We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recipe for Christmas Spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Recipe for Christmas Spirit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

For the 5th year in a row I stayed at the Jefferson right before Christmas. Walking into this gorgeous hotel and taking in the decorations you can't help but be put in the Christmas Spirit. The hotel was bustling with families and friends reuniting for the holidays and exchanging gifts and taking family photos.

I only stayed one night but it was a very enjoyable stay. My dogs enjoyed being pampered as well and had a great time exploring the hotel. I was upgraded to a lovely room that had a sitting area as well as a bedroom. I really appreciated the extra space as it gave us a little extra room to spread out.

The bar at Lamaire was excellent as usual. I thoroughly enjoyed their new design your own Manhattan offering on the menu. Breakfast at TJs was delicious. I was sad that Lamaire wasn't serving breakfast as the ambiance is far superior but I guess I'll just have to go back and experience that next time.

For me it's not Christmas without a trip to Richmond to visit friends and family and the Jefferson has become my home away from home for the holidays.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luxurybarginlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We so appreciate being a part of your holiday celebration each year. Thank you for your review and for your mention of our new "Make Your Own Manhattan" in Lemaire. It's a fun and unique experience for whiskey lovers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    187
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
261
552
50
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived on a Friday to find the wonderful Christmas decorations throughout the hotel. The hotel lobby, restaurant and service areas are fantastic. The staircase was being used by a bride and her bridesmaids for pictures and it was beautiful.
The hotel room was rather small but the ambiance made up for it and the staff from the housekeeping to the front desk were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We were in 217 and it was very quite although the view was of the building across the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

SPECTACULAR! Being previous patrons of the hotel and its first-class restaurant, Lemaire, we purchased the New Year's Eve package with high expectations. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! This magnificent hotel and restaurant pays attention to every detail to provide superior service to discriminating guests. The package was well worth the $400 price tag. The food, ambience and service at Lemaire is all first-class. Kudos to chef and management. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with lovely English toiletries and white, fluffy towels. Complimentary coffee in the lobby and a newspaper under our door in the morning were appreciated and unexpected extras, as was free valet parking. If you read the story of this beautiful and historic hotel, you will want to visit just to savor it's rich history and beautiful architecture. It was magnificently decorated for Christmas and we appreciated the large, beautiful creche in one of the lobby's alcoves. If you visit Richmond or just pass through the city, The Jefferson Hotel is a "must see." We will return again and again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaefte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson for your New Year's Eve celebration and for posting a review. We look forward to your return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ,ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel was amazing,the staff were superb in all aspects of our stay from the valet parking to the check-in ,the staff catered for all our needs.The lobby and beautiful staircase are old world grandeur ,the bar and restaurant served a good selection of food and drinks.The breakfast had a huge selection and was well presented,overall it was a superb stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higgy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and your special recognition of our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently stayed overnight at the Jefferson Hotel as a Christmas gift for my wife. When we first pulled up to the main entrance, we were immediately greeted by the bell men who helped with our bags. Although they offered valet service, I parked the car myself in a lot behind the hotel and saved money by doing so ($7 versus $12 or $16 in the hotel lot). Once back in the hotel, everyone was very friendly and helpful. After checking in, the bell man escorted us to our room and set up everything the way we wanted and answered any questions we had. First class service all the way.

The beautiful hotel was decorated to the gills for the holidays. The public areas were impeccable and very well done. Everyone stopped to look and take pictures of the huge tree, the dangling wreaths and the candy Santa sleigh. The nearly 120 year old statue of Thomas Jefferson was also impressive.

The room had the charms of times long past and was very different from modern hotels. The room was not as impeccable as the rest of the hotel however. In our room, many of the bathroom floor tiles had significant cracks and there was an obvious water damage repair in the bathroom ceiling. The carpets were also well worn. But the room was otherwise clean and comfortable, and we were willing to overlook the few flaws for the overall charm of the room.

We went down to the bar inside of TJ’s and ordered a round of drinks. No surprise that the bartender there was also friendly and helpful. He helped my wife select a glass of wine that she enjoyed and prepared for me a mixed island drink of his choice that I also enjoyed. Then we sat near the huge Christmas tree and just enjoyed the scenery.

We had dinner at Lemaire (see separate review) and that was great.

If you have a chance to read the history of the hotel in the in-room hotel guide, you will be amazed at the significant past and guest list of former hotel patrons.

Overall, the stay was great. It’s great for a one-time event, but I could not imagine wanting to stay here for several days or multiple stays. I have no qualms about recommending this hotel to anyone, but I don’t think we will be back, at least for an overnight stay, as it’s just not our usual style or price range.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing a stay at The Jefferson as a holiday gift for your wife. While we understand that you might not plan to stay with us overnight again, we do hope that you'll visit with us again in Lemaire, TJ's or just to enjoy a drink in the lobby when downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillus ny
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We looked forward to our visit for a year. We were not disappointed except for our breakfast experience on Sunday. The Christmas decorations are superb. Staff cheerful and helpful . Parking very close. Rooms clean comfy great mattress, very quiet. All was going terrific until Sunday breakfast. At first they were not going to seat us because they did not serve after 9:30 am. They turned several other families away. But the folks ahead of us complained to hostess. The manager overheard and immediately began seating people as there were other guests behind us. A nice table by the window awaited us. I went to sit down and tried balancing with the table and had it almost flip over.
Breakfast quality ok but not memorable. I looked around and to my dismay the carpet was very dirty. Multiple stains.
Wonderful historic setting and building capable of excellent ratings but not on this trip for us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for speaking with our hotel manager following your experience in Lemaire on Sunday morning. We are truly sorry for our service issues. Please know that your feedback was appreciated and shared with our restaurant staff so that they can better serve our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent the night of our 20th anniversary here (Dec. 23), traveling home from a family gathering, and felt more like treasured guests than customers. The Jefferson is convenient to I95. Fairly expensive, but a good price for value provided. Every staff member we encountered was courteous, professional, and friendly. Our room--a king deluxe--was lovely, room service elegant, food (crab cakes, pork chops) delicious. (The peanut soup was better than my own, and I've been making and enjoying mine for years.) Lavish Christmas decorations over three lobby levels contributed holiday spirit, and somehow, even though all was bustling and festive, the public areas felt peaceful. Maybe because they are so enormous? The only negative was a too-firm bed, but I'm still giving five stars. Wish it could be ten!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisingaroundeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review and the "ten" stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing