We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you can afford it, don't bother with any other hotel in Richmond. The location may not seem much, actually it is OK, we did not feel uneasy walking around area, but the hotel is a gem.
The staff are fantastic, all so welcoming, they really make you feel that your stay is important to them. This is really a place to switch off in, try stepping back into an earlier age of southern splendor and let the modern world go by outside.
Some may consider the rooms small, I'd say compact, by modern hotel standards but who really needs all of that space. Get out your room and enjoy the place, the magnificent stairwell and hall, a great bar and restaurant at Lemaire, made even better by the outside seating area, and the spa/health club - a perfect way to either exercise off, or prepare for that great breakfast in TJ's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles-ChesterNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very friendly staff, we loved having a break there before we got to Washington. The place was humming all weekend due to weddings, but there is still plenty of room for others in the bar and restaurant. The location is a little out of the way, you definitely need a car to get round Richmond, its a busy city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel was nicely appointed. Staff was friendly and the complementary limo travel was a nice touch. The suite we had was dated, but met our needs. I would stay here again. Although, while did not know much about Richmond, the concierge pointed us in the right direction. Unfortunately, we did not care for the immediate are around the hotel, but the limo took us to most places.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and please be sure to ask for one of our newly renovated suites for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our room was the quietest room I've ever been in. Nice view of the city from the big window. Room and bath were small, but had every comfort you could think of. The bath robes were nice and soft. Wonderful dinner and breakfast. Absolutley no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our excellent stay started and finished with phenomenal treatment from the Jefferson's staff. The front desk was kind enough to upgrade us during our stay for our anniversary. The bellman was friendly and knowledgeable. The concierge provide a great deal of assistance with dining options, area attractions and shopping, and transportation needs. The concierge staff went out of their way to be helpful. Their knowledge and assistance greatly enhanced our stay. The staff of Lemaire, hotel's main restaurant,exceeded our expectations. Our room was large and comfortable. The towels were the nicest I have encountered at any stay in my 12 years of business and personal travel. We will definitely be back. The only thing that I did not like at the hotel was the shower nozzle. It had a nice strong spray that was eco-friendly and presumably cost-saving for the hotel, but it doesn't actually put out that much water, which could result in feeling somewhat cold even when the water was hot.

Room Tip: The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius. We used it three times w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyrdestroyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your anniversary celebration. We appreciate all your observations, including the feedback on the shower head. We are constantly trying new products so this is a good tip for our future experimentation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best reason for visiting Richmond -- that and the world-class Fine Arts Museum. A magnificent hotel (it could be a movie set), superb food, and a delightful indoor swimming pool. Luxurious comfort. Attentive, friendly staff. Complimentary limouse service at the front door to take you wherever you want to go and return. We had a package we saw on a link from the Museum -- a bargain price plus a $50 credit toward hotel purchases (we used it for dinner)(reservations a must), and complimentary valet parking. Only downsides: windows wouldn't open (although AC was excellent), no frig or coffee maker (but coffee and many other refreshments available in gift shop snack bar). Most fun: watching boaters navigate the rapids on the James River along the Canal Walk. Funky Careytown also worth visiting. I always wanted to visit this legendary hotel and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to front on an inside courtyard. I imagine they are less desirable than the very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review and for sharing some of your favorite things about Richmond too! You'll enjoy knowing that the hotel has served as a movie set for several feature films over the years, including Presidential Kid, My Dinner with Andre and Ironed Jawed Angels, just to name a few.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We picked this hotel for the family brunch at the restaurant, frankly the service is poor the waitress took too long to get our food on top she forgot one of the order without apologized. Overall the food is average, the ham is too salty, egg is over cook but the fresh squeezed orange juice is the best. Love the hotel atmosphere, nice decorations and good location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We were, however, very disappointed to hear that the service that you received during breakfast was less than perfect. Please accept our apologies and be assured that we will address your concerns with our breakfast service and kitchen staffs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
793 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $310 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing