We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but with a few problems”
Review of Hotel Al Madarig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Madarig
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel but with a few problems”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose this hotel after a recommendation from a friend. We found it comfortable and clean, with a good breakfast with excellent choice. The staff, who are helpful, friendly and informative, get the hotel it's "Very Good" rating. Apart from them it would be "Average". There was no restaurant available at the hotel during our visit, which is mentioned in their hotel information and elsewhere. Also the place is in need of a bit of TLC, worn fabrics, scuffed furniture and water damaged carpets. Not the sort of thing you expect from a hotel that claims 4 stars. Apart from this, the place is convenient, you can usually get to park, it is close to some good restaurants and great places to visit - Segesta is well 'worth a detour'.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the Piazza, the mountains and the sea, which was what we had asked for. There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
48
144
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is close to anythin you need to explore in the small town of castellammare del golfo. There are amazing restaurants and lounge bars with breathtaking view .. We just drove by the hotel and stopped to see if there were any free rooms and we got great service, the staff speaks great english and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjaCvitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is OK but no better. We had a room towards the back of the hotel and the decor was very drab and old fashioned in keeping with the general feel of the hotel. Breakfast was ok and the hotel is well situated for the (infrequent) buses to local attractions. All in all I would not go back to either the hotel or Castellammare as there are better places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a very nice hotel that sits on the Gulf of Castellammare. The staff are very nice and helpful. There is a fluff laundry right up the street for any cleaning you might have. You can walk to nice restaurants and sight seeing. Our room for a family of four was very clean and adequate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hole_in_shoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed there in early October, 2011 and booked a double room with a seaview terrace through www.booking.com. The room was small but enough for a couple, it was on the third floor and had a rather spaceful terrace facing the front square and the sea. It was very private with a plastic table and two chairs and a palm in the corner :) In the evening it was great to have a glass of wine or something there and not beeing overlooked. There was a tea maker in the room and a set of plastic cups. The room was cleaned every day, and the towels were changed also every day. So we didn't have any complaints concerning this point. The bed was big and comfortable. As for TV channels as far as I remember there were two or three English-speaking channels but we didn't usually watch TV. We had a laptop and watched films and news on it. The Wi-Fi was OK and free of charge. We liked the personell very much. They all spoke English and were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was Ok, a bit monotonous, but Ok. We liked handmade cakes and biscuites. There was a small stone beach just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It was a bit dirty, I think because of a low season. Nevertheless we liked it as it was usually empty :) A big sandy beach was 30 minutes walk from the hotel. I recommend this hotel for those who wants a quiet country authentic vocation. That was exactly what we wanted so we enjoyed it greatly.

Room Tip: First and second floor rooms don't have balconies or terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemoresmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

If you're comfortable driving in old cities in Italy, with narrow lanes, you probably won't have any problems finding a better room for cheaper than at this hotel. We had originally found 2 other hotels to stay at, but couldn't contact them on our way in to town, and finding this hotel was the best alternative since it is located on the edge of downtown.

The bed and furniture in the room was decent. We passed on breakfast, as it consisted of a large bowl of prunes, with meager offerings for coffee. Noise from the hallway and adjacent square can be heard quite easily.

The views from the window balcony looked great, which is probably what justifies the relatively high rate for our winter time stay. Service at the front desk was good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

It was ok for one night. we have to leave windows open because the smell of cigarette was awful. When you take a shower all the water floods the bathroom. Nice balcony though. Breakfast ok. I would not stay here in the future.
The beach nearby is awfully dirty.
The only good about the hotel is the staff. The receptionists are overqualified for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoloresAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellammare del Golfo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#3 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Marina
Hotel Cala Marina
#2 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cerri Hotel
Cerri Hotel
#8 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Baglio di Scopello
0.1 mi away
Sopra Le Mura
Sopra Le Mura
#4 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
#6 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Madarig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Madarig

Property: Hotel Al Madarig
Address: Piazza Marina Petrolo 7, 91014, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Castellammare del Golfo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Madarig 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Al Madarig (the Steps) bears the ancient Arabic name of Castellammare del Golfo (Sicily) and stands proud on a wide piazza which faces the sea, where the harbour was built by the local people from Segesta more than 2000 years ago. Strolling along the hotel street, a very narrow and panoramic walk, you will reach the Norman Arabic castle, and from there, stepping down a stone stairway, you can admire the quaint little harbour. The hotel boasts 38 rooms, bar, lounge room, restaurant, banquet room, free internet point and two conference rooms. The warm colours and welcoming intimate atmosphere of all the environments makes it an ideal place to spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Madarig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Madarig Hotel
Hotel Al Madarig Castellammare Del Golfo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing