We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
97
70
42
37
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
70
42
37
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach beautiful room sardinian dishes cagliari airport hotel is located swimming pool is lovely beach hire car every evening cottage wedding chia coast nora sardegna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 286 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Back in time! Amazing property built on the 50's with lots of character and attentive staff
Great location with access to the best beaches in sardinia, chia and porto pino are not to be missed. We are talking Exuma level ! The restaurant is also excellent, and Massimo the maitre d will take excellent care of you.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Pier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ismorusrelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Morus Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Dear Pier G,

We are extremely happy to know that you had an enjoyable holiday, it is reviews like yours that makes our job and commitment so rewarding. I will make sure Massimo reads your comments and we look forward to welcome you back soon!

Arrivederci!
Davide Caschili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

First off this resort is in a beautiful place. They have exclusive use of 3 or 4 little beaches and their pool and grounds are stunning. However the resort itself leaves a LOT to be desired. It was also in a quite “out of the way” location so took quite a while to get anywhere.

Please be advised that I would no recommend this resort even a little bit if you have a family. We stayed here for 7 nights as part of a soccer tournament trip to Sardinia. When we arrived it was surprising to see that 80% of the clientele were over 55. On the first day the boys obviously wanted to have a swim and jumped in the pool. As boys do they played in the pool but we received complaints from people who said, “I have paid good money to come here on holiday.” It was my opinion (and others not just from our group) that the boys were not overly loud or exuberant. However the management came and spoke to us and said that the boys had to be quiet around the pool and that they had reserved a place on the beach for us. Trying to get a bunch of 10 year old’s to be quiet in a pool is interesting. But neither did they want to go do the beach. Incredibly disappointing by management (although they were put in a hard position by those people complaining I realise).

Our room was a LONG way from the main building. When you have to walk 200-300m every time you want something as there is no in room dining or anything it gets old very quickly. As for the rooms, lets see…. The water is not drinkable and stinks. The shower is tiny. In our group, I believe that I was the only one that didn’t have plumbing issues (from leaking tubs to plugs stuck in sinks etc). The safe had no key so there was no safe (while other rooms apparently had 2). The rooms were just old and tired (cracked tiles etc). Please also note that while the resort has wifi, it is ONLY available in the main building. As soon as you leave (and go to the outer areas of that building) there is no wifi. In addition the resort seems to be in a bit of a black hole for phone reception (is fine just outside of the gate). So connectivity is a real issue.

The food is downright terrible. Simply put I couldn’t eat half of the things that were put in front of me. Some examples… The veggies were literally reheated frozen veggies and they somehow managed to stuff those up so that some were hard, others were soggy (in the same mouthful) and tasted like cardboard. The meat patties were raw. The pasta consistently had way to much salt in it. I could go on. But suffice to say that in the 7 days that we were there I had 1 dish that I thought was reasonable. The rest was simply awful. The service was also average. We had to wait a long time for some of the food and in a couple of cases, had to order twice to get it.

So I could go on, but I wont. Suffice to say that while the location is nice, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

A piece of advice, if you are forced to stay here, just outside the resort gates there is a traditional pizza restaurant that is open some nights. They serve beautiful food and I would highly recommend that you eat there instead of the resort.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ismorusrelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Morus Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Andrew,

We would like to thank you for describing our Resort as a beautiful place, our remote location, tranquility and unique atmosphere are some of our strongest selling points and it is unfortunate that this was not of your liking.

I must say that we are extremely surprised and heartbroken about your very negative review, we welcomed your family and the rest of your group with open arms and went the extra mile to accommodate each and every request you had during your stay with us. Regarding the issue at the swimming pool and the disruption caused by the kids to the other guests, we had to intervene to help both parties and in the end we took your side as we understood the boys were not the ones to blame; consequently your group leader asked to have an area in the beach assigned to your group, this is not something we usually do but we happily decided to accommodate your request which now leaves confused about your disappointment with our Management. We are sorry that your cottage (immersed in our Pine Trees forest) wasn’t what you expected, we could have found another one if you had told us of your dissatisfaction. Regarding our Restaurant, we understand and apologise if this wasn’t of your liking but we must also say that we always cooked what was requested by your group trying hard to give you the best possible service even outside of our closing hours.

We are always saddened when we receive negative reviews such as yours while none of the above comments were raised during your stay, unfortunately now this gives us no chances to make your stay more comfortable.

Kind Regards,
Davide Caschili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We went to this hotel for 4 days few weeks ago. We really enjoy the room, clean with a beautiful sea view. The park, the beach, the swimming pool are very nice. Unfortunately the services are average. Especially in our case, cause we forgot clothes in the hotel, make some call, send email and never have any solution nor answer. For a "luxury" hotel it's a kind of joke... This place could be an amazing one but they probably need to change there management and chief cooker. If you have another option for your stay choose another one.

Room tip: choisir une chambre avec "sea view "
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ismorusrelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Morus Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Dear JJhen,

We are happy to read lots of good comments about our Resort and that you scored us with a full mark on location and cleanliness, it’s a shame that your general score was so low and based on some items you left here (and the issue this has caused) instead of the overall experience of your holiday.

We are sorry the food wasn’t one of your choice and that this did not meet your expectations. I am very keen to resolve your issue regarding the items you left behind, unfortunately I cannot find any emails regarding this matter but please contact me directly (info@ismorus.com) as soon as possible so I can personally try to assist you in the best possible way.

Kind Regards,
Davide Caschili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

This is really a two star experience. Grounds and pool are beautiful but food, plumbing, tired decor and the bizarre practice of booking in large youth groups ruin the atmosphere. There is a reason why they expect you to pay in advance and you will be disappointed if you go there expecting an experience to match their four star branding. Management complacent; others have said this before.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank taffyrwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ismorusrelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Morus Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you felt the need to write a second review about your stay, please see our response to the other posted a day earlier.

Kind Regards,
Davide Caschili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

It is difficult to know where to start this review - perhaps with the good bits: lovely pool from which you can see and hear the sea and lovely setting within the trees and garden and a couple of friendly and cheerful staff members (pool and bar) and well located for Cagliari, Pula, Nora and Chia.

Now the less good bits: the hotel is tired and a bit jaded - it needs some money spent on it. The restaurant food was poor - the worst we had eaten in Sardinia where the standards are generally excellent - and the breakfasts were uninspiring. The photos in the brochure and online give a different image from what is actually delivered. There was no pool bar open, no grill restaurant, no candle lit tables for dinner under the trees. It felt as if services had been cut back. We asked about hiring a boat and were told that the hotel pedalo had been booked out for the week - we didn't see anyone on any pedalo at all. We weren't shown the gym or tennis court. You had to go to the hotel bar to get drinks for the pool - guests were therefore carrying glasses quite long distances and around the pool side.

On the first morning we were woken at 6am by workmen moving cables on the roof which sounded more like furniture being moved across the ceiling. The next night we were woken at midnight by guests and someone from management discussing outside our room a leak in one of their rooms. Then on the last last day a largish group of young (8-12 years old) Australian football players and their parents/coaches came to stay, using the hotel as a base for a football tour. The problem is that everyone is a paying guest (we had the end of the film crew as well - see review below) and the hotel cannot really be all things to all people successfully. So we ended up with families with young children, elderly couples, young couples etc leaving the pool area when ten or so young boys in a group did what young boys do when faced with a lovely pool to play in. To be fair the manager on duty went to investigate and was clearly angry that the peace and quiet at the pool had been spoiled, but that then incensed the football group - so it was a no win situation for all concerned.

The hotel seems to pride itself on the relaxed atmosphere, peace and quiet etc, but then it lets large groups take parts of it over - I think it needs to decide what it wants to be and make that more clear. And if it wants to aim more upmarket, then start investing in the hotel.

So I would ask questions when you book, also definitely hire a car to get out in the evenings or in the day to visit places. We were only there three nights and had some lovely sunshine to enjoy and we also had two great meals out and discovered the amazing beach at Le dune, Chia. But if we had booked a longer stay I think i would still be arguing with the manager now. It just wasn't worth the money and it did not deliver what I felt was promised.

It is a shame they don't take these negative comments on board (there are many in the same vein below) - they seem to cover up or say they are not responsible. It has the potential to be so much better.

Room tip: A sea view is so much better than a non sea view one.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ismorusrelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Morus Relais, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Dear SianWJ,

We are pleased to read that there were lots of positive comments regarding your recent stay with us and we wish that all the negatives’ ones written in your review were mentioned during your stay, unfortunately there is little we can do now that you have left. Due to some technical faults, our beach bar was indeed closed and we are sorry for the disruption this has caused to your stay. Regarding our Brochure, some of the picture there belongs to weddings (candles) and events.

We would like to extend our apologies for the issue you have encountered with the noise caused by the electrician and during the unexpected leak that occurred in the room opposite to yours, we had to act promptly paying particular attention to the noise level but unfortunately the guests that needed to be moved did indeed caused few minutes of noise while moving out of this room.

Regarding the disruption caused by the group of kids in the swimming, as you stated we did all we could to better the situation however we would like to mention that the parents were highly offended by your remarks about their nationality.

We indeed pride ourselves for offering a calm and relaxing atmosphere, usually taking group bookings doesn’t cause us any issues with our guests. We always try our best to get all our guests to cohabitate in a respectful way and I can guarantee you that we always do everything in our power to minimize any issues between guests.

Kind Regards,
Davide Caschili

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews