We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average, not outstanding”

Julep's New Southern Cuisine
Ranked #52 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Above average, not outstanding”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The food was great, but at $30 an entree, it better have been.

Our server insisted on pouring our beer for us, but unfortunately he didn't know how. He poured it into the center of the glass, resulting in four inches of head every time. I couldn't really enjoy my dinner because I had a huge bubble from swallowing all that beer foam.

They DO have an excellent wine list.

Helpful?
1 Thank stbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    62
    24
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New southern cuisine complete with a pecan tart”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our evening dinner at Juleps Restaurant was delightful from the elegant salad to the fish and vegetarian fare that my wife and young adult children enjoyed. Even though there were few vegetarian offerings, the staff put together a wonderful plate that combined several side dishes served on a bed of quinoa. The bourbon-pecan tart for dessert was outstanding and well worth the trip. Parking was plentiful about two or three blocks from the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite a Gem!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first time at Juleps. We loved it.

Great service. Atmosphere is wonderful. And, the food is phenomenal.

Our waiter, Joe, was knowledgeable and attentive. We couldn't ask for better service.

The food was spectacular. Love, love, love the fried green tomatoes!!!!

This is a must-go-to restaurant. We will return!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_VA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great, just meh!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We met friends here for an early dinner on Saturday night and walked away thinking that for the price, there should have been more oohs and ahs. Here's the good and bad:
1 - I eat fish, but not meat, and many of the fish dishes included meat in the sides or directly in the dish. Does fish stew really need sausage???
2 - Bread was limited to one corn muffin per person. Really? Why not a basket of delicious rolls or different types of bread slices during the meal?
3 - The Fresh and Spicy cocktail is delicious - original, delightful, refreshing.
4 - My husband, a meat eater, LOVED the pork belly appetizer - that may be the best thing on the menu.
5 - Service was attentive, always refilling our water and very helpful with menu selections.

I should have believed the reviews that said this place is overpriced. We don't mind spend a lot for a great meal, but this was just an okay meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raleighsafta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious and perfect for a celebration”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd or 3rd time to Julep's, but we haven't been in a few years. The atmosphere is fun. Our waiter, Noah, was helpful and attentive. The food was amazing. From the signature cocktails through appetizers, entrees, wine and dessert ( bananas foster), our family of four loved it. The portions were large ( required 2 take home containers). Noah wisely suggested that we share the dessert among the four of us, which turned out to be a good call.
We were celebrating several past and upcoming family events, and it was the perfect place to do so.

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julep's New Southern Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Julep's New Southern Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing