We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”
Review of Hotel Cala Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cala Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were reall happy about it.
The location couldn´t be better! Just 20 metres from the marina.
There are plenty of REALLY good restaurants, just a few metres from the hotel. If you like fish and seafood, this is really paradise on earth!
The bed was comfortable. Aircondition and wifi worked.
Breakfast was not fantastic, but perhaps above average for Italian standard. You can take your breakfast outside on the terrasse, overlooking the sea.
There is not really much to see in Castellammare del Golfo, but I think it´s a good place to stay if you have a car and want to visit for example Trapani, Erice, Scopello and Segesta.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca Hansen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 605 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel is about a 35 minute drive to the Palermo Airport, so a great choice for an early morning flilght. Hotel is clean, some rooms have a small balcony with a view of the harbor. Staff was great, early morning staffer was friendly, even offering to make us coffee before our early departure. Several good restaurants a five minute walk away. This hotel is a good value, parking available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very helpful reception staff who were alwas ready with a smile. Rooms tidy with a good bed clean linen, clean and tidy bathroom. Possibly the room will need tidying over the winter buts only to be xpected with our visit at the end of the holiday season. Our room was the left hand side of the building so small balcony not veiwing over the town but an interesting view of part of the marina. Not too noisy at night apart from the odd scooteristi powering up the small hill outside the window! 5 minute walk at most to all the restaurants in town.
Continental breakfast was reasonable with a good choice of food including fresh friut and juice.Their coffee was excellent and unlimited.
Cannot really fault it at the price. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overthethrilltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

First stop on our Sicily trip. Mind your Sat Nav as it will take you down some dead ends and one way streets -the wrong way. Just head for the harbour turn left and there you are. Friendly welcome and great selection of nearby restaurants. Room spacious with a sea view balcony very good value. Parking adequate on the unmade track opposite. Breakfast good and great views of the town as you drive out west. Only misses out on excellent because no lift and no offer of help with heavy luggage but a recommended stay in a lovely authentic Sicilian harbour.

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After a long research into Palermo city we opted to stay here after flying into Palermo. The town is small but picturesque with a nice harbour with a couple of cafes and restaurants. The hotel is right by the sea. Spotlessly clean. Relatively cheap. Staff were excellent. They were actually waiting for us to arrive as it was quite late by the time we had negotiated the narrow one way streets of Castellamare del Golfo. Breakfast was fine. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here with my parents for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well location, the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The only regret is that we didn't book balcony rooms.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We found this hotel through internet search by coincidence and were satisfied with it. I will firstly talk about the bad sides. We thought we were going to stay at the hotel itself but upon completion of our reservation we got a message saying that we would be staying in the new building “Badia Depandance” which is “close” to the hotel. Theoretically the depandence is close to the hotel, only some tens of meters away, but in reality the hotel is located at the seaside and the dependence is located on a hill. It might be very difficult to walk up during day time (we never did that) or if one has a knee problem (we do not) or if one is old (we are not). The depandence does not have a reception desk, so if you have to contact hotel reception you should call the Cala Marina Hotel reception. After the working hours no one is climbs up the hill to solve the problem. There is supposed to be a free wi-fi connection but it does not work properly. We called the first night the reception desk of the hotel but were told it would only be solved the next day (it did not). The breakfast was charged extra (at least our reservation was like that) and was served at the hotel down the hill. On the other hand, the good sides were plenty and I suppose that is what really counts. The depandance building was new and located on a tiny street with almost no traffic.The rooms were very clean and large enough to accommodate three people comfortably. There was a small parking place for the private cars (free of charge). There was a vending machine at the main hall where you can buy water, etc at late hours of the night. The reception personnel at the hotel were very helpful and friendly (like many Sicilians). The breakfast was very good with plenty of fresh fruits, local cheese, tomatoes, olives, cakes, pastries, etc. The coffee served during breakfast was probably the best I had ever had in Italy. The wi-fi connection at the hotel lobby was fast. I recommend this tiny hotel to anybody who is going to visit Castellammarre del Golfo. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Badia Depandance is up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castellammare del Golfo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#4 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
78 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Tavernetta
Hotel La Tavernetta
#1 of 6 in Scopello
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sopra Le Mura
Sopra Le Mura
#5 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Al Madarig
Hotel Al Madarig
#6 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cerri Hotel
Cerri Hotel
#8 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cala Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Marina

Address: Via Don L. Zangara 1, 91014, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Castellammare del Golfo
Price Range: $58 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cala Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cala Marina is a newly built Three Star Hotel, equipped with all comforts to give the best service even to the most demanding clientele. The Hotel welcomes its guests with its warm atmosphere characterized by its refined style that perfectly blends with the modern conception of the services offered. The Hotel is 20 metres away from the sea in the beautiful and romantic seascape of Castellammare del Golfo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cala Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Marina Castellammare Del Golfo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing