We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in parts, poor in others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent in parts, poor in others”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in terms of the public areas - very grand with a lot of history. There is, however, plenty of room for improvement.
The rooms apparently have been renovated but are extremely dated and look in need of renovation. Carpets looked old and bedspread looked in need of a clean - it didn't but just looked that way.
Breakfast in TJs was poor quality for the price although the service was outstanding. We wanted to try the afternoon tea but this was only available at weekends - most hotels that offer afternoon tea tend to offer this every day.
On check in the staff had dirty uniforms although this did improve we noticed as our stay (3 nights) progressed. However, first impressions were not good. Staff were friendly though.
On a more positive note the concierges were excellent and very proactive in their recommendations. The Lemaire restaurant,although pricey, was absolutely outstanding both in terms of the food,the bar and the bar and waiting staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and drinks there.
The hotel has a good pool in my view and a very interesting history which is depicted throughout the public areas. There are just a few things which need attention. Otherwise we would say tnis is the best place to stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDunsBuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and for making us aware of both the positives and negatives of your stay. The hotel is currently undergoing a multi-year, noninvasive project to further enhance our guestrooms.
We apologize that you did not enjoy the quality of your breakfast in TJ's and that afternoon tea was not available during your midweek stay. Your comments have been shared with those departments so that they can use them to improve in the future.
Thank you for your recommendation to others based upon the positive experiences that you had within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    184
    60
    23
    13
See reviews for
249
523
48
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'm a remote employee of a Richmond based consulting firm & visit The Jefferson about once a month. A genuinely kind staff offers a warm welcome each time I step into the hotel's grand lobby on through to check out. Though rooms could be a touch larger, they're nicely appointed & well kept. Fitness center is spacious & the indoor pool offers a year round alternative to a treadmill for travelers. I've only had breakfast in the more mainstream restaurant, TJ's, but their upscale dining option Lemaire offers a classic setting for a glass of wine & dinner. Overall, a great experience & consistently enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your monthly visits to Richmond. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely atmosphere in the hotel overall, with very friendly staff however extremely average rooms.
For european or asian standards quite schocking actually... very dark room, shared the balcony with the pool guests and a shower curtain in the bathroom ...ew
Wonderful breakfast, excellent service though quite old fashioned (rooms), so if you're into that ... but don't expect a majestic room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toniboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our sincere apologies, however, that you did not find your guestroom to your liking. We do have just a few rooms with balconies and one does overlook the pool sun deck area. We hope that you will consider returning to The Jefferson and allowing us to select another room that may be more appealing to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel this year, and I have nothing negative to say about it! The food is great, the staff is AMAZING, the shuttle service is so convenient, and the room service is quick!

This visit we were on the 1st floor - everything was so quiet and we had the beautiful indoor pool all to ourselves each time we went. It was great that we were asked at check-in if we wanted a room by the pool, which we did. We also tried the afternoon tea service, and the food was plentiful and delicious.

I also really appreciate the way the staff made my 9-year-old daughter feel welcome. It's a luxury hotel, but not snooty in any way. I recommend the Hotel Walking Tour pamphlet available at the Concierge Desk. My daughter and I enjoyed learning about the hotel's history - especially the alligators that lived in the lobby!

Room Tip: Both times I've stayed, the rooms have been so quiet. There isn't much of a view in our firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahB891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your return visit to The Jefferson! We are delighted that your second visit was a enjoyable as your first. Thank you for also mentioning our Walking Tour. We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed that experience together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
444 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a meeting in Richmond and wasn't sure where to stay. Researched hotels on Tripadvisor [as usual] and the reviews were spot on. This is the kind of place the service + a magnificent hotel = a home run. The service was amazing. It was like staying at an old friends house. I travel a lot and I know that there is a very fine line between between service and "lip service". It was 100% clear to me that the team of professionals here are focused on serving, something sorely lacking at many other 5 star hotels. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtravelerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding the service that our staff provides and are pleased to learn that the reviews placed on Trip Advisor assisted in your decision. Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

For a special treat with a special someone, spend a night or two at the Jefferson Hotel...the rooms are very nice, the placeis beautiful, and the casual restaurant right off the (grand) lobby serves good food and refreshing cocktails.
The staff aims to please, and has no problem with special requests (champagne in room, etc.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 611Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We held our daughter's wedding there on July 5th. I can't say enough good things about the entire experience. The wedding planner, Ashton, was fabulous and removed all stress from the planning process. In fact my good friend asked me the day before the wedding how I could be so calm and I told her it was because Ashton had it under control...and she clearly did! Everything was as good or better than I had dreamed possible. Ashton's guidance through the entire process was a godsend. She was quick to respond to every request, was respectful of our every wish and saw the event through to the very end...including taking a few photos after the photographers left! I'd also like to commend the florists Jennifer and Rick for the gorgeous flower arrangements and making everything just right. The food and beverages were fantastic, The pianist, Skip, delighted us with his music, and the cake looked exactly like the photo we submitted and also tasted delicious. What more can I say?! My family was thrilled with the entire experience. The Jefferson's 5-star rating is well deserved. Can’t think of a better place for a wedding or place to stay when in RIchmond!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to host your daughter's wedding and for your kind words regarding the service you received from your wedding coordinator, Ashton, and Jennifer and Rick of Blooms at The Jefferson. Congratulations to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing