We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel, but you'll need a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocce Sarde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocce Sarde Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, but you'll need a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

The hotel lived up to the good reviews i'd read and we had a great stay. The hotel is set in the side of a granite hill with outstanding views to the sea. The gardens are terraced with the pool being set amongst olive trees so you can relax in the sun or the shade. The poolside bar serves snacks, salads and drinks up until midnight plus there is live music every night.

The rooms were comfy, very clean and air conditioned. The staff were courteous and plentiful but if you take the trouble to learn a little Italian, it goes a long way. In this particular region of Sardinia it is just as well to practise your Italian as English is not so widely spoken.

The food was of an excellent standard with a four course evening meal. Being a mediterranean island, expect at least one course to feature a tentacled sea creature.

The only 2 negative things I would say are that you will need a car as the hotel is in quite a remote location and also that it is not cheap. To be fair it is not a cheap island and being on the edge of the Costa Smeralda you would not expect it to be.

So, to recap, for a relaxing, family friendly holiday in Sardinia, I would recommend the Rocce Sarde.

  • Liked — The location and the food
  • Disliked — Lack of local amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — hire a car!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Pixelhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    51
    17
    13
    2
See reviews for
43
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed at Rocce Sarde Hotel two times a couple of years ago - it was rated a 3 star hotel then, and we absolutely loved it. The rate / quality relation was excellent, the food was outstanding from a breakfast buffet with champagne and any extras for free to absolutely delicious cuisine for dinner. The rooms were nothing extraordinary, but well kept and nicely furbished. As we did some bicyle tours, we had brought our bikes with us, and as one of them had been stolen in Verona, I used one of the perfectly entertained hotel bikes. Excursions to neighbour islands with the hotel boad were free (!!!). In fact, it was a 4 star hotel at 3 star rates.

When we returned last year, we were QUITE disappointed: Meanwhile the hotel was rated 4 stars, and so were the rates! Unfortunately, the quality was by far not as good as a couple of years ago. The room we had was smaller than the one we had a couple of years ago, which was not a problem, but the smell in the bath room coming out of the water conduits was horrible, and it was quite noisy as it was near the reception.

The breakfast buffet was quite poor, and you had to pay for any extras like eggs, etc. Dinner was still not too bad but it was quite average, and two times we had to return a dish because it just was not eatable.

As the hotel bikes had been in a perfect state a couple of years ago, we did not bring our bikes with us - unfortunately, the hotel bikes were in such a poor condition that it was dangerous to use them.

The hotel still has its own boat, but the trips are by far too expensive!

Fortunately the staff was friendly as always, but we were told that the friendly sicilian director had sold the hotel, and our impression was that the new management is just trying to profit from the good reputation of the hotel without doing anything to maintain it. What a pity! We really loved this hotel when we stayed there the first two times, but we must say that we cannot recommend it and shall not return there after our experiences last year.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank truffaldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2006

Booked this hotel for 3 nights half board largely off the back of these complimentary reviews. I have to be honest and say my experiences left me wondering if we were talking about the same hotel. First with the plus points - rooms are clean and comfy, the staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and the setting of the hotel carved out amongst the granite mountains is truly spectacular. On the down side, I have to say that the food - which the Rocce Sarde's corporate owners - the Charm e Relax group claim is the outstanding feature of all their hotels is disappointingly inconsistent. On the one hand, our first meal was the special weekly traditional Sardinian meal of a roast suckling pig and their Seadas pastry desserts was outstanding (which for a 7 euro additional charge is well worth it). It's just a shame that the rest of the food was so hit and miss. Breakfast is by far the biggest bug-bear. For the amount you pay the Rocce Sarde buffet breakfast is a tight-fisted insult. Coffee is from a self-service Nescafe machine, the bread is hard as a rock and the various "fruit juices" seem to have more sugar than a can of Coke. And if you want bacon or scrambled eggs you have to pay 6 euros extra. I've had better value in a Travelodge. Both dinner and bkreafast are served in a rather depressing and dated looking dining hall which admittedly has an impressive view down to the sea. However, the whole layout of it makes the environment seem more like a packed Welcome Break service station than a plush four star hotel.

In summary - I suspect there are better hotels around this part of Sardinia for the same amount of money. My view is that the owners are relying too much on the genuinely impressive setting at the expense of the more basic service elements such as consistently good food. I know that many of these reports have suggested that it's one of their strengths but I can only suggest that they haven't experienced just how good Sardinian food can be in any of the restaurants in the nearby town of San Pantaleo that we ended up going to instead of our inclusive dinner.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — the food - especially breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank mxlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

Returned from 2 weeks staying at the Rocce Sarde Hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was simply furnished but clean and linens and towels changed daily. It is well worth paying extra for a sea view and balcony.
Food was of a high standard and pre dinner aperitifs are served in the garden.
The large pool was clean and regularly maintained with a lifeguard on duty each day. There were plenty of sunloungers and towels available. However there is a steep path and cobbled steps down to the pool area although there is a disabled access available.
The hotel is situated in beautiful countryside but it is quite isolated with the nearest village being 2.5km away. Hire of a car is desirable as taxis are expensive (40euros one way to Porto Cervo)
We had booked directly with the hotel and found them to be extremely efficient in dealing with our booking as well as being substantially less expensive than booking it through a holiday company or other internet booking sites. It is well worth considering the full board option at 10Euros per day even if you only have one or two courses as eating out is expensive and the pool bar only has a limited menu of panninis and salads which work out more expensive that the four course lunch in the restaurant. As an alternative the hotel will also provide an excellent packed lunch if you are going to the beach.
We would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing a quiet, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Liked — Locatioon, cleanliness and pool
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Tips/Secrets — Book direct with hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gorjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

Rocce Sarde is a decent hotel with a stunning view. We stayed for 5 nights in July 2006. Our stay started off poorly when we found our room to have broken air conditioning and a broken ceiling fan with temperatures in the mid 30s! The first receptionist we spoke too was dismissive, telling us it would be sorted "maybe today, maybe tomorrow", and when we asked if there was a portable fan available just said "No!". Luckily when we went back in later this receptionist was no longer present, and the two who were now on understood that this wasn't acceptable, tried their best to get it sorted, and when they couldn't got us a portable fan installed very quickly which made the room bearable. The air con was sorted out the next day (although the ceiling fan never did get fixed).
However after the first day's shenanigans, the stay turned out to be very enjoyable, with a nice pool and food which (although average on the first day) was very enjoyable for the rest of out stay. The view from the restaurant and from the terrace outside out room was something you'd never bore of.
The hotel is a couple of miles away from the closest village, so if you want to be able to pop there and don't fancy a fairly lengthy walk back along a busy road with no real pavement up hill I'd recommend hiring a car.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DXMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

The hotel was as expected with all the previous reviews I had read ;it is a really pretty hotel with a moorish touch.We had a sea view balcony which was worth every penny extra.We also took the half board option and for (£20 extra) each evening we got a 5 course meal which I have to say was fantastic value.There are alot of cobbly stairs to and from the pool area so if you have buggies as we did , my husband did end up getting saddled up with all the baby stuff.

It is vital you get a hire care incuded in your package as you are in the middle of the hills and its good to get to those lovely beaches.Beware in porto coevo dont get burnt with the over priced beverages (8 euros for a coke) not all the area is as rediculous as this but Im sure they put the price up to create an exclusivitiy to the area.

All in all a good holiday choice however I will be looking to go nearer the sea next time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Minky67sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

I see someone else reviewed the hotel and stayed there at the same time as us - i agree almost entirely with what is written so wont repeat it all.

A few things to add then
- take the half board option its much cheaper than paying for the food which by the way was really excellent. The restaurant was a real treat to look forward to each evening but totally agree with the verdict on suckling pig in the woods!
- the bar prices are steep compared to other places in the med (coke €2.50 beer €4 except for coffee €1 ) but this reflects Costa Smerelda generally so if you like your booze this isnt the place for you. I have to confess we tripped down and bought a stack of coke and beer and kept it in the fridge in the room (there's a confession!) and brought it down to the pool, no one seemed to mind. The bar seemed very unused for obvious reasons. On the other hand i guess this is a good place if you want a quiet evening! (maybe thats the strategy of the hotel)
- a car is absolutely essential . The roads are well kept but can be quite busy in July and August. You really need a car or boat since Sardinia oozes with fab beaches but theres not much else . with a car you can waz off wherever each day. Mountain bikes would also be good but not in the heat of day.
- we thought the staff were very professional and really made an effort for us which is a great feeling to have.
- unlike most places we were able to book just a few nights which is great if you want to design a 10 day holiday which is what we prefer.

Would definitely go back especially for the food!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
22 Thank sailork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
4.4 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
8.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.4 mi away
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Li Graniti
Hotel Li Graniti
#7 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
Hotel Parco degli Ulivi
#1 of 75 in Arzachena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Arathena
Hotel Arathena
#2 of 5 in San Pantaleo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocce Sarde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocce Sarde Hotel

Property: Rocce Sarde Hotel
Address: Via Alle Fonti | Localita Milmeggiu, 07020 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocce Sarde Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocce Sarde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rocce Sarde
Rocce Sarde San Pantaleo
Rocce Sarde Hotel San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing