We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Richmond West End
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
kolkata
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place for extended stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives :
1. Nice location, very near to restaurants, shopping malls (Target, K-Mart, Food Lion, Kroger, Burlington etc)
2. Decent breakfast options
3. Nice big rooms, good toiletries, good wi-fi speed
Negatives
1. Evening snacks options can be bettered
2. Swimming pool needs renovation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ban1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICWWGM, Owner at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear BAN1824;
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience at Residence Inn by Marriott Richmond West. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to list your positive observations as well as offering us constructive "negatives". Comments, like yours, assist us in becoming better, your comments will be reviewed and actions taken if possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back to Richmond again soon!

At Your Service;
Richard Dane,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
32
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was a very nice place. The room was roomy and clean; service excellent with a friendly staff, etc.. Breakfast very good. The occupants above were noisy and when my wife complained the next morning, they discounted the bill. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlfriedmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICWWGM, Owner at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Karlfriedmann;
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience at Residence Inn by Marriott Richmond West. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As we are close to the University of Richmond, we appreciate the opportunity to have friends and families of students as well as Alumni choose us.
We truly appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast as well.
I sincerely apologize for the disruptive guests, I am glad that we could offer a solution.
Thank you for your endorsement and recommendation.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back to Richmond again soon!

At Your Service;
Richard Dane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calverton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Friendly staff, above average breakfast, and a nice room layout. Though somewhat worn, my husband and I liked this place. The rates were reasonable, and the room was comfortable. The scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet in the morning were cooked in a frying pan, not the microwave oven, which is pretty standard nowadays. Nice selection of condiments for the hot oatmeal, made-to-order waffles, and eggs, in addition to many steam trays (bacon, sausage gravy, biscuits, french toast, sausage patties, etc.) and cold selections (cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, muffins, bagels, etc.). The staff there was very attentive.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room in the 600 building had a slider to the patio that made the room nice and brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICWWGM, Owner at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear KathleenV;
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience at Residence Inn by Marriott Richmond West. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Yes, we are an older property, but we pride ourselves on Service and Guest Satisfaction. I am pleased that you and your husband felt comfortable with us.
We truly appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast as well,.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back to Richmond again soon!

At Your Service:
Richard Dane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

wow... shocked that marriott has not pulled its name of this property

the positives-- its clean

the negatives

- completely rundown and not maintained. grass likely hasnt been cut in months
- fan in room is so loud you can hear it a few rooms over. it is so loud it hurts your ears
- furniture is arranged in a nonsensical way when you enter the room and the desk chair doesnt fit the desk.

i could go on, but this place truly isnt worth it. if you need to stay in the west end, there are better options available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICWWGM, Owner at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear MarkJMinneapolis:
I would like to thank you for taking the time of providing a Trip Advisor Review of the Residence Inn Richmond - West. We always welcome constructive criticism as a tool to improve our product.
I am very concerned about your perception of the hotel, as we try to provide the best guest experience throughout the property. I sincerely request that you contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your observations.
As a valued guest, I would like the opportunity to invite you re-visit our hotel in a better light, and hopefully you can leave with a much better feeling of our Richmond property.
At your service:
Richard Dane
Residence Inn Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a lot of time in our suite as our grandson graduated from VCU. My husband and I spent Friday night here, and ate breakfast in the dining area downstairs. We then used the kitchen to heat NC barbecue and fried chicken for our picnic on Saturday. After the ceremonies and our meal on campus, we all (11 of us!) came back to our suite for a 3-hour visit before going out for dinner. It was great to have a coffee maker and a big fridge for drinks and snacks, and there was almost enough comfortable seating, too - the younger people used the floor and the bed. I feel sure they'd have brought a couple more chairs if we'd requested them. We did have a bit of a problem with a very, very loud air conditioning compressor, but that seemed to have been fixed on the second night. And I had a minor problem with the microwave that was attended to immediately - the service was truly terrific. We didn't have a chance to use the pool (and it was cool that day), but might on another visit. And we'll go back, I know. And their rates were cheaper than the Courtyard nearby.

Room Tip: A room away from the nearby access road might be better - I imagine those are on the south side. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlean, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the second year we've stayed at the Residence Inn West End while running in the Monument Ave 10K in Richmond. We'll be back again next year both at the race and the Residence Inn.

The rooms are large, clean and come with a queen bed, a sleeper sofa and a kitchenette. The hotel is well located, on Dickens Rd just off Broad St. It's easy to get to everything in Richmond - without having to worry about where to park (if you stay in a downtown hotel).

The room rate includes a buffet breakfast, which while nourishing, isn't exactly gourmet fare. But if you're in a hurry, want to save $$$, or like hotel food, it's perfectly acceptable.

The staff is friendly and helpful, parking is a snap and like most Marriott properties, provides an excellent, well-known value.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, it's safer and a bit less noisy when people walk by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orleanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here as a "treat" with my son Easter weekend. Upgraded to a penthouse suite with 2nd floor bedroom. It was an especially nice property for an "extended stay" with a kitchen, which we like. Often times these hotels have a lot of wear and tear from families staying there and treating the rooms like cheap rental property, but not this hotel. It is very updated and modern with especially nice appliances and furniture. And a fireplace! My son and I enjoyed playing badminton too, and they provided the equipment! It is a little expensive, but for this trip it was worth every penny. Great front desk staff, as well.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites with bedroom upstairs are so spacious and nice! Worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kt9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICWWGM, Owner at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear kt9222;
I would like to thank you for your kind evaluation of the Residence Inn Richmond West. I’m glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Richmond. I will pass your comments on to our staff, they will be happy that you had a great time.
Richard Dane
Residence Inn Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#24 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel I-64 Richmond
Hotel I-64 Richmond
#68 of 81 in Richmond
2.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Richmond West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond West End

Property: Residence Inn Richmond West End
Address: 2121 Dickens Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-2003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond West End 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond West End Hotel Richmond
Richmond Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing