We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine and the staff is really helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a better-than-basic hotel with an indoor pool and a small gym and an attached garage just a block away from the river (so one side has nice views -- my room wasn't on that side.) The check-in staff was extremely friendly. It was super cold so I opted to eat in the hotel but when I got to the restaurant there wasn't another soul in the place so I ordered room service (which was fine.) It feels like a hotel that has had a recent renovation but it wasn't top-to-bottom so for example the bathroom has a marble vanity but the hair dryer is ancient. But if you're going to Richmond on business and you need to be in this part of town, the Crowne Plaza will be just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hello Ms. Knowles, thank you for reveiw and comments referencing our hotel and services. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 908 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wednesday night had a 2.5 hour hospitality for Priority Club members. Free beer, wine and food. Chicken fingers, salad, desserts, fruit and cheeses. Played trivia. Great time. Very clean room and great service. Restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hello S, thank you for your review and input. We hope you will be returning to enjoy our updated IHG Rewards Parties...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are expecting southern hospitality you won't get it here. The check-in girl never cracked a smile. When we called to ask about breakfast the lady hung up on us. When we called back she said breakfast was included in our room. We found out later it wasn't included. There were nasty stains on our sheets. We were so tired and had already unpacked we prayed the hot water killed anything bad. Thankfully we were there for only one day otherwise we would have found another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear SVinLV: Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and sharing your experiences. We apologize that your stay did not meet yours or our expectations - your experiences are out of the ordinary for our Hotel, and we appreciate you noting them. We have shared your review with members of our staff, as your comments are critical in helping to ensure the items you mentioned do not happen again. Thank you again for your review.

Deanna Bourgault (on behalf of Scott Jones, GM)
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Paid $133 (total) for a Saturday night room. There was a girls volleyball tournament going on in town so the hotels in the city were packed. The girls running around the hotel wasn't a big deal. The paper thin walls between the rooms were. Especially at 6am when te wake up calls came in so they could make it to their games on time.

Nice, big flat screen tv. Microwave and small fridge. Room was clean. Overall, good value. We stayed here because we wanted to experience the Richmond nightlife and pay less than $150. Plenty of cool bars are within a mile of this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YouCantHandleDaTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booked a Saturday night for a recent stay in Richmond. We were happy with the hotel accommodation. Room decor was updated and modern and came with a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Room service is available but opted to have breakfast at the cafe on site. Enjoyed two breakfast buffets with coffee/juice included for about $30 bucks which we thought was a great deal. Not really a walkable neighborhood for restaurants etc although you are not very far from the canal and could walk there from the front door. The hotel sits in the financial district and caters mostly to the business traveler during the week but on the weekends it's only about $100/night. There is an adjacent parking garage for about $12 a day to self park but the meters on the street are free on the weekend so we parked in front of the side entrance for free and did not have to worry about in and out charges. Only criticism is that we asked for a room with with a view on our reservation but were given a room overlooking the street, empty parking lot and work site. Given that the hotel was near empty, this was a bit annoying. The side of the hotel overlooking the water is the most scenic and anyone in the hospitality industry should know this. We were too tired to ask for a switch for one night so would strongly suggest that any special requests be reiterated on check in.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dcraw2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dcraw, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and review of our property. We apologize that you did not receive a room with a better view for which you had requested. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this property this past October for one nite & were met at the Front Desk by a lovely woman named Jeanie Walton. She was superb! Very friendy & accomodating. She even gave us an upgrade at no additonal cost and the room was specatular! Beautifully appointed & clean. Great view of the city! We weren't there long enough to enjoy the other facilities on the property but everyone was so nice. Great staff! The next time we visit Richmond, we will definitely stay here and take advantage of all of the history the city has to offer within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you Mary H for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass your wonderful comments forward to Jeanie. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is looking very tired and was disappointing considering the price of the rooms. I think we had the smallest bed on the planet, I didn't think hotels were still using double beds. There are some nice touches with the range of a amenity and its in a good location

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JudyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear JudyGraham,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a review. I am glad you were pleased with our location. I am sorry that we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#15 of 82 in Richmond
2,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
6.2 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219-3837 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $149 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing