We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House and Museum of the Confederacy

The White House and Museum of the Confederacy
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
2-Hour Richmond Landmark Segway Tour
Ranked #6 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The White House and Museum of the Confederacy are located in downtown Richmond's historic Court End neighborhood, just a few blocks from Capitol Square. Guided tours of Jefferson Davis' executive mansion leave from the Museum lobby throughout the day and typically last around 45 minutes. Three floors of exhibits in the Museum chronicle the war years through the personal belongings of Confederate leaders like Robert E. Lee as well as those of common soldiers and citizens on the homefront.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

MOC is a great museum and custodian to an amazing array of artifacts.

To see items associated with some of the most historic figures from one of the most important eras of our nation's history.

The White House is a beautiful example of a 19th century city house as you will ever see!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ironclad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    303
    81
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Neat Stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband is a Civil War buff and we have been to quite a few museums but this one had a lot of authentic items we had never seen before. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hu10 6as
Level Contributor
180 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

the best display we saw of information about the war the displays were very good and we gained a lot of insight what started the conflict and what ended the tragic war would recommend this as a must

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bizzyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was unprepared for the scope of the collection. Anyone visiting Richmond should see this museum. I am not a history buff, but even I knew the names of the owners of several of the artifacts on display. Also, being a Kentuckian, I was very happy to see so many things from here. I was also happy and surprised that I was allowed to take picutres in the museum. The tour of the mansion was also very good. The guide amde sure all questions were answere and had plenty of stories.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just amazing the breadth of this collection. That said its not a "nanny state" we're going to hold your hand and entertain you with whiz bang stuff for the next hour. Maybe thats why I like it so much. It presumes you have some basic knowledge of the Civil War and that you are interested.

The medical center has seemed to swallow it but at least its still here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House and Museum of the Confederacy also viewed

 

Been to The White House and Museum of the Confederacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing