We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Jefferson is a beautiful hotel but it is the people that work there that make the experience so special. Thanks to other Tripadvisor reviewers I asked for an exterior room when we checked in - Ben, at the front desk, said there were none in our category but then proceeded to upgrade us to a Queen Suite. The room was huge, with a fireplace mantel and a huge bathroom. Very nice. We had the Rise and Dine package - the people working at TJ's could not have been nicer. We used the van service one evening and, again the van driver was just terrific. We decided to leave a day early because of an impending storm and we decided we wanted to rent a car and drive home instead of taking the train back as we originally planned. The hotel was happy to call for a rental car and arranged for us to be taken to the rental facility by their van with another wonderful driver.

The icing on the cake was when I realized, after we were on the highway, that I forgot my WIFI device - I left it in the room safe. I called the hotel and spoke to Jamil in Hotel Security. He went up to the room, got my device, called me back promptly and had it shipped to my home.

I have been in hotels all over the world and I can honestly say that the people at the Jefferson are the most friendly, service minded people I have encountered in any hotel. Staying at the Jefferson was such a pleasure!

For various reasons we will be back in the Richmond area and the Jefferson will be the only hotel we will stay in.

Room Tip: When booking ask for an exterior room. I didn't know about that there are interior rooms until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review and for recognizing our staff members by name. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Jefferson on your future visits to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the tail-end of our honeymoon. We stayed in a number of hotels throughout the course of our trip, but the Jefferson was definitely the best. Certainly it's not an inexpensive hotel, but I do believe it's worth the price, at least for one night.

The rooms are large and well-appointed. Classy all the way around. The best part of the experience, however, was the shower. Amazing! Huge, walk-in shower, with two shower heads and one overhead rain-effect shower head. All with excellent pressure.

Rooms aside, the hotel itself is very classy and stately. You won't regret booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for making The Jefferson Hotel a part of your honeymoon. We appreciate your review and hope that you will celebrate anniversaries in the years to come at The Jefferson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but attended several functions related to a wedding that we attended. The hotel is magnificent with all the trapping of another time and era. The lobby is gorgeous complete with its stained glass ceiling and its statue of Jefferson. Go a little farther, and you can go down the wonderful staircase that you see in all the Jefferson photos. Down in this lower lobby at the bottom of the staircase is a little "museum" tucked away in a corner and it shows you the history of the hotel with listing of some of its famous guests and a little about its building and subsequent events. Our friends who were staying there and who arranged the hotel events said that the rooms and amenities were great, but we did not see the rooms themselves. If you are staying in Richmond and are not staying at the Jefferson, make a point of going to visit for dinner or for a drink at the bar just so that you can experience this great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will choose to stay at The Jefferson during your next visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you want old world luxury with updated amenities then you must experience The Jefferson while in Richmond, Virginia! When one first walks into the palatial lobby, it's a wow! With comfy seating areas, and a spacious bar, one gets transported to a different time..discussions can go on forever...or at least into the wee hours of the morning.

Southern charm abounds, with helpful and friendly staff, and concierge services that are spot on in giving you directions or ideas about where to eat, sightsee, or walk. Walking down the main staircase will make you feel like royalty. There is a wonderful Sunday brunch that is not to be missed...but make sure you make a reservation as we almost got closed out.

We stayed in the Executive Suite which had a nice size living room and bedroom. Make sure you ask for an "exterior" view as the hotel is set up with inside rooms and outside rooms. We moved from our first room which was an interior room but was dark and somewhat dreary as a result. They were all too willing to have us move, and even though the suite we moved to was also "interior" it was sunny, bright, and well laid out. The only negative is that there is no full length mirror. Getting dressed in black tie for a wedding was a challenge if you like to review from head to toe.

This was a first rate stay in an historic city. Make sure you drive Monument Avenue, walk through the shops in Carytown, see the Confederate "White House" of Jefferson Davis, drive through the Hollywood cemetery to see the graves of three Presidents and dozens of Civil War soldiers. Eat at Terrants which is in walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are the ones to request versus "interior" room. They will know what that me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your review! Thank you for also including mention of the lack of a full length mirror in your room. That is a standard feature in our guest rooms so we will make sure that the Executive Suites are checked right away and the mirror replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went there first time for my b'day. It was me my friend and his wife... the cocktail "old sport" was very refreshing... followed by great wine and the butternut soup...
I always enjoyed going to an elegant place rather than a casual dining. And this is the place I will visit again... in fact it was my friday drinking spot. Love this place...
Don't miss the allegators located everywhere in the hotel and do ask why they are there

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Avinash_Swami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your review and for mentioning our beloved alligators! We love to tell their story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There may not be a more impressive lobby that immediately confirms you are in one of the United States' finest hotels, but the staff are truly of the highest caliber. Every single person is trying their hardest to make for a pleasant experience, even providing friendly greetings while they are completing other tasks. The lobby and common areas are spectacularly appointed to make it abundantly clear you are gettting a five-star experience, and the rooms all have those subtle touches that take things to the highest level. But it is the attentive and friendly staff that take this to a point above and beyond any other hotel. You know how certain hotels in Dubai claim they offer an experience that far surpasses a five-star experience? The Jefferson can rightly claim they also offer an experience far beyond five stars, and thus can justify at least six stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and your recognition of our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I love historic old hotels, and the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond Va. is a treat not to be missed! Why stay in one of those boring modern look alike hotels when you can enjoy the uniqueness of the Jefferson AND all those modern amenities as well? From the bronze alligator (check out the history on that one!) emerging from the fountain to greet you as you drive up, to the amazing rotunda and stained glass ceiling illuminating a statue of Thomas Jefferson, you can't fail to be impressed with the Jefferson! But that's not all! After checking in, turn to your left and walk down the stairs (no, contrary to rumor, Gone With The Wind was not filmed there!) into the palatial marble columned lower lobby. It will literally take your breath away!
Aside from all the beauty and history of the Jefferson, it's the staff and hotel amenities that make it even more special. Every single person, from the bellman to the reservations clerk, to the waitress in their fabulous restaurant (Jacquie is awesome--even shared her granola recipe with us at breakfast!) couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. They just couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. Our bed was turned down with chocolates on our pillow every evening, and a morning paper placed outside our door every morning. The exercise facility was perfect for travelers needing to pump a little iron or hit the treadmill or elliptical after being in the car or plane for too long, plus the indoor heated pool was SOOO relaxing. I could go on, but just do yourself a favor and check into the Jefferson when in Richmond and see for yourself. This hotel is way over the top!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvecBrisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks for the terrific review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,092 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
802 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $310 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing