We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See this jewel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 159 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“See this jewel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a perfect destination for everyone both local and out of town. Visiting it is like walking through a masterpiece painting. The colors and compositions are gorgeous and inspired. The intricate gardens, the glass atrium house, the tea house for lunch, the pools, the original mansion, the childrens area, there are always new plantings and interesting sights that will take your breath away. Tropical, regional, permanent, seasonal. Just go! It is the best of Richmond.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    198
    34
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The garden is well laid out and has a wide variety of plants and trees. In addition, there are streams, ponds and fountains. The conservatory has a wonderful collection of orchids at one end and succulents at the other end. The cafe has a good assortment of salad, soup and sandwich choices all freshly made. Their guided tours are very informative and the gift shop has a wide variety of items. This is a great place to spend a very relaxing and peaceful day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful at Christmas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I lived in Richmond until I was 24, and had never been to the gardens until last year. We went for the Christmas lights, and the display was amazing! I can't believe we had never been. During the day the flowers and greenhouse are stunning, but at night the lights delighted the children (youngest was 2) and adults (oldest 48) in our party. Since we live further away we're not sure if we can make this a tradition, but we absolutely would if we lived in town again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of A Kind Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is truly a wonderful visit. From the spacious, simply marvelous and beautiful grounds, to the "trains" in the buildings, the place is a "must see," especially each winters "Festival of Lights!"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank woodstock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved this garden. It was buzzing with activity -- tons of volunteers working, children visiting. The gardens are beautifully planted and stretch over a lot of land. There is a tea house and a nice restaurant where you can eat in the garden. There was a wonderful butterfly exhibit in the conservatory. Nice gift shop. All very gracious. It was a morning well spent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing