We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best service at a hotel-EVER.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
“best service at a hotel-EVER.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Just amazing service. Travel can often be a hassle, and the staff at this hotel were simply delightful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Brunch was really delicious, and a great value with the unlimited champagne.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crabclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    177
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
242
505
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

I took my husband here for a surprise birthday overnight getaway. I live about an hour from Richmond but we had never been there. So, I planned a romantic overnight with many stops and the Jeff was our home base.

Upon arrival, I was awed by the beautiful lobby. Very Gone with the Wind. Great place for a wedding, in fact there was a reception there during our stay. The staff was very professional and polite.

We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room but I was underwhelmed by it. It was nice and clean and had some elements of what one might term luxury. However, if you are used to a certain five star quality, you will be disappointed. To be fair, I did not stay in the most expensive rooms the hotel offers. I see that they have done some renovations in those rooms and I'm sure they are worth the money. But a regular King room, at a 250 a night rate, doesn't really feel worth it. At least not for the room or bathroom. More for the atmosphere of the hotel as a whole.

I would recommend staying there but just dial back the luxury expectations a bit, unless you are in the most expensive room.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

I always dreamed of staying at The Jefferson and never was able to get a room. My dream finally came true and boy was I disappointed. The common areas and towels are fabulous and it ends there. Furnishings and bedding are poorly appointed and in need of an upgrade. The shower was one of the worst of my life. The shower head had two settings:skin piercing or drip with a temperature setting of luke warm or scalding. All options ended up with the oh so nice "face spray". On check in the toiletries had not been changed from the previous guest. I believe a 5 star rating should imply that all the rooms carry a high standard and the one I was in clearly did not live up to this expectation. I have stayed at the Berkeley Hotel in Richmond and had a nice shower and a comfortable sleep, for a similar price. The only bright spot is they are pet friendly. However, unless I bring my dog I will not stay at the Jefferson again. (I was not in a "pet room" on this trip)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Arriving, I was kindly greeted by a doorman at the awesome wooden doors that open themselves!!! As I walked in, the lobby was amazing and huge, with that huge stained-glass dome in the ceiling!!! We checked in at the front desk, and I must mention the service couldn't have been better. The employee at the front desk upgraded our standard room to a studio suite. We proceeded to our room. We all were very impressed with our huge studio suite! It was clean, but there might have been one unnoticeable stain on the carpet that is nothing to be concerned about. We only stayed for one night, but for that time, we were very impressed with the Jefferson Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam09Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

This hotel is rated as a 5 star hotel for a reason...it's fantastic. The ambiance is wonderful and honors the history of the hotel. The staff is so friendly and eager to help. TJs was delicious and welcoming even when we arrived late at night. We asked if there was an upgrade for the same price we were quoted on the phone and they were able to comply. Unlike other hotels, I was amazed how quiet the room's heat fan was. This is always a problem for me but didn't even think about it while trying to sleep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesLovesToEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at the Jefferson on their Valentine's Day Package. We had a lovely room with a view of the city. They think of everything; they even have heaters at the entrance, to keep you warm while you are waiting for their van. Yes, they have vans that will drive you around the city. In our case, they took us to the wine festival at the convention center. Just call them when you are ready to come back to the hotel.
The conciege service is wonderful, Richmond has so much history, wonderful museums and the recently refurbished capital building.
You can even bring your dog to the Jefferson, for an additional charge. Try to book the Sunday Brunch or afternoon tea, they are very elegant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank historytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Everything was great. The location, TJ's, the service, the valet parking. It was great. They also had a town car that would drop you off and pick you up nearby (Carytown and downtown) at no cost.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr2thec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing