We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall good experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Pros:

Love my room. On the 9th floor, great views and it's a Priority members Suite. It is a small suite but nice.

Staff have all been wonderful, kind and helpful.

I really think the price of the room is quite fair for the location and accommodations.

Cons:

In this economy it bothers me that I have to pay $12.00 to park in the hotels parking garage.

The walls are very thin. You can hear everything.

The restaurant and bar were nice but the food choices were minimal and very over priced.

Overall I had a good experience

Room Tip: My room was on the ninth floor and I had a great view of the James River. This room was a Priority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klglori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    264
    124
    53
    40
See reviews for
170
169
48
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Overall a great experience, with the exception of one thing, a fire alarm went off at 5:00 am which I believe had an affect on the ODU basketball team during the CAA Tourney.

My first impression was not with Althea, but another person who I cannot remember her name. When Althea came to the counter and the atmosphere changed, I felt WELCOMED at the Crowne Plaza. Prior to Althea, I felt like a number, NEXT? I was travelling with 2 others and even though different people assisted us all, we all was welcomed by Althea who eventually took care of all of us and was the person who we sought after at the counter.

She provided great customer service to us all, I felt like family with her not just a guest in the hotel.

After my encounter with Althea, I have nothing but praise for the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Back rooms had a view of a River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had an overall great experience at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown but there were a few things that kept it from being really excellent.

There were lots of positives--
* great location that was really easy to find and convenient to where I needed to be for meetings (James Monroe Government Offices)
* Very clean lobby, room, bed, sheets, bathroom... everything! Very clean. :-)
* I was on the 15th floor which is a club-level room with lounge privileges. At first I was a little freaked out because the lounge was closed that evening but I found out that, in its place, they were holding a full buffet Priority Club Members party on the 2nd floor so I would not miss out what, for me, is a free dinner. The spread included a wonderful veggie, fruit, cheese and crackers tray, meat lasagna, an pasta casserole with vegetables in alfredo sauce, and General Zso's chicken. They were also providing free alcohol and sodas and cannoli's for dessert. It was a nice gesture for its Priority Club Member guests and a pre-St. Patrick's day party.
* Free wi-fi is always a win in my book and there's worked quite well.
* Convenient parking garage attached to the building (discounted parking for hotel guests).
* Anthony, the shuttle driver, was my savior for getting me to my client meeting and back when my rental car wouldn't start and Sherman (one of the bellhops) was my savior for helping me to get my car to start when I returned from my client meeting. Without these two wonderful men, I managed to still get to my meeting on time and to the airport on time for my flight home. Seriously can't say enough about how above and beyond these two Crowne Plaza reps went to help me out. I can't say the same for the nice, but non-helpful front desk staff (see below).

The negatives--
* Suuuper thin walls; I could hear every word of the guest next door who was on his phone and you could tell he was speaking at a completely normal volume. I had no issues sleeping because he must have turned in around the same time so I really wasn't bothered by the thin walls, but I definitely wanted to point out that, if you have a neighbor who is on a different sleep schedule than you who might want to watch tv all night, you will likely hear every word.
* Pillows were too thick for my sleeping preference so, despite how comfy the bed was, I had a lot of trouble falling asleep. Would love it if they offered at least one feather pillow in the room because then I would have slept like a baby.
* The front desk staff were all very nice but could have done several things to really be of service to me as a guest at their hotel. 1) I had to call down to get the code for the free wi-fi... this should have been automatically included in the key packet as it usually is at other Crowne Plazas. Minor issue, but it was irritating to not have it readily available when I was trying to log on. 2) I was not asked any details about the car I parked in the garage at check-in. The clerk just noticed I had a ticket for the garage and put the charge into the computer for my bill. If she had just asked what color and make/model of car I was driving I could have avoided the next morning's debacle of having a dead car battery. Note: I take full responsibility for leaving the rental car fog lights on but the parking attendant noticed that they were on shortly after I got out of the car so this could have been caught early enough to save me a dead battery if they had been able to match up that a red Ford Focus had its lights on and I was one of their guests who checked in driving a red Ford Focus. Instead, they weren't able to locate me and the the front desk clerk said, "Oh, you are the guest who was driving the red Ford Focus? Yeah, we knew about this yesterday but didn't know how to locate you because we forgot to ask you what you were driving upon check-in." She was nice but also was just sort of smiling apologetically and saying sorry as I stood there struggling to figure out what the heck I was going to do to get to my appt at the James Monroe building in the next half hour. When I asked how long it would take me to walk, she just shrugged her shoulders and stared at me saying sorry again. I tried calling AAA (45 min to 1 hour wait) and asked her and one other lady behind the desk if they could please ask if anyone on staff had a jumper cable. They asked one guy on the radio and that was it. I went back out to the parking garage to see if MAYBE I could catch someone who was leaving the garage and see if they had cables to jump me and, just before I gave up hope, I ended up chatting with the parking garage attendant who said, "The front desk gals should have told you that they have a shuttle service that can surely take you to your meeting at the James Monroe Building." Finally, a ray of light! Thank you parking garage attendant! Why didn't the sweet, but unhelpful front desk clerk or her colleague mention that when I was working with them to figure out a solution to my transportation issue? So, I went to the bellhop and asked about the shuttle service and away I went (Anthony saved the day-- see shout out in the positives list above!). And, after my meeting he picked me up and, while I had been at my meeting, found out that a bellhop colleague of his, Sherman, had gotten jumper cables from a taxi driver and was able to jump my car with his in the garage! Hallelujah! Again, why didn't the front desk gals ask the bellhops if they had jumper cables? Seriously, I have managed condo/apartment communities and run educational facilities across the Southeast and would never have let my residents, students, or prospective clients ever just suffer on their own without doing everything in my power to find them a solution. That is how I felt that Anthony and Sherman were-- they were determined to help me and were GREAT representatives for the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown. The front desk clerks were nice but could have given a crap about helping me figure out a resolution in my time of need. Thank Goodness for Anthony and Sherman's customer service (and the taxi cab driver's jumper cables) or I would have been in a real mess that day. They really demonstrated how to go above and beyond for an out-of-town client in need.

Other than the thin walls, the fat pillows, and the customer service issue with the front desk staff, I otherwise had a fantastic stay and would absolutely stay at this hotel again if I brought my own pillow or called ahead to make sure they had a feather pillow I could use during my stay. The thin walls don't bother me since I am a heavy sleeper but I would caution light-sleepers that could definitely be an issue for them. Overall... very good hotel but it could be excellent with a few tweaks on the things they have within their control (pillow variety, improved front desk service).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiesdreamtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
debbiesdreamtrips,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My experience during a short business trip to downtown Richmond was outstanding. The hotel had nicely updated rooms, was clean, provided a convenient shuttle service, all around a good value. But the real magic was the staff...they are the greatest!

They are the nicest, most attentive staff I have ever encountered. At check-in they recognized and acknowledged my buddy who had made the reservation. We were treated like royalty. I can't remember everyone but Crystal, Althea, Jeanie W., and the shuttle drivers all really stood out.

Great job! I'll stay at this hotel again next trip through.

Sincerely,
Joe Sibilia
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage
Rockville, MD

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Richmond Crowne Plaza as a quick getaway weekend. Parking was simple. Check in was a breeze. Our room was an adjoining room and yes, you can hear everything your neighbor is doing. Believe me.
But the room was super comfortable. Fabulous view. Clean and cozy.
We tried out the bar before dinner and could not have asked for a better bartender!
Shuttle to Morton's Steakhouse was quick and very convenient. Along with the return trip.
Thank you Crowne Plaza for a great getaway!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefCentralVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

be careful booking there since the one person making reservation said the rollaway price was 10 per night and the day of the hotel stay the rollaway charge increased to 25 per night.
In addition, the original person did not know if the king room included a sofa bed or just a sofa and that is why we booked a rollaway to begin with. We found out later that the king rooms do have sofa beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear john k,

Thank you for your review and thank you for bringing this issue with the rates of roll a ways to our attention. Our price for roll a ways is $10 USD per night. If this is not what you paid I would like to discuss this with you. I have sent you a private message with information on how to contact me.

Thank you,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Since 2000, I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown during January, February, and a portion of March. In the past three years, the hotel has upgraded its lobby, rooms, hallways, linens, bar, and seating areas. Exquisite flower arrangements have also been added to greet guests in both the lobby and second floor conference area. However, it is not these upgrades and special touches that make this hotel a comfortable home away from home. It is the friendly, caring, committed staff members who make the difference. Reception desk staff Kenya, Jeannie, Michelle, and Janet do a wonderful job of setting the stage for a positive stay by making guests feel welcome and cared about. Having the outstanding bell stand/shuttle staff of Ed, Pete, and Andrew available to guests not only provides a valuable service that enables guests to park their cars in the hotel's garage and use the shuttle service on a daily basis, it enhances the overall feeling of being in a safe, secure hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the James River are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing