We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“opulent and gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you ever find that you are in Richmond you can not pass up the opportunity to stay at the grandest of hotels The Jefferson
Marble columns, double wide grand staircases, beautiful lobby, stores and more.
Whether you are on business, pleasure or looking at colleges in the area this is the most beautful hotel by far.
This stately hotel fits the bill and more. Spacious rooms, fine dining, and personable staff makes this an easy decision when looking for a hotel.

Room Tip: Any room will do
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope one of the reasons you cited to visit Richmond will soon bring you back to The Jefferson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
There are newer reviews for The Jefferson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting. It is a beautiful hotel. Lovely lobby, lovely rooms, lovely dining. There was a small wedding with an older couple, the bride looked old school hollywood glam which was prefect and beautiful for the setting. We ate at TJ which was good food, however our waitress was on the slow side. Beware room walls are thin. My coworker and I were talking casually in the room and we did get a knock from the adjoining room door - we are guessing it was for us to be quiet. Besides our waitress, Overall service was impeccable with top knotch staff.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank AWTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We drive to our summer home in Canada and reward ourselves by staying at the Jefferson. It runs $250+ a night, so it is not for the faint-hearted. Believe it or not, it is DOG FRIENDLY. We are welcomed with a doggy basket with a home baked biscuit. The restaurant is great, the accommodations and service are impeccable. I prefer it to the Hotel Hassler in Rome!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 565NYMan565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for making The Jefferson a stop along your way each year. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

There is something about historic places and old world elegance that attracts and fascinates me. This hotel did it for me. It is expensive but the service is very good. It is after all a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star rated hotel. They have some good deals that offer free breakfast and valet parking so that makes it less painful for the wallets. Internet is free and the hotel has free car service that will take you to places in downtown Richmond. Reservation for this service is highly recommended. The restaurants inside the hotel are good but are more on the expensive side as well. The only negative thing I can say about it is that not all areas near the hotel looked safe to me. So if you want a hotel that exudes romance, elegance and fabulous service go for The Jefferson Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Jefferson during our visit to Richmond. The whole experience was wonderful. Beautiful common areas, the linens are divine and turn down service is a nice added touch. We ate breakfast at Lemaire. The food was delicious, an innovative menu was available and the service was excellent. The pool was very well maintained and the towels are luxurious!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your reivew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The word "flawless" is often overused but not here. A perfectly enjoyable stay including gracious staff,fine food,but especially a comfortable ambiance in a beautiful setting.Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

It's like the Drake Hotel in Chicago!! I loved the historic elegance of the past!! The Food and Service was Stellar!!!
Breath Taking!!! George Benson was at the bar; only the most important guest stay at the Jefferson!!! I felt so pampered!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzyShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,058 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,944 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $305 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing