We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty but a bit overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
Ranked #3 of 162 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The flowers are pretty in the spring, and the Christmas lights are nice in the winter. Admission fees are a bit steep (10-12 per person if I remember correctly). The restaurant on site is not worth going to. They had a really cool butterfly exhibit there this summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    227
    38
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“beautiful holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited the Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden for the Festival of Lights exhibit while in Richmond during the winter holidays. It was stunning! There were crowds of people enjoying themselves outside on a beautiful winter evening. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank magmack842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful gardens and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The plants and architecture are stunnning. During the holidays they have the "Garden Festival of Lights" which is a Richmond tradition. The summer concert series "Groovin' in the Garden" brings top notch performers in for outdoor concerts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The gardens, flowers in the spring time are simply gorgeous! the grounds are immaculately kept. The waterfall , is a tranquil oasis to just relax and clear your thoughts, great for alone time away

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lulu1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice VA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Lewis Ginter for the first time during this Christmas season and what a wonderful treat! The lights were awesome. These were not your typical holiday lights - there are themes, color schemes and sites for all ages. We arrived while there was still daylight in order to have an idea of what we would view at night. Then we had dinner at the Tea Room. Very nice experience. We ended the evening with a night walk through the gardens and absolutely enjoyed the scenery. The library complex is worth a preview as is the conservatory. There is a gift shop and another place to eat in the visitors center. Parking is ample and all in all, this was a delightful Christmas excursion. We will definitely return during other seasons and will probably become members.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank love2RiceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing