We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a sports camp then a five star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forte Village Resort - Le Palme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Unless your family is totally into soccer or tennis villa forte is not recommendable. The whole village is in 80th flair - worn down, lots of concrete, plastic. Having a baby there was not a single place of lawn in the shadow close to a pool. The ways are far from/to restaurant, beach, pool to room and the bike rental is fun for kids but extra charge of 25EUR per day. In general extra charges are a rip off - the nicer restaurants charge 100EUR per person additionally to half-board, drinks not included. Pedicure 100EUR. The rooms are dark as located in the park and almost all day exposed to some music. It seems that this place has passed it's best days and now the owners are squeezing out maximum earnings without reinvestment. There are many more peace- and tasteful places in sardinia at the same price. But there are obviously enough Russians in villa forte who will accept this rip off for some time. At least the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Le dune is at least more spacious then Le palm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My fiancé and I visited Sardinia last week, the purpose of our trip was to look at various hotels in the area for our wedding venue for 2014. We didn’t actually stay at the Forte Village, we preferred to stay at a smaller more intimate hotel just down the road. My fiancé called the Forte Village enquiring if it was possible for us to use the restaurant one evening (so we could check out the hotel and more importantly the service, seeing as this could be a front-runner for our wedding, basis the reviews I had previously read about the hotel) She was told by the receptionist that this would be absolutely fine, the prices to eat in each restaurant and just to let her know when we would like to come. Later that day the battery on our phone had died but we were in the area so decided to park up and go into reception to confirm our booking in person. We were greeted by a member of staff at the front gate, to who we explained that we were there to book a table for dinner and he let us through. We parked up and walked to reception, all I can say is, if this is good customer service then I would hate to see bad customer service. We spoke to a receptionist first of all and explained that we were not staying at the hotel but my fiancé had called about the possibility of us having an evening meal there and she was told this would be fine. The receptionist (who spoke perfect English) asked us twice what room we were staying in, to which we repeated what we had already said when we arrived. Then the receptionist disappeared behind reception for a few minutes, returned and asked us how she could help us, she totally forgot that we'd been talking to her for at least 10 minutes. While this was going on, a different receptionist appeared, asking us what we were doing there, that we shouldn’t have been let in, and demanded to know how we had got in!! We told her a member of staff on the front gate gave us permission to enter to which she demanded us to tell her who?!
I can understand that the hotel like to keep some sort or exclusivity to their guests but at the end of the day, it’s only a hotel, you are not running Buckingham palace, get over yourselves!!
After we were so rudely spoken to we were then told to get off of the property as we were not welcome! What a way to treat potential customers!
Suffice to say that we scrubbed this venue straight off our list for our wedding, of which we are planning on inviting 150 plus people, so not a small affair by any means.
And as for returning for a holiday at any point..... you couldn’t pay me enough! I would much rather stay at a hotel where customer service and a friendly welcome is a top priority.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank paulchandler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I find this resort to be one of the strangest places I have ever stayed. It is regarded as a 5 star resort, with many reviews on trip advisor being exemplary. Firstly, anyone who raves about this place, I wonder if they have ever been to many other places. It is a big world out there with a very competitive tourism market and this property comes short on so many levels.
Our accommodation was at Le Palme which was the only accommodation choice for a family of 5 without compromising to interconnecting rooms.
The room, our first one we moved from after 1 night, was on a common thoroughfare so that your bedroom was 1 meter away from prying eyes. I complained to the reception that I did not wish to spend my holiday with the curtains closed.
Our new bungalow, although better located, was still very basic. Just scraping up to 3 stars.
It felt like a themed Mexican village out of the Truman Show. Very wealthy people stayed there (God knows why?) and seemed generally happy. The service in the main buffet restaurant was appalling even though the selection of food was varied and of a good quality. Service in Forte Grill was better. It just seemed like Groundhog day. Wake up, go to breakfast (no hot water, no milk, no spoons, no cutlery, no bacon left) go to the beach for a couple of hours, eat pizza, everything shuts for 3 to 4 hours, eat dinner....
The pools are dated, pool staff are arrogant, rude and could be overheard sniggering and talking about other guests at the pool. When something needed their attention they would look so put out.
My 2 year old daughter wouldn't stay at the kids club because my 4 and 6 year old would not stay there. It felt more like a baby creche and was not open any hours that would allow you to have dinner with your husband or some time out over lunch as it was closed.

Then the Chelsea Soccer Academy started - which is what we actually came here for to begin with. Two top level coaches fly out from England to run the camp. Their professionalism, good humour, and relationships they built with the children was so worth the rest of the debacle.

Essentially the low down is:

This resort is overpriced by about 30%
Your children will love it if they do one of the sports camps

Moral of the story - find a local sports camp for a third of the price and stay in the one of thousands of 5 star resorts around the world and feel totally pampered and relaxed. As you should after spending this much money.

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stillmuchmoretosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chiara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Palme, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank frusi559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Palme, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Palme, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita di Pula
0.1 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Bouganville
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Bou...
#5 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
293 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Castello
Hotel Il Castello
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Is Morus Relais
Is Morus Relais
#9 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
247 reviews
34.0 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,508 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forte Village Resort - Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forte Village Resort - Le Palme

Address: Loc. Forte VIllage, SS 195, Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range: $704 - $3,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forte Village Resort - Le Palme 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forte Village Resort - Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Village Resort - Le Palme Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing