CHECKED US IN!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Kim S, we sincerely thank you for taking the time and effort to provide feedback that we believe to be valuable to our operation. We are very sorry for your experience and we do know that the first Impression you recieved can not and should not happen. This will be discussed in detail. Again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 82 in Richmond
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $179 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing