We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House and Museum of the Confederacy

The White House and Museum of the Confederacy
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
2-Hour Richmond Landmark Segway Tour
Ranked #6 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The White House and Museum of the Confederacy are located in downtown Richmond's historic Court End neighborhood, just a few blocks from Capitol Square. Guided tours of Jefferson Davis' executive mansion leave from the Museum lobby throughout the day and typically last around 45 minutes. Three floors of exhibits in the Museum chronicle the war years through the personal belongings of Confederate leaders like Robert E. Lee as well as those of common soldiers and citizens on the homefront.
south jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We visited the Museum of Confederacy on a rainy Sunday morning in March. We enjoyed our visit to this great museum. Plan on spending over 3 hours here to appreciate the amount of items here. You can also buy a combo ticket which give's you a tour of Jefferson Davis's " White House" home. The home is located next to the museum. The White House looks great ! The amount of Civil War items at the museum is impressive. If you are in the area of Richmond, stop by for a visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank murphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    303
    81
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
363 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A Must for Civil War buffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

a tremendous exhibit of actual artifacts worn and used during the civil war, difficult to find although on a sunday parking was not difficult. take the tour of the white house which is next door .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Museum of the Confederacy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

A nice exhibit of colonial artifacts. We would also recommend the White House of the Confederacy across the street.

Helpful?
Thank Terry4610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I doubt there's a better museum for the Civil War buff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Who else has Robert E. Lee's personal effects, or the coat Stonewall Jackson was wearing when he was mortally wounded? The museum's collection of Confederate artifacts is second to none and the presentation is a good one ... going chronologically through the War. They also have revolving exhibits that are always interesting. The White House of the Confederacy, next door, is worth a visit as well. Full disclosure: I interned there as a senior in college, so I'm a little biased. That said, I loved it before I ever worked there. If you're a Civil War buff like me this simply must be on your bucket list.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jdowner76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“i love museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

i love museums and i havnt been here either but i know that i will enjoy it

Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House and Museum of the Confederacy also viewed

 

Been to The White House and Museum of the Confederacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing