We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Absolutely amazing stay!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My family and I had the best stay in the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in! The service was amazing. Everyone was kind, knowledgeable and eager to help make our stay the best it could be. The room was quiet with no outside distractions and the riverside view is breathtaking. Our room service order was delivered in a timely fashion and was delicious. Although there was a slight problem with the order, it was remedied quickly and without any problem. We definitely plan to stay here again and I will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRobinson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Thank you taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    264
    124
    53
    40
See reviews for
168
169
48
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was in downtown Richmond for training at the Federal Reserve. The Crowne is very close to the Fed, which was very convenient. I stayed one night at the Crowne. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They asked me if I would be okay with a handicap accessible room and I thought it would be fine. In hind site, I wish I had asked for a regular room. The handicap accessible shower was awkward for me to use. Still, I agreed to this, so it isnt the hotel's fault. Overall my room was fine. There were a few things I wasnt crazy about, which would have bothered a more picky person. For example, when you turn on the bathroom light on comes a loud groaning fan. There were crumbs of food on the chair in my room, so I just decided not to use it. I will say that my bed was very nice. It was clean and soft and I slept well. I had room service the night that I stayed and the next morning. Room service was very prompt and the food was very good. I did not use the valet parking or shuttle. I paid the $10 self park fee and parked in the garage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beancountinggalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My group conducted a retreat at this hotel on the 2nd week of August and loved it. Everyone was professional and food was excellent, which is located on the 2nd floor of the hotel. Our experience was so good, my group is condiering staying longer than we did this year. If you find yourself in Richmond, VA and looking for a hotel that is issue free, then I suggest you stay at Crowne Plaza in Downtown Richmond.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent the night just this past weekend and overall the experience was very good. We were greeted by the pleasant desk staff Jeanine and she was very curteous. Once checked in we got to our room and it was clean and all in good working condition. We were on the 14th floor room 1425 and had a nice view. After unpackign I noticed I left my contact solution and case at home, we called the front desk and the hotel shuttle was available to drive us up to the local RiteAid. Andrew was the driver and he was also extremely polite and attentive. Kudos to both employees. We used the shuttle later in the evening to get dinner, excellent service (once again Andrew) and when dinner was done called the front desk and in about 10 minutes were picked up. Hotel shuttle was an excellent feature, this way we could enjoy some drinks at dinner and not have to worry about driving.
Our only concern was the hot water. It never got really hot, warm yes but not hot. Figured if we let the water run for a minute it would heat up but to no avail.
I would recommend staying at the Crown Plaza for the friendly service and excellent location, but only if the hot water gets fixed :-)

Room Tip: Dont stay next to the elevator, you can hear people talking as they get in/out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VisitingfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonesScott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent weekend stay. Your kind words about our employees and our Hotel are most appreciated. I personally sincerely thank you for the feedback that you have provided regarding your hot water! We adjusted the flow to that room right away. We look forward to your return for another great weekend in the near future.

C. Scott Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed one night and liked it a lot. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We had a room on the 6th floor and our only complaint was noise from the corridor - you could hear it every time a door was opened and closed. The hotel is located close to many sights in Richmond but finding a place to eat was a bit tricky in the evening July 3rd - many places were closed. Overall, the stay was a nice experience, I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slugabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Travelled in for a wedding last fall that was at the hotel. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. It was easy to find and in a good location to the downtown area. Breakfast was good, but a bit pricy (it was worth it though!) The hotel lounge was very nice, and the wedding reception was beautiful! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I took my family to a concert on Brown's Island and I booked this hotel because it was the closest to the venue and because it appeared to be in a safe area. I am not typically a fan of Crowne Plaza but this is the nicest one I have stayed in. It is within walking distance to Brown's Island, maybe 4 blocks. At the foot of the hill near Brown's Island, there are also several history museums. Just past the museums (still within long walking distance to the hotel), there is a park that has access to the James River where many people picnic and swim. Our room was very clean and the bedding was nice. There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi, although they had so much chlorine in them, we could only use the facilities for a short amount of time. This is typical for my experiences with indoor pools. Parking was $14 for valet, although we did not see an attendant. There is an adjoining parking garage which is $10 per day. There is a sign at check in that says a $50 charge per day will be placed on the account if a debit card is used and it is refunded in 10 days. When I mentioned to the check in attendant that I wanted to use a credit card instead because of this policy, she waived the fee and I used my debit card. I believe that there are restaurants and shops close by but I didn't go to any of them nor did I see them. I would definitely stay at this hotel again... overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
866 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing