We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Acres Retreat
Ranked #3 of 6 Johnson City B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We took a trip to Texas for the first time and spent a few days at the Hillside Acres Retreat. This place was truly amazing. The cabins were first class in every way. They were spotless, comfortable and beautifully rustic. They were designed with the smallest details considered to making our stay very comfortable and relaxing.

The grounds were kept up and even just sitting on the porch reading and listening to the birds was very enjoyable in and of itself.

The location was away from the hustle and bustle of the big cites but close enough to drive into nearby towns and enjoy local restaurants like the famous Salt Lick.

We rode through Johnson City and saw where President Johnson grew up and had his western white house. We also passed many vineyards as we took a day trip to Fredericksburg,a beautiful small town with terrific restaurants.

Just at the end of the road near the cabins was Perernalas State Park where we went hiking and spent time sunning and climbing of the rocks by the river.

This was a great stop and if we ever get back to Texas this will be a place we will stay and enjoy the quiet and attractions that we missed the first time around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newark-NJ-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Owner at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Sounds like you got to experience all that the Hill Country has to offer! Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Quiet, clean cabins. If you like to eat in or cook, the owner has thought of everything. There are even plastic baggies, aluminum foil, coffee, tea, basic spices, etc. A little far if from Fredricksburg, if you are planning on visiting, but close to to plenty of Hill Country attractions. Cell service is spotty at best, which might be a problem for some, but there is wi-fi available.

Overall, we loved our visit! The farm fresh eggs were great. The neighbors make a bit of noise, but their music (only on for a few minutes) didn't bother me, and you can't hear it in the cabin at all. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gin117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

We are glad you found our kitchens well-stocked. We do try and make sure our guests have all of the comforts of home with the luxury of a hotel. Our chickens have a lot of room to roam, and we agree than the eggs are delicious. Please come visit us again and we appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Three family members stayed in a Hillside Acres cabin in late October 2013. The cabins were extremely well equipped, we cooked and enjoyed several meals there. We also enjoyed cocktails, snacks, and sunset on the pool deck--too bad it was too cool to swim. We played frisbee golf, a real hoot. From Hillside we visited Pedernales Falls State Park, several vineyards close by, and drove via some back roads to Fredericksburg for their Wine and Food Festival. Our hosts found and mailed to us several items that we had left behind. We offered to pay for their trouble but they declined. We definitely will return to Hillside in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 6, one of the closer ones to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

Well thank you very kindly for your nice review. i love that you included local area attractions. It helps our potential guests have an idea of some things to do in the area. Please do come back... maybe next time during warmer weather, so you can enjoy the pool. We also now have 2 full-size bocce ball courts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We rented the whole property and spent close to $3000... The property was beautiful, the cabins were nice!

Unfortunately, the customer service is non existent. There were several controllable items that we brought to the attention of the owner and they refused to rectify the issues... I never write reviews, but I am so surprised by the lack of concern that I received from the owners.

We had family staying for 4 nights and 5 days in some of the cabins. The paperwork clearly states that if we have a need we should call. Well two days into the stay we needed some additional towels. We never got a returned call or linens. When I brought this up to the owner their response was that they are not a 24 hr hotel. I'm not picky, but we requested some new linens on a Friday during business hours- this is not out of the ordinary when they say they will provide additional linens if requested.

Second, we were celebrating our wedding and wanted to utilize their advertised BBQs on site. The BBQs were left filthy and unusable. My husband cleaned the BBQ area and disposed of the spoiled meat that was in the trash cans rotting from the last guests. The pits and utensils were so filthy that my husband drove an hour home to lug our personal BBQ and utensils to the cabins so we would be able to cook! Again, I brought this to the owners and they said they were on vacation and the customers before us left them in that condition. I work in customer service and I would NEVER blame a prior customer...

Lastly, they have very clear directions about the need to have paperwork on file with the office to use the swimming pool. In the 5 days we were there I made contact with ONE employee... And it was the landscaper. The office was never open to turn in the paperwork for us to use the entire facility! Again, I brought it up to the owner and they said the pool key was on our cabin key ring, but how would we know that and why would we break their rules of not having proper paperwork?

Very disappointed in the hospitality side of the property. I would not recommend for longer than a night and definitely not for something important like a wedding.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiehilltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the property and cabins overall, and would like to address some of the specific issues you have brought up. Our goal is to provide service levels beyond our guests’ expectations, and we had hoped to hear from you personally.

We have hosted many wedding groups, and receive lots of compliments. Most groups love the clean, relaxing cabins and the ability to connect with guests throughout the weekend, enjoying our on-site amenities and hill country ambiance. We know the value of making great memories during your wedding celebration, and we aim to please our guests.

New to our staff since November 2013 is our Chief Satisfaction Officer, Kim. She takes that title very seriously, and works with our guests as a concierge service and a direct contact. She provides every guest with her cell phone number and responds to questions, concerns and needs quickly, even during non-business hours.

On the dates of your particular stay, we did have a caretaker on site. She checked in with your family throughout the weekend. Everyone told her how much they thoroughly enjoyed the stay, and no one mentioned any problem with towels, BBQ’s or pool instructions. The only issue concerning the BBQ area was the vehicle and trailer parked in the “no access” area of the retreat, which you were asked to remove.

The BBQ pits- we aim to keep clean. It is a rare occasion that they are unchecked before new guests arrive, and I am sorry that they were not cleaned before your stay. The BBQ’s are self-cleaning, however- just turn the heat to high and scrape with the cleaning brush we provide. But for your inconvenience, please accept our sincere apologies.

We do provide additional towels every 3rd day, and can provide clean towels more often at the customer’s request. I am so sorry that your request was not taken seriously. Again, Kim is available now to respond quickly to needs while guests are staying with us. We also have started offering daily housekeeping within recent months, if requested.

We appreciate your business, and input and will act on your suggestions to improve our performance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

There are six cabins. The cabins are quite new and well equipped. They have tv dishwasher full kitchen coffee makers etc. There is frisbee golf, fishing, fire pit, lots of games around and a really nice pool area. If you are looking to relax this is a great place. The owners live near but not usually around after say 3. Make sure you have an access code for the gate and know where the key is if you are arriving late. Also this is very central for the wine country. One of the best places we have stayed

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcrosby1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We really appreciate it. Well-equipped, relaxing, and clean cabins is our goal... good to know that was your experience! We hope you can make it back to see us again. We have added 2 full-size bocce ball courts as a new on-site amenity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved it and would love to come back with a group. The grounds are still bring improved with a large pavilion in construction. The cabins were well-stocked and very new/clean with every item you would need. Be sure to bring your own food. A large area is available to grill. We practically didn't know others were here. Quiet, peaceful, slice of heaven!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shereetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2014

"Quiet, peaceful slice of heaven"- Well, thank you so much! When you come back with a group, make sure to mention you have stayed with us before. We would love to have you join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My family rented all 6 cabins for the weekend. Lets start off with how beautiful the cabins are! The inside is awesome. The wood floors, walls...beautiful! We were in cabin 4. All the cabins are 2 bedroom, 1 bath. The bathroom is broken into a shower w sink, a toilet w sink, and then a larger area w sink. Sine it is only 1 bath, the idea of splitting them room up was perfect! One bedroom had a queen and the other 2 twins. The cabin has wifi. I will warn you that sprint and Verizon are the only 2 carriers that get service. They have a landline in the pavilion if you need it.

The pool is completed and was nice, the pond--I didn't go down to. They have a pavilion that you can use, but believe there is a clean up fee for it. It has fridge, lots of tables, chairs, board games, tv...AND THE KEURIG! it was perfect for the big dinner we had on Friday night. They have a couple grills, both gas and charcoal, along w the utensils, and a fire pit.

The owner let us go get eggs from his chickens. I'm pretty sure we had around 2 dozen, and we cooked them for breakfast one sat morning. The kitchen is fully stocked w everything you could possibly need, just bring your own food and drink! They had shampoo, conditioner, body wash, extra toothbrushes...even ponds faces wipes for the ladies! Iron and hair dryer as well are there.

Service is great. One of the cabins a/c was broken and they had a tech out the next morning to fix it. Beds are comfy as well. This is the country though, so make sure you have boots because they do have scorpions. I didn't find any in the cabin which was great, but we did see a couple outside...again being the country it didn't surprise me.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this resort for a family gathering.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank CBunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to utilize the entire facility. The bathrooms are specifically designed with our guests in mind. Unlike a typical hotel bathroom, they are split up so that more than 1 person can use them with privacy. It is true that in the hill country, the cell phone service can be spotty. Every cell phone carrier works at the entry gate, and we also have a public phone that is centrally located that can make calls to anywhere in the US.

The pavilion rents for a small usage fee, and our current rates are on our website under the reserve for groups tab.

Many people love to go and collect the eggs, and we now make them available on our reservation site. That is awesome that you gathered 2 dozen! The girls were having a good day. Sometimes they don’t give us as many, especially during the winter months… production goes down.

I am glad to know your service was great and that you would “definitely recommend this resort for a family gathering.” We would love to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnson City
12.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Springs
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Spri...
#1 of 3 in Dripping Springs
156 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
333 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Johnson City Inn
Best Western Johnson City Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnson City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mt Gainor Inn
Mt Gainor Inn
#1 of 5 in Dripping Springs
145 reviews
23.0 mi away
Horseshoe Bay Resort
Horseshoe Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Horseshoe Bay
827 reviews
6.7 mi away
Camp Lucy
Camp Lucy
#2 of 5 in Dripping Springs
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Acres Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Acres Retreat

Address: 4032 Ranch Road 3232, Johnson City, TX 78636
Location: United States > Texas > Johnson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Johnson City
Price Range: $231 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the traveler who wants the luxury of a hotel, but the comforts of home. Hillside Acres Retreat was established to provide the perfect luxury cabin getaway location. Cabins are about 800 sq-ft and have TWO BEDROOMS. The retreat is a place where you can experience unparalleled hospitality, great facilities, and outstanding lodging in a relaxing unhurried environment. It is the perfect starting point for your Hill Country Adventure or wine tour. On-site amenities- Fishing pond Swimming Pool Fire Pit Horseshoes Bocce Ball- 2 full courts 9-Hole Disc Golf Volleyball Badminton Wet Weather creek- Flat Creek Farm experience- Feed chickens and gather eggs Dining pavilion and large family room available for rent ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing