We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Al Madarig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Madarig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff in this small family run hotel. Lovely views from the front of the hotel with a public square outside. Can be a little noisy at weekends. Very convenient for the town and a short walk down to the harbour with its lively bars and restaurants. Breakfast includes fresh fruit, pastries, cold meat, cheeses etc as well as a hot dish. Recommended for those looking to stay in a typical family hotel rather than a chain hotel. One of our party had a cut and the owner offered to take her to the local pharmacy to have it dressed, which he did twice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a lovely view but because of the public square you have to accept some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenecob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 301 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights from Feb 14 through February 17th, 2014, off season.The room was pleasant with a large terrace facing the piazza. This room was our third choice having been shown two other rooms with serious mold issues. On February 14, the music from a nearby club was unbearable and continued until 2am. When we complained the next morning, we were advised that it was a isolated incident because of Valentine's Day. So, we declined the room that was offered to us in the back of the hotel.

The next night, the music continued until well after 3am. After complaining again, the police were notified to little avail. We were given keys to an inferior room in the back of the hotel to sleep.

In the morning, when we addressed the problem again with the staff, we were advised that this late night music is an ongoing problem especially in season.We learned that, in the past, the owner has had to approach the police and the local clubs about the problem

We continued our stay for two more nights because it was the only hotel open in Castellemmare at that time.

We are well traveled, from New York City, living in Manhattan, and are aware of noise. But this noise was intolerable.

If you choose to stay at Al Madarig, anytime of year, be sure your earplugs are in good working order! And don't expect any sincere sympathy from the hotel staff or the owner.

And finally, for a peaceful visit to Castellammare, stay at Hotel Cala Marina

Room Tip: choose a room at the Hotel Cala Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMadarig, Proprietario at Hotel Al Madarig, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014
Google Translation

il 14 febbraio era San Valentino e in Italia è la festa degli innamorati. E' vero che un locale vicino ha organizzato una serata di musica all'aperto che disturbava. Quando i clienti si sono lamentati, il portiere ha proposto loro di spostarsi in un'altra camera sul retro dove la musica non si sentiva ma loro hanno rifiutato e ha lasciato loro la chiave nel caso decidessero dopo. La lamentela che la musica continuò anche la notte successiva è una bugia. Né nei giorni successivi né nessuna altra volta da allora fino ad oggi c'è stata più musica e non è neanche vero che nelle stanze ci fosse odore di muffa, come dicono. La verità è che alla partenza i clienti non volevano pagare il conto di quella notte e la receptionist non è stata d'accordo perché noi avevamo offerto la soluzione proponendo un’altra camera e loro non l'hanno accettata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very friendly & helpful staff. Comfortable stay with relaxed atmosphere & good breakfast 7-10 am. Clean, spacious rooms, lovely views. Would certainly return as easy to reach from airports in Trapani & Palermo.

Room Tip: Pick a room with terrace to enjoy the views & sit out with glass of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Castellammare is a smallish place with a beach that requires you to be quite fit, as to reach it you must climb down many steps - and then back up of course. There is a beach bar which is very pleasant, and there are other, more attractive, beaches within walking distance of the town, which were crowded with locals the weekend we were there, while the main beach was quite deserted. The harbour is also very pleasant with a narrow sandy beach.

I wanted to stay at this hotel because of its situation, and I wasn't disappointed. Rooms look out over the town square and the sea, so sunsets are stunning. Nothing is more relaxing than sitting by the small balcony, watching the world go by, with the sea as your restful backdrop. The hotel itself is interesting - filled with antique furniture and artefacts. Apparently the owner also owns the town museum and so fascinating items abound. The bedrooms are a little dated, but clean and perfectly adequate, as are the bathrooms. The 'balconies' are tiny, more than a Juliette, but smaller than a balcony, but enough to take in the views and the life of the town. We didn't dine at the hotel, but breakfast was pretty standard - the usual cheese, yoghurt, bread, pastries, fruit and eggs - but very nice and more than enough to set us up for the day. Staff were pleasant and unobtrusive. I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a sea view, which is essential. I think there may be suites above with larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someplacenice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good service, great location and nice, clean rooms. The hotel is a little old but that's just part of its charm. There is an ok beach just in front of it, or an amazing one (better than the one in San Vito), just 15 minutes down the road. The breakfast is really good although it was the same thing every day.

The parking is a little small so if you don't want to pay the meter (4EUR a day) you should park your car early in the morning and don't move it.

Worth visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We drove from Palermo and stayed in for a couple of nights, located right in the center of Castellamare del Golfo, right next to a few restaurants and the small town, clean, simple, nostalgic, pleasant hotel...We had a pleasant stay overall visiting Lo Zingaro, San Vito lo Capo, Erici and it was convenient to drive back and forth...It is a typical Italian 3 star hotel, simple but clean, would recommend for a short stay...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esraparin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Despite the impression given by uter reviews we had a lovely time at this hotel. Arriving at this bay is fantastic with the mountains inland and the beautiful blue sea right by the hotel.The hotel shows no sign of its age and is well maintained,the reception area and staff were all excellent, our room (104) was of a good size and location overlooking the square and the sea, all the facilities were good. Plenty of restaurants to choose from even in March. overall a good location.

Room Tip: Obviously ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazzaandjazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellammare del Golfo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#3 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Marina
Hotel Cala Marina
#2 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sopra Le Mura
Sopra Le Mura
#5 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cerri Hotel
Cerri Hotel
#8 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
341 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Grotticelli
Hotel Grotticelli
#6 of 6 in Scopello
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
#4 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Madarig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Madarig

Address: Piazza Marina Petrolo 7, 91014, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Castellammare del Golfo
Price Range: $69 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Madarig 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Al Madarig (the Steps) bears the ancient Arabic name of Castellammare del Golfo (Sicily) and stands proud on a wide piazza which faces the sea, where the harbour was built by the local people from Segesta more than 2000 years ago. Strolling along the hotel street, a very narrow and panoramic walk, you will reach the Norman Arabic castle, and from there, stepping down a stone stairway, you can admire the quaint little harbour. The hotel boasts 38 rooms, bar, lounge room, restaurant, banquet room, free internet point and two conference rooms. The warm colours and welcoming intimate atmosphere of all the environments makes it an ideal place to spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Al Madarig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Madarig Hotel
Hotel Al Madarig Castellammare Del Golfo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing