We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julep's never disappoints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julep's New Southern Cuisine

Julep's New Southern Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Julep's New Southern Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Julep's never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Richmond. They will surprise you every time you go because the menu is changing constantly (With the exception of a few staples like Shrimp and Grits) to better reflect the locally available ingredients. However you will enjoy anything you try here before the chef always finds the way to add the right touch and the right flavor to every dish. Save room for desert and try the always popular, table side created, banana's foster (Another staple), it is sublime.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Marquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    54
    22
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Julep's is one of my favorite restaurants in RVA! I have been many times with large and small groups and no matter the situation they always deliver. I recently dined on Saturday and they had just presented the new summer menu. What a fun and creative menu. I had the Veal Sweetbreads to start, incredible. Chose the excellent Heirloom Tomato Salad with watermelon, avacado and a white balsamic vinaigrette. Then finished up with the Pan Seared Scallops. I was too full for dessert this visit, but the banana fosters (prepared table side for two) is worth saving room for. As usual the staff was attentive, the food consistently yummy and the atmospere can't be beat. If you are looking for real treat, definitely visit Julep's your next time out!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Above average, not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The food was great, but at $30 an entree, it better have been.

Our server insisted on pouring our beer for us, but unfortunately he didn't know how. He poured it into the center of the glass, resulting in four inches of head every time. I couldn't really enjoy my dinner because I had a huge bubble from swallowing all that beer foam.

They DO have an excellent wine list.

Helpful?
1 Thank stbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New southern cuisine complete with a pecan tart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our evening dinner at Juleps Restaurant was delightful from the elegant salad to the fish and vegetarian fare that my wife and young adult children enjoyed. Even though there were few vegetarian offerings, the staff put together a wonderful plate that combined several side dishes served on a bed of quinoa. The bourbon-pecan tart for dessert was outstanding and well worth the trip. Parking was plentiful about two or three blocks from the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first time at Juleps. We loved it.

Great service. Atmosphere is wonderful. And, the food is phenomenal.

Our waiter, Joe, was knowledgeable and attentive. We couldn't ask for better service.

The food was spectacular. Love, love, love the fried green tomatoes!!!!

This is a must-go-to restaurant. We will return!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_VA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julep's New Southern Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Julep's New Southern Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing