We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pasta!”

Pape' Satan Ristorante Pizzeria
Price range: $14 - $65
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Large outdoor rooms with garden
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pasta!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We ate here for lunch, and had a lovely meal. Pape Satan appears to be VERY popular with young families, so if you are planning on a quiet and romantic lunch for two, this probably isn't the place for you. That said, they rood was very good, wine delicious, service good and we liked sitting in their courtyard.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank phoebew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    263
    150
    73
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice lunch!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good food, friendly service. Nicely set out restaurant - we had pasta for lunch. Would go again. Was keen to spot Pape Satan himself, hoped he would be more red!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very average, verging on poor.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

First impressions were great, but it went downhill from there. We were greeted and shown to our table by a lovely, warm, professional waiter, who showed us our tables and took our drinks orders. We ordered our food, 5 pizza's from a waitress who looked quite gloomy. Our drinks came, we had house white which was disappointing, (we weren't expecting anything amazing, just a nice glass of chilled wine)

Our food came, and one of the pizzas was wrong. Contemplated sending it back (in hindsight we should have) but as it tasted ok, didn't seem worth the hassle. The food was alright-nothing special about it but perfectly edible. My brother loved his pizza! The minute one of us had finished a waitress took the plate away. This made me, who was the last one eating, feel very rushed. We wern't offered the dessert menu, but were annoyed at having our plates taken from us, so wouldn't have had any anyway. We asked for the bill. paid, and left. They did not say goodbye or anything as we left, or hold the door open etc.

The overall atmosphere felt rather stressed. Service was poor- hurried, un-personal, and lacked basic manners.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheFamiliar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most least relaxing dining experience ever”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Pape satan isnt a nice restaurant at all. Me and my wife ate there on the 3/8/12 and were not impressed. We choose neopolitan pizza and bolognese It arrived way to quickly as we like to talk before we eat. When it arrived it looked nice but looks are deceptive and it was the complete opposite the pizza was thick and doughie the bolognese was tasteless. And before we could put down our napkins they were asking for the bill. I wouldnt recommend going there and there are much better restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grantsimo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Satanic offering”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had the the great misfortune to eat at this vile restaurant on 28/7/12 .i went with my wife and 2 children on the strength of the review from the lonely planet guide 2012. The waitresses milled around like stepford wives with a demented corporate smiles plastered to their faces not unlike tour guide Barbie from toy story 2 ,whilst they were attentive enough they must have been prepped to ship people in and out In or around the thirty minute mark even though the restaurant was mostly empty.the food was absolute disgusting,my wife and I shared a prawn risotto (16euro each) which was completely bereft of flavour or prawns (3 each) and frozen.my daughter opted for the cannalloni which contained what could only described as semi frozen dog food and my son went for the spaghetti carbonara which looked and tasted on a par with cat sick.we complained to the waitress particularly about our risotto or rice pudding which was more accurate only to be dismissed as bothersome tourists indeed the owner and his odious brother were quite defensive and aggressive and shouted we should have mentioned our complaints earlier...we did to the brain dead waitress.so if you want the p*ss taken out of you while spending around a hundred euros on a meal that would embarrass the makers of boil in the bag food then this is the place for you,on the the other hand you can eat at the vastly superior and more reasonably priced il grottino up the road which was faultless (we ate there four nights running and would have been happy to pay double the food was that good)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Williamsworld66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papesatan, Proprietario at Pape' Satan Ristorante Pizzeria, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We perfectly remember what happened because it is extremely rare in our restaurant!.......a Lady came to the paydesk with her bill, she asked me if I could speak English, but since I just speak a little English, to be kind, I called my brother who speaks it very well! As soon as my brother arrived she asked him, in a very unpolite and ironical way, if it was normal that in a prawn risotto, that cost 16 euros, there were only three prawns!She was told by both of us, that it was absolutely normal since it was a particularly elaborated dish and the big prawns we put on the risotto is just the final touch! As a matter of fact there are other ingredients beyond the prawns! In other restaurants they serve the “prawn risotto” with chopped prawns so you can have the illusion they are more!
In our menu there are also grilled prawns, the price is the same ( 16 euros ) and there are five prawns, but it is a simple side dish preparation and not a main course! Ours was a “prawn risotto” and not “prawns with risotto”!
The “gentle Lady”was given all the details in a very polite way, even if our restaurant was full of people and we did'nt have much time at our disposal......perhaps the “gentle Lady” was waiting for a discount that we did'nt consider and offer.
I'm speechless as for “cannelloni”and “spaghetti alla carbonara” and everything else they ate, compared to a cat sick or dog food! Probably they are used to such a taste.......we aren't!!
Perhaps they got angrier because of our quiteness!
As a matter of fact we are sure and grant what we serve......we immediately recognize people who are essentially interested in quantity and not in quality, people who are'nt able to appreciate a delicate Italian dish!
This comment on tripadvisor has been extremely offensive and vulgar, it has little to do with the wellknown English aplombe!
The “gentle couple”has also insulted our waitresses who work hard just because of their friendly smiles that haven't been appreciated.
We hope never meet again such a rude people in our restaurant or....maybe once while having a walk in the street we could ask them about their favourite animal food and where buy it.....so that we could send them a gift for Xmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pape' Satan Ristorante Pizzeria also viewed

Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Pape' Satan Ristorante Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing