We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, high standards with a lovely pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Saraceno Hotel Residence
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Stintino
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed 2 weeks in one of the four 2 room apartments. These are separate to the hotel on the other side of the pool, but serviced in the same way. It met our needs as a family of 4 as we wanted somewhere with separate rooms and a kitchen. Everywhere was very clean. It isn't luxurious but well equipped and very well maintained. The maid service was excellent.
The Pool was great - most of the time there were very few people sharing it which was a welcome change to the busyness of the beaches.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special. The only thing that got us down a bit over the 2 weeks was the Restaurant Manager who had definitely taken tips from Basil Fawlty. Guests seemed to be a bit of an irritation and he couldn't hide his disgust if anyone spilt anything. The best you'd get was a grunt each morning. After a while we did see the funny side of it. BUT everyone else was fantastic and they did everything they could to help.
The area probably wasn't the best to stay for 14 nights as most people would be there to visit La Pelosa - gorgeous and worth seeing but it was so crowded that we could only take a couple of hours! The other beaches were average in the immediate area. We had a car so tended to travel to travel about an hour to the beaches near Alghero (Mugoni is fab) in the day and then into the town for the evening which we loved. I'd recommend the Tapas Bar at the top of the hill which was very reasonable for a bite to eat and / or a few drinks at night.
We would definitely recommend the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Sardinia. I've posted a few pictures of the hotel as there are very few available, particularly of the apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripfanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 224 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

Loved the room, very clean, comfortable and spacious. Pool area was great and we had it all to ourselves on several occasions, as many people head to the beaches. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was pretty good too. Overall easily the nicest hotel we stayed in during our Sardinia trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We based our decision to stay at Al Saraceno on consistantly positive website reviews and the description offered by hotel's own website. We were delighted to find that description was if anything, a little understated and that all of our expections were entirely exceeded. We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the the studio appartments, with our 2 boys aged 3 and 5. The appartment was comfortable and very convenient for the pool, which is possibly the hotel's outstanding feature, being relatively large for a medium sized hotel and extremely well maintained. The pool area as a whole is immacculately clean, quiet and relaxing, with plenty of available beds and a very scenic vista, without being overlooked at all. We ate in the hotel's restaurant 4 times and would have been happy to eat there more often, as the quality and value were at least equivalent to most of the better qulaity restaurants in Stintino and Pelosa. The evening meal is a buffet format ( first / second course) with an a la carte selection for main course. This was perfect for the children ( and us ) who could pick and choose from a large variety of dishes, taking as little or as much as they wanted. The cost for all 4 was typically Euro 20 lower than the top restaurants ( no cover charge) and the choice more varied - especially on the themed Sardagne night when live entertainment is also thrown in. Evening entertainment is irregularly offered after dinner, and when on, this tends to be low key ( e.g. singer/ magic show) - something to be grateful for when compared to some of the frenzied kareokee on offer at other residences in the area. The staff are helpful and very friendly, although only the manager, Francesco speaks English, so a little Italian is useful. The reception is always well staffed with a minimum of 2 , and they were always happy to look up any tourist information / make calls on our behalf - their assistance was invaluable when we needed repairs to our car. In summary, this is a charming hotel, who achieve the highest standards of much larger 5* residence, whilst retaining the personal attention and friendly atmosphere of a smaller hotel. I travel extensively with my job and have stayed in plenty of 4 and 5* hotels that I would not recommend to any of my friennds or family. Al Saraceno on the other hand , although it is listed as a 4*, punches above it's weight and would very definitely be our first choice next time we stay in Stintino.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CemetaryGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I used tripadvisor ahead of the visit and was encouraged by the reports.
Room:
1. I would say that room was of good standard though TV was faulty and not fixed when reported.
2. Tea and/or Coffee facilities would be nice for a 4 star.
3. Some drawers would be good and relaxing chair in the room also.
Amenities:
1. Pool was clean though no drinks service in the area seen
2. We were unable to use the breakfast room one day as it was booked by an excursion of Czechs 100+ and we were not allowed to use it.
3. Reception is not 24hrs ( should be for 4 star ) and no local information was available at reception or room.
Food:
Breakfast;
1. Generally poor, one cereral, continental cheese and meat choice, and no toaster at breakfast.
2. Chipped serviceware
3. Profiteroles from previous evening(s) served.
Evening;
1. Basic choice with one cooked element ie soup otherwise cold buffet only on offer
2. German coach tour were given priority over residents as per Czech excursion, with staff setting up presentation during meal.
Other comments:
1. Good location with short walk to town
2. Good views over the bay
3. Clean and generally well kept with staff who do their best for you. They are very pleasant.
4. Get a hire car. Herz is offered as discount by RyanAir but Avis was half the price with a new car and very helpfull. You will need a car at this site as there is no entertainment and no real meeting place for the evenings.

Summary:
Would be hard pushed to rate this as 4 star even as a holiday company 4 star though the staff are very good and the location is relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank welltravelled05_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We arrived late on the friday night to be told that we had to go to another hotel ...full apologies given but no real explanation.
We were told to go back at 12mid day, which we did, but the room was not ready until 2pm.
The staff were really friendly helped as much as possible with advice about thre area.
I would tend to say the food was not brilliant a bit repetitive and breakfast not as good as the hotel we stopped in for the first night.
The hotel was very clean and well decorated the only problem being in our room was the plumbing ...the toilet and the bath played up slightly.
There were beautiful views from our room and just as we liked it ...quiet.The general area lovely and a great little beach not far from the hotel with very few people on it.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank pajuYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

This Hotel was booked through Expedia and described as a 4* with full breakfast. The hotel was clean and tidy with a nice pool well maintained gardens and very helpful and friendly staff but it is not a 4* or even close. It is a reasonable 3* and for the price charged, about £52, it is OK. If you arrive with a 3* expectation you will be content. Our room was a ground floor sort of Chalet style room, in that the only entrance was through a sliding patio door that opened out onto a walkway. There was a shower but no bath and airconditoning through a wall mounted unit but with no heating. The "full" breakfast was a buffet that did not include anything hot and there was fruit available on only one day. I don't think this justifies Expedia's use of the term "full Breakfast". The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We have just returned from a week in Stintino, four days of which we stayed at Al Saraceno. It is a lovely quiet hotel, the room was excellent and very spacious and the staff were very helpful.

The swimming pool was cleaned daily and it was a nice place to relax. The hotel offers a courtesy bus to the lovely La Palosa beach three or four times daily.

For our last three days of our holiday we stayed in a different 4* hotel in Stintino and it was no way near as good as Al Saraceno.

The only recommendation we would is to have a hire car to get around.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mischief3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stintino hotels
0.2 mi away
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stintino
1,211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Hotel La Pelosetta
0.6 mi away
Club Hotel Ancora
Club Hotel Ancora
#1 of 15 in Stintino
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Club Esse Sporting
Club Esse Sporting
#2 of 15 in Stintino
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Asinara
Park Hotel Asinara
#3 of 15 in Stintino
435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Esse Roccaruja
Club Esse Roccaruja
#6 of 15 in Stintino
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Saraceno Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Saraceno Hotel Residence

Address: Localita Cala Lupo | on the main route from the village to the Pelosa beach, 07040 Stintino, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Stintino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stintino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stintino
#3 Family Hotel in Stintino
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stintino
Price Range: $45 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Saraceno Hotel Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Saraceno Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Saraceno Stintino
Al Saraceno Hotel Residence Stintino, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing