We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a wedding and walk about!”

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
Ranked #3 of 173 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a wedding and walk about!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed the gardens and staff was helpful. While the weather was humid it was well worth the visit. There was a lot to see and a beautiful Tea House to take a break in. It would be a beautiful back drop for family photos near or around the ponds. I lovers the butterfly chair which is a must see for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    249
    43
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Lovely even in the heat”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Temp was in the 90's but we went anyways and it was lovely. Butterfly exhibit had a huge number that were flying around but very hot in there. Rose garden not only beautiful but smelled great. Took the wooded path around the children's garden and it was much cooler.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had never been to Ginter Gardens and don't know why I waited. The butterfly exhibit in the Conservatory was truly spectacular. Their website said to go in the morning because the butterflies are more active. So glad I did. The Gardens are beautiful and expansive. I couldn't take it all in because I kept sitting and enjoying it. The Cafe' had a varied menu which was prepared while you waited. The dining area was very pleasant and relaxing. The Gift Shop was huge and had many one-of-a-kind items worth going back for just to shop for unusual gifts. I definitely will be back to take in more of the gardens and the butterflies and try the Tea House restaurant. Butterfly exhibit is through October.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank treble3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gardens beautiful, butterfly exhibit disappointing”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very pretty place to relax and enjoy the flowers and trees. However, we went for the butterfly exhibit and I was disappointed. Not many butterflies, not very large, nothing really to do or see. The kids I went with -- 11, 9 and 5 -- weren't impressed either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterflies”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from a visit to the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens where there is a wonderful exhibit of live butterflies in a closed environment. You walk through the outer part of the greenhouse that is an open exhibit area where there are numerous tropical plants with a few butterflies. Then you enter a controlled area where the full collection resides among more tropical plants. You are literally surrounded by this unbelievable array of butterflies and have to be careful not to step on any.
The only drawback is that it is humid in the closed area and if the sun is shining, it becomes very warm. But you can then go into the gardens which are very shaded and contain a very diverse collection of plants, shrubs and trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Callawayjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing