We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place with fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chantilly Lace Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Johnson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet place with fantastic food”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Chantilly Lace Country Inn.

We stayed in the 'Taste of Country' room, an upstairs room in the main house with access to the front porch. It was the largest of any B&B room we have stayed in! Plenty of room for a comfortable king-size bed, as well as a sofa, bar fridge and microwave, a small table with two chairs, TV (with DISH), a large armoire, and a cheval mirror. The bathroom was also spacious with a tub, separate shower, a long double vanity and also a closet with shelving and a place to put your luggage (and it also contained two cozy robes for guest use). Both the room and bathroom were clean and inviting.

Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. Probably our favourite part of our stay was the food!! Sylvia is a fantastic cook! Breakfast on the first morning consisted of fruit parfait followed by apple and whole grain pancakes with a cheese omelet. On the second morning we were treated to a baked peach half and Eggs Florentine with mini muffins and fresh biscuits!! We also had dinner on Saturday night, and were very impressed with the stuffed pork chop (which weighed about 1lb!) and the filet, served with asparagus and sweet potato mash. The tiramisu was one of the best I've had!

I also really liked the goat's milk soaps that are handmade by Sylivia, of which there were a couple of small bars in our bathroom. I liked them so much that I purchased some to bring home, and also sent a couple to family in Australia. They have them available for purchase in the small gift shop inside the main house. My favourite is the Oatmeal and Honey one, but all of them smell great!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room, the 'Taste of Country' is upstairs in the main house, as is I believe the Rose Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
48
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The gourmet breakfast was excellent and the owners were very nice and accommodating. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlaholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clsoaps, Owner at Chantilly Lace Country Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so very much. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. We believe that breakfast is what makes " bed and breakfast " and it gives us great satisfaction to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Lavender fields on the side, butterfly and hummingbird garden in the back, other gardens all around, and outstanding breakfasts. Rooms and cabins are impeccable, and you can arrange for a gourmet meal at lunch or in the evening with reservations, if you wish. Proprietors are very welcoming. And yes, they have a fainting goat. Lavender products for sale in the small gift shop. Actually in Johnson City but has the feel of being totally in the country. Great place to stay to enjoy all the attractions in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royan17200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clsoaps, Owner at Chantilly Lace Country Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our country inn. It is very satisfying to here from our guest.
I'm happy that you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay. If we can be of service to you in the future it will be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Rooms were spacious, extra clean, then the memiorable breakfast with great conversations with guests & the Inn's owner's. Thank you for simple pleasures of feeling pampered!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clsoaps, Owner at Chantilly Lace Country Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you ,I am very pleased that you felt pampered ,thats what we want. We want your stay here to be special and we try to do everything possible to assure that happens. We are so fortunate to have wonderful guest like you. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Chantilly Lace and Johnson City were the perfect GET-AWAY weekend! I love Fredericksburg, but you have to admit, it's hustly and bustly with tourists on weekends. Chantilly Lace is a beautiful place, and Porter & Sylvia, the proprietors, have done an amazing job with their bird-magnet gardens! The grounds were lovely despite the loss of their lavender fields from last summer's drought.

We stayed in the Lavender Cabin so we could have some true privacy, and it was PERFECT. Spacious, comfy, quiet, very attractive. We stayed in one evening and just walked the grounds and had a bottle of wine on the front porch swing. Just the perfect getaway. Breakfasts were very good and incredibly generous! Porter & Sylvia were very kind, friendly hosts, without being intrusive.

The only thing I would warn is not to be put off by the location -- it seems to be surrounded by county (or city) facilities, with a ballpark and public pool across the street and an equipment storage (pipes, large tractors, etc.) next door. Once you're on the property, though, you don't know the difference.

I'd also HIGHLY recommend the LBJ Ranch (see reviews) and the Pecan Street Brewing restaurant & pub in JC (see reviews). And, of course, the reason for our trip: good music (plan your trip around the music!) in Luckenbach!

Room Tip: If you want total privacy, go for one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchenDeFlorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clsoaps, Owner at Chantilly Lace Country Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for all your kind remarks. It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us. Our greatest desire is for our guest to enjoy the peace ,quite and comfort of our place as well as the food. People like you make this a joy to serve.

Thanks
Porter & Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just spent the weekend here with another couple, had the upstairs all to ourselves and both rooms had attached "side rooms" that made these the biggest B&B rooms we have ever experienced and were great for hanging out playing games or watching tv/reading while significant other is napping/sleeping. King beds were super comfortable and great location. Breakfast was enough to stuff anyone one...and delicious. Owner is gluten intolerant as is my wife and she made everything gluten free for my wife who said it was excellent....just let her know it ahead of time. Huge porch upstairs was bug free and great area to relax and enjoy the cool of the evening.

Room Tip: both upstairs rooms were excellent...just ask the names i forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pweddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice stroll thru park to town. B&B has lovely upper porch & sunny garden room for breakfast. Only neg comment: proprietor should keep his negative politics to himself. Did not appreciate hearing his conplaints over breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t38ms1lv3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnson City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Johnson City Inn
Best Western Johnson City Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Marble Falls
20.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marble Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Blanco Luxury Inn & Suites
23.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Springs
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Spri...
#1 of 2 in Dripping Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Marble Falls-On The Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantilly Lace Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantilly Lace Country Inn

Property: Chantilly Lace Country Inn
Address: 625 N Nugent Ave, Johnson City, TX 78636-4305
Location: United States > Texas > Johnson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chantilly Lace Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the crossroads of the hill country with wine trails, art galleries and antique shops. The inn offers six acreas of beautiful butterfly gardens. Located in the middle of a small town, the inn offers a beautiful setting for relaxing outdoors. Winding paths lead to private benches, perfect for enjoying tea of quiet reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Chantilly Lace Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing