We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sa Contonera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sa Contonera
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Tortoli
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. It is rated 3 stars but really deserves to be 4 stars. The rooms were very nice, loved the pool and the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. It is a short drive to beautiful beaches and an even shorter drive to the shopping district. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyslippers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    95
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
52
124
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sint-niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Arbatax itself not a very exciting place, although it has its surprising red rocks, some very pleasant beaches and it is a very good starting point to explore the eastern coast. (golfo di orosei, gennargentu, .....). We rented a car to explore the region from that place.
The Hotel Sa Contonara is not a big resort, but a smaller quieter haven to come home to after such exploits.
The rooms are spacious , very nicely decorated, and clean.
The staff is welcoming and helpful if you need them. One day we could make a trip we planned, because of of strike which made it impossible to buy gaz. The staff could not help this, but came up with an alternate programme in no time, of which we were very pleased. They also made the booking for a mini-cruise in the Gulf of Orosei, at no big cost and extra service (pick up at the hotel).
Breakfast and diner where always very good and abundant. Diner at a very reasonable price at that, and with a special rate for my son of 12 (not that he eats less).
The pool was always clean and the terras around it quit enjoyable, never with too many people.
Even if it is a smaller and quiter hotel, I felt very at ease and welcome as a mother with 2 (sometimes louder) teen age boys.
I would stay there again and recommend this hotel without any hesitation

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrien1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

We booked Sa Contonera Hotel via internet.
We liked the pictures on the homepage and found good ratings
in the internet, so we were looking forward to our stay there.
But what a big disappointment! Our room was tiny and had no balcony. It only had a small window facing a busy street. So we could not even open the window as traffic was too loud.
Of course on the hotel homepage there was not the slightest hint that the hotel is located next to a busy highway. We were very disturbed by the noise. Also the pool was noisy. The room was furnished nicely, so was the hotel. Breakfast was hardly acceptable . Cakes, pastries, white bread and jam. No eggs, no saugeges, no cheese. The surroundings and Arbatax are rather ugly. We found the whole situation, hotel and surroundings very disappointing. In our oppinion the hotel plus Arbatax is only good for a stopover.

  • Liked — new hotel, nice atmosphere
  • Disliked — room too small, window to a busy road, no balcony
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eliskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

Arbatax itself has not much to offer but this place is great. Its directly on the busy road but the rooms are still quiet and traffic is not a problem at all as there is a massive hedge to block traffics effects.
Rooms are extremely clean and spacy for Italian standards and everything works nicely, staff is welcoming and helpful if you need them, breakfast is good with a nice choice for a small place like this. I can imagine pool can be crowdy in August but for us (family of four) it was a great place to relax in July with just a couply of other residents at that time.
As for holiday activities you should get a car in that place. There are beautiful beaches around, but none of them within a walking distance unless you are up to nordic walking traning session both ways...
Rooms are not cheap, but you will get what you pay for. Would stay again...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank ManaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortoli hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Club Saraceno
Hotel Club Saraceno
#2 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Vecchio Mulino
Il Vecchio Mulino
#3 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidonia
Hotel Poseidonia
#4 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arbatasar
Hotel Arbatasar
#6 of 12 in Arbatax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 12 in Arbatax
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sa Contonera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sa Contonera

Property: Hotel Sa Contonera
Address: Viale Arbatax 148, 08048, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Tortoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tortoli
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tortoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sa Contonera 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Sa Contonera is a 3-stars Hotel, located on the East Coast of Sardinia in Tortolì-Arbatax, and has 34 rooms equipped with all comforts: air conditioned, mini bar, safe, TV LCD, radio, direct phone, bath with shower and hair dresser. Some rooms have a balcony, terrace and panoramic view. The Hotel is equipped with swimming pool with hydromassage, private parking area, restaurant, bar, hall with TV 42''. Reception and bar service 24h24. Yearly opening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sa Contonera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Contonera Hotel
Hotel Sa Contonera Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing