We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Classic”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not always easy to find a 5-Star hotel who welcome dogs, but the Jefferson not only allowed pets, our pups were greeted with the same gracious hospitality as we were. The room was warm and felt the cozy Southern Hospitality that everyone exuded. Room Service was timely and every item
correct. The dinner was delicious and price quite reasonable. If you are in the area, or even if you are planning to go in this direction, this is a must stop on your itinerary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    185
    60
    23
    13
See reviews for
252
532
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

For many years while working in Richmond, I had always wanted to spend at least one night here. It is a beautiful piece of architecture. But I lived in Richmond. So many years later after moving back to Florida, I took a vacation and drove back to Newtonville, Massachusetts where I was born to see my old neighborhood and took my daughter who at the time had never been up north. On the way I stopped and finally spent that night in the Jefferson Hotel.

It was a magnificent night and spent most of the evening strolling the awesome lobby and Monument Avenue. In fact the staircase, I am told, was the model for the stair in Gone with the Wind. For anyone travelling I-95 and wanting to stop in Richmond, please stay here. It is magnificent and the bedding was luxurious and slept like a baby.

It in itself was a vacation wrapped in a vacation.

Room Tip: I like the top rooms for a view of the city plus the street lights below cast a warm glow as they be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UFGator71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for including The Jefferson in your vacation and for recommending that other travelers on I-95 make it a stop along their way as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

And probably the best hotel in Richmond, VA. Centrally located, excellent service, wonderful accommodations and a great overall experience! Definitely make this your first choice in Virginia's capital city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keysville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed a mother/daughter stay at The Jefferson recently. The room was very well appointed, especially the bathroom. I loved the Moulton products. A highlight of visiting there was dining in the restaurant Lemaire. The whole experience was wonderful and surprisingly not so expensive for the quality of the food and the surroundings. What a treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretann218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope that you and your daughter will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Charming and old-school this hotel is all things Richmond. We loved our stay during a wedding. The event was flawless and a ton of fun! The hotel rooms could use an update in decor, but this can be ignored by the impeccable service offered by the hotel. We stayed in room 410. It was cozy and bright.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLittleRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay at The Jefferson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and has such a history. We were upgraded to a fabulous suite and loved every minute of it. The service is above anything we have ever experienced. The restaurant is top notch also. Felt like a VIP! Thanks to the staff of the Jefferson Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suite was amazing with all the light and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dttclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for allowing The Jefferson to be a part of your anniversary celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C'ville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful girls weekend at the Jefferson in March 2013. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is generous and the atmosphere is simply divine! Clean room, comfy bed and spacious bathroom-much needed with 3 women getting ready in the morning! The highlight for me was the coffee, yes, THE COFFEE!!!!! We ordered 3 pots- one after dinner and 2 more for breakfast. We could not stop drinking it! It was the best coffee i have ever had.....PERIOD!!!

You will not be disappointed with the Jefferson Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_villeChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your girlfriends getaway. We are so pleased that you loved our coffee. Each restaurant and the gift shop have their own variety so we always enjoy hearing which one was each guests favorite. We hope you will stop by for a cup whenever you are visiting Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
829 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing