We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Edgar Allan Poe Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Richmond's Shockoe Bottom Segway Tour
Ranked #14 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Illustrations of the famous poem "The Raven" and numerous other artifacts surrounding the life of this great American author, the father of the psychological horror story, are housed in a series of buildings, including Richmond's oldest.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was an interesting visit.
You can download a free mp3 if you scan a QR code to get a narrated tour of this museum.
The museum is dark and it gives you a sense of why Poe was so dark in his writing.
Enjoyable visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank usnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    127
    55
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice little museum, interesting way to spend an hour”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were headed back from a weekend in Williamsburg and decided to stop and check out the museum. I thought it was a pretty decent museum, lots of information about Poe's life in the Richmond area, some pretty cool family heirlooms, etc. It's a small museum, you could easily do a pretty thorough tour in less than an hour.

A couple of warnings, though. First, watch your head going up any steps, especially if you're on the tall side. The steps are narrow, steep and my boyfriend about knocked himself out when he forgot to duck. There is a warning sign going down but not up.

Second, the museum is in desperate need of a good and thorough cleaning. I'm not kidding, if you have asthma or any kind of breathing issue, you may want to skip it. There is so much dust, mold and mildew, it makes it seriously hard to breathe. I have pulmonary hypertension, my son is allergic to mold and mildew and both of us walked out wheezing and with headaches. It is particularly bad in the "Exhibit" building. Even my boyfriend, who has none of these issues, was bothered by it.

This is not in any way meant to be negative, it is just meant to give people a heads up so they can be prepared.

All in all, though, it was a nice museum and I would recommend it to anyone who is a Poe fan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
396 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This museum is small but packed with interesting information. I learned quite a lot about Poe. The staff there is great and very well versed about Poe and answered all our questions. Quite enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeasleyKRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you are a Poe fan........”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very Poeish atmosphere! Even though this is not his actual home, some of his furniture, clothes, and personal items are here. The grounds are very creepy and romantic....in a literary sense. If Poe didn't actually live here, he would have wanted to! There are some original manuscripts, which is cool. They have a small giftshop. The lady at the desk was super nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovellamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, yet still cool.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

They have some cool artifacts, but unless you live-eat-breathe Poe, you will not find it to be stellar. They could turn it into a really special place, if they wanted to -- integrate more technology, have MUSIC in the buildings, etc. Don't get me wrong, I didn't hate the visit, but I didn't love it, either. For the price, I was entertained for an hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aceswildtru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Allan Poe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Allan Poe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing