We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Little River, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Superb!!!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The title says it all. Lots of experience here at this hotel. Rooms are delightful and quiet! Service from all the staff is repeatedly excellent. Both restaurants are outstanding and fairly reasonable. Room tax is 13% and valet parking is $16 per night. There is no need to leave the hotel if you want to pop in and enjoy the amenities of the hotel. Check out time is generous at noon! Perfect romantic location!!!! Just stay and lounge about!!! Truly enjoy! BTW, rates per night are reasonable for what you get!!!

Room Tip: High floor is usually better, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajopajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for your "simply superb" review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    187
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
262
552
50
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Wonderful location in downtown Richmond. Stunning interior. Friendly and accommodating staff. The only negative thing I can say is that the food is either fantastic or awful, depending on the luck of the draw. We had, during the same trip, probably the best crab salad I've ever tasted and the worst, straight-out-of-the-can-crab cake since Red Lobster circa 1974. We were either served right away or sat around starving, irrespective of how many other diners were in the restaurants. Even so, the hotel easily earns 4.5 stars. There are some excellent restaurants within walking distance, including Tarrant's which is mid-priced and simply outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 83bluedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Our sincere apologies that we missed the mark with the crab cakes and that you found the restaurants service to be inconsistent. The crab cakes are usually a guest favorite and receive rave reviews so please be assurred that we will take your comments and make sure we get back on track. We are glad that we redeemed ourselves with the crab salad and the rest of your stay. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you'll give the crab cakes another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We just spent four days at the Jefferson Hotel, and it was as beautiful as the pictures they use for their ads. The concierge services were outstanding and the free shuttle service to all attractions, restaurants, etc. in a three mile radius was very much appreciated and another reason to stay at this elegant hotel. The room was lovely, but not as big as I thought it would be. However having turn-down service in the evening was a real plus as it was hot and the extra shower/towels were appreciated at that time. A big plus was the shower which was just the right height; easy to get in and out of and the shower was STRONG with an abundance of hot water. The toiletries were also exceptional with new ones supplied amply. This was an elegant hotel with service to match. Will definitely choose it again if in Richmond.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for your review and commenting on our photography. A picture sometimes is worth a thousand words! We look forward to your return to The Jefferson when your travels bring you back to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I have stayed here twice and it is a fine hotel. Very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant. Nice rooms (I was upgraded to a suite booth times).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hargravesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post a review on your second visit. We hope you'll return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Jefferson is the reason to find an excuse for a Richmond trip. It's an absolutely beautiful building with super grand areas. ... all the stained glass & plush that anyone could stand & a seriously Gone With The Wind staircase best I've ever seen.

Starts with a grand entry & oldtime uniformed staff who hurry to help you. Buy a package with parking so that problem is forgotten. They were easy about bringing our car out as fequently as we needed. But honestly since they provide a van for close by trips we mosly let them drive us. They took us one night to a concert at the Landmark Theatre & another day to The Va Museum..... no problem or hand out for a tip (although we did tip a few $$s).

The fitness center was well stocked with all the equipment anyone could want. There is also a pretty inside pool in a lovely room which was never crowded. I had a great body work session with a nice young lady who was friendly & never seemed to mind a last second extra hour of work added to her schedule late on a Friday afternoon.... sorry I could not fit in another hour with her another day....

We ate breakfast there 3 days & supper twice... all wonderful meals, all in beautiful rooms with super service. I asked for some weird substitutions which they were absolutely gracious about. The best food was a super late bar dessert peanut butter ice cream with thick chocolate top/bottom & real whipped cream... OMG!

I did not go 5 star rate because of 4 things...

1--I had called ahead for something that was not taken care of. I asked to have the mini bar empty, so we could use the fridge OR for a mini fridge in our room. I was told on the phone the mini bar would be empty... no problem --- I called later to confirm this "empty minibar" promise. Then at check-in they said they knew I had requested a mini fridge & it had already been placed in our room. In fact NEITHER thing had been done --- when we got to the room the mini bar was totally stuffed & there was no mini fridge.... unneeded hassle. When I mentioned this screw up at checkout no "sorry" or perk was offered.

2---our pretty room lacked a dresser or enough drawer space to unpack -- don't like living out of our suitcase for that price of a room! One of the 3 tiny drawers was full of mini bar chocolate bars & chips... silly waste of space.

3-- I was very sad that "High Tea" for all 3 weekend days & their famous Sunday Brunch were all unavailable to us as 3 night guests since all 4 events were "fully reservered" by our noon check-in Friday. Seems they should be able to fit in just 2 guests staying 3 nights for at least one of those 4 events. & there was no "wait list" offer or any offer for anything -- like a small room service discount.... not the level of service I would excect from a place billing themselves as world class.

4- they asked when we reserved if our trip "included any special event" I told them it was a HUGE wedding anniversary. I expected that question/answer would have been for some reason... flowers in our room, a bottle of wine, a spa discount.. something..... but no ..the event went by without their notice of it. they could have done better for a 30th!We travel for anniversary trips & other hotels have always gone out of their way to help us celabrate. We travel for anniversary trips & other hotels have always gone out of their way to help us celabrate

Room Tip: book Brunch & High Tea w the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your gracious review of the hotel. We were, however, disappointed to learn that we had failed to provide our usual standard of service in four areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for these errors.
We have sent you a private message with contact information for our Hotel Manager and ask that you take a moment to speak to him so that we can address these issues with you personally. Thank you again for this valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We wanted to stay at a historic hotel as part of our Civil War area sight-seeing trip in April. The Jefferson proved to be a perfect place to stay and dine while we traveled the surrounding area. The hotel lobby and rotunda were beautiful and the architecture elegant. The room was quiet, clean, beds comfortable, and furnishing in good taste and condition. We dined at TJs (Thomas Jefferson) and Lamaire and found the food in the both places to be of high quality and flavorful, and the service very professional. Even my husband, who likes to play the food critic role, had high praises. We also enjoyed the Sunday brunch in the rotunda. Make your reservation early to ensure a good seating location. The Jefferson has its own rich history, which added to our overall experience. Of interest, was the hotel's involvement with the community - integrating events in the menu and decor. We would recommend the Jefferson, and plan to return

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson for Civil War site seeing trip and for recognizing our committment to the community. We will look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The Jefferson is a venerable and beautiful hotel that is cared for by an attentive, well-trained staff. From pulling up in a taxi through check in to unpacking, I found person after person who were concerned with my stay being ideal. Pair that with a good bar, great restaurant, lovely rooms and a great, historic, and luxurious hotel, and that makes for a great visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonHotel1895, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson and sharing your comments on your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing