We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our lovely relaxing beach holiday in sardinia”
Review of Hotel Mare Pineta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mare Pineta
Reviewed September 29, 2011

when I arrived at the Hotel mare pineta by taxi from airport ,I thought this is very quite, no one about, were are we! then once we had checked in to our own Eco looking apartment all white and air conditioned ,on suite new bathroom and a 32 inch flat TV screen with remote!!!And mini bar the excitement started to Happen . costume on time for a stroll, and off we went looking for the beach. 3 mins later along from the pool and restaurant , here it was.......Heaven ,white soft sand and clear blue sea which you can walk along for miles. your own part of beach with sun shades and deck chairs if you want them or find your own part and sit down if you don't. 5 mins along beach and your at sister hotel flamingo, and by showing your key allows you access. lots going on pool bar restaurant and information desks ect....... and a down stairs spa and gym but that's extra to use, but with so much other stuff to do don't really need it. lots to do out side of hotel bus's local and coaches end of road all very cheap 20 mins to chia laguna beach ,lovely all the beaches are lovely and not that crowded considering August 1st -11th peak season......... had a fab time would recommend to go and see.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

During our stay - on the first floor of one of the "round houses" - we didn't experience any of the problems some other travellers mentioned. The place was clean, room was spacious and more than adequate, good restaurant and good food, good and clean pool, nice beach. In general a very niceplace to spend more time than just a few days (for families with kids) To our standards this 3 star rated hotel deserves 3,5 stars. It's remarkable and not very customer frendly though that you have to pay the bill at the sister hotel Flamingo.
When parking your car in the free parking space under the trees, make sure you pay attention, there are more trees than you expect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BiagiodiMaratea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Just back from Mare Pineta in South Sardinia. Awful, scarce food, sometimes reoffered on the following day, absolute disorganization, kind staff but unprepared. Too few sun umbrellas, ofetn broken, dark smelly rooms, neglected common spaces. As for the sea, not really the expected colours of Sardinia, and not always clean. We just highly appreciated its quietness. Not much, really, to choose it again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emper0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Having just returned from our stay at the MarePineta, I felt I had to write a review. Although the cleanliness of the place could not be faulted, it was not everything I wanted it to be. For the first 3 days we were there we had no hot water and the food left a lot to be desired. The breakfast menu was the same every morning, and dinner, well if it was an example of Sardinian cooking I was really disappointed. I thought being by the sea we would have lovely shell fish and fish but what we got was second rate. Fortunately, there is a bus service everyday to Pula where we found a deli and survived on what we could take back to our room.
I felt everything was over priced from the 4 euros for a beer and the 14 to 14 euros for a bottle of wine.
The beach was lovely if you could get past the rocks imbedded in the sand and get in the sea. There is a horrible stench from the swamp in between hotels and we were not told by staff that we could use the facilities of The Flamigo next door.
We did manage to visit the beaches at Chia and they were picture post card perfect and we loved that.
Over all our holiday was a success , we went for hot weather and the beach and we certainly got that but from now on I will stay in nothing less than a 4 star.
The rooms were cleaned everyday but they were small with very little storage space and there seemed to be a problem with ants. So , no thank you, we will not be returning to the Mare Pineta.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Americas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The hotel is basic but has everything you need to enjoy the trip and enjoy exploring the beaches of southern sardinia.

The hotel is really close to the beach and shares facilities with it's sister hotel, the Flamingo (4 star).

Mare Pineta has spacious rooms (with aircon) and a lovely spot to sit and enjoy a drink before dinner.

The breakfasts were great but I wasn't too taken with the dinners. If I were to go again I would choose the bed and breakfast option and eat dinner in Pula or at the Flamingo.

I was also concerned from the other reviews that the hotel would be poorly maintained, but it seems that those reviews are from a while ago. The hotel was looking good and the pool was also in great shape.

But it was a great stay and great that it's so close to the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rezrovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We have just returned from having spend 2 weeks at the Marepineta hotel.
The hotel is set in lovely peaceful surronding but the mainetence
of the place let it down, the swimming pool was only cleaned once in the 2 weeks.
We moved rooms after 2 nights because the shower doors did not close properly the washbasin plug did not open.
The tv was very loud and could not be turned down.
We think that everything is done first at the flamingo and if there is time during the late afternoon the marepineta problems may get done if you complain.
The breakfast buffet was limited and the evening meals varied
some nice some not so good we did not think DONKEY on the menu was a good idea for the tourist.
For a 3 star hotel in italy and sardinia it was the one we will not be visiting again.
If we visit sardinia again we will return to Alghero where DONKEY
was not on the menu in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ENGLAND
19
Reviewed March 29, 2006

Went to Sardinia with crystal holidays. Awful time, hotel in brochure was picture of Flamingo (sister hotel) and not the Mare Pinta.

ROOMS - State of the Arc
POOL - Dirty

BEACH - Distgusting

Swamp Area between hotels - Fowl Smells

Need a car to escape to any facilities

Totally isolated

Poor value for money BE WARNED !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita di Pula
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Il Castello
Hotel Il Castello
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Bouganville
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Bou...
#5 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baia di Nora
Baia di Nora
#10 of 24 in Pula
368 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Barcavela Hotel
New Barcavela Hotel
#11 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mare Pineta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare Pineta

Address: Strada Statale 195 Km 33.400 | Localita Santa Margherita, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range: $125 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare Pineta 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mare Pineta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Pineta Hotel Santa Margherita Di Pula
Hotel Mare Pineta Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing