We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional and careful operation”
Review of Ustica Diving

Ustica Diving
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Ustica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
New York
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very professional and careful operation”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Jacqui, our dive master, was super professional in making sure that we were well qualified, safe, properly equipped. He led our two dives, and knew the sites very well. They use a smaller Zodiac-like boat which was fine with us. We saw some other dive boats in the harbor, which looked more like party boats, that I am glad we avoided. The only thing negative was the fact that many people on the boat smoked. We've been on other European dive boat where that happens, but it's quite unusual for US/Caribbean divers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent center”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Jaqui, the instructor was very professional and safety conscious. Otherwise, the dive shop is simple.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great expertise of staff -very knowledgeable of the diving sites - and also good humoured! Up to date equipment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Dive Local, dive Slow!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Ustica Diving is the only local diving centre in Ustica. Owned and run by two Ustica born guys and permanent residents, Jonathan Cecchinel and Gaetano Lo Nero, it is the youngest and easy-going diving if the island. Padi-certified, it will offer you courses as well as wonderful dives, among the best on the Mediterranean bard on my experience. Dive at Secca della Colombara to see huge groupers and Barracudas, or enjoy the many canyons full of colourful sponges and even a cave with Roman remains (amphores) at Sutta Za Lisa. You will love the Scoglio del Medico deep dive and the shallow beauties of Punta Galera, where barracudas are granted smart just 9 m/30 feet deep. Jonathan is friendly and loves his island with real passion, and he will tell you ancient histories of the places. If you like slow food, try Jonathan's slow diving. Ask him to dive and guide you, he is quite shy on this. Other diving may show mite muscles, but is diving with Jonathan that you will live Ustica forever!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dharmamaster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ustica Diving also viewed

Ustica, Islands of Sicily
Ustica, Islands of Sicily
 
Ustica, Islands of Sicily
Ustica, Islands of Sicily
 

Been to Ustica Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing