We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Segreta Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fabulous place, quiet and relaxing. Understated luxury with very interesting interior design. The views are incredible. It is everything it claims to be and more but obviously at a price. It's got pride of place on a hill top with views forever so therefore it's a bit of a drive in and out every day on a winding dirt road but definitely worth it. It's about 15mins to Costa Smeralda. We did it in an average hire car but make sure you have a bit of power for the uphill. The restaurant is magnificent and the food is six star! It is a perfect four day break, maybe combined with something cheaper by the sea. It is a place I would love to return to!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenaKayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 317 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very relaxed and calm place. Our junior suite was very cute and had an amazing view from the windows and the little garden. Very nice mix between stones and wood at the whole place. I agree that it would be pretty overpriced if you pay the real price...what we didnt ;-). Pool area is beautiful, breakfast good. The street is kind of wild, so it wasnt a good idea to rent the smallest italian car :-). We can not agree that the service people where unfriendly. Internet was poor in the rooms but it was almost a shame to use a laptop at this place anyway...! If you need a time out and can get a good deal in the low season its a total go!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ToDa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca G, General Manager at Petra Segreta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear ToDa 2012,

thank you very much for your comments, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sorry for Internet, there was a little problem in the rooms connection, but we have fixed it.

As for the road it will be brand new in January, so no more troubles to get to us.

Hoping to welcome you again at Petra Segreta Resort & Spa, please accept

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Petra Segrata is a little haven nestling in the hills above Sardinia's emerald coast. It is a lovely romantic place to stay to get away from it all but we went with our two teenage children. They each had a junior suite and we stayed in a luxury suite with our own little plunge pool. The views from all rooms were breathtaking. The rooms very tasteful and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was outstanding from the lovely buffet breakfasts, to relaxed lunches to sumptious dinners. I would highly recommend this luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca G, General Manager at Petra Segreta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Angie,

I would like to thank you so much for these nice words about us.

It has been a real pleasure to welcome all your familiy and I really hope to have the possibility to meet you again.

The serenity and happiness of all yhour family have given us for all the two weeks you spent at Petra Segreta Resort a wonderful example of how it should be.

Wishing you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed right in the middle of the high season and were not disappointed. The grounds are very beautiful and setting is relaxed. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. Although expensive it was a pleasant stay and I really couldn't fault the resort or amenities.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca G, General Manager at Petra Segreta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Andrew,

thank you very much for your feedback.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay wth us and really hope to welcome you again at the Petra Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The review says it all 'average' - this is full of hype and great website photos but is really disappointing for the price (and we stayed off-peak!). I would expect more from a 'getting away from it all' wellness resort than a tiny steam room (for 2 people), tiny sauna (that was never hot enough) and aromatic showers (basically normal showers with a few jets that never worked). You also had to book them as they only opened between 4&6pm...
The pool is supposed to be a 'outdoor heated swimming pool with jets' - it was cold and without jets..
The small details were missing..the shampoo etc in the bathrooms were cheap (you'd expect something more natural and premium), the tea/coffee selected looked like they had been sitting there for 2 months and the rooms were really dark..the service was mixed - Claudia was lovely and really helpful as was Daniel when we arrived..

good bits?..the massages, the views, the nearby village (we would stay in the village next time at Hotel Sant'Andrea - better value, better service and food)..the decor in the main house was impressive..

all in all sadly didn't live up to expectations and we wouldn't go again or recommend it- we stayed for 7 nights and wish we had stayed in the village instead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca G, General Manager at Petra Segreta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Cathy,

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I thank you for all the suggestions you give us, this will help to improve.

Yet there are some points I would like to clearify :

the turkish bath and the sauna are for six people per time, we only have 23 rooms ....

It is true that we recommend reservations, but this is to try to give a privacy feeling to our guests.

I just want to remember that we do offer Turkish Bath, Roman Sauna and Emotional Showers free of charge to all our guests.

As for Sauna temperature, I am sorry it did not reach your expectaction, but this the temperature of a Roman Sauna...

You are right about emotional showers: there has been a technical problem durig your stay and they were not working in a proper way. As soon as we knew we called the assistance for that.

Pool temperature : from 21 to 23 degrees every day.. we just leave a floating thermometer inside. Considering it is an open pool it seems to me that this could be a reasonable temperature. We had some other guests during your stay bathing and enjoying it every day.

I really do not understand your criticism about shampoo and soaps : we do have in all our bathrooms ETRO, a very well known first class product, not anonynous ones.

As for tea and coffee again : we do offer complimentary use in all our room of tea and coffee, and thanks to a very high occupancy, we do change filters daily.

I thank you anyway for your comments, and be sure we will try to give our customers an always better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed her with a friend for 6 nights a couple of weeks ago.
Good points:
- beautiful hotel with lovely landscaped grounds and tasteful decor (neutral shades, rustic feel)
- room was simple but again tastefully decorated, very clean and very comfortable. Requested twin room - two single beds, no problem getting this sorted out prior to arrival.
- very quiet ( off peak)
- fantastic staff (especially Daniel the manager and Soon, head waiter) for whom nothing a problem. Always very polite, very helpful.
- fab breakfast - buffet style - more than enough to set you up for day
- restaurant - beautiful setting, especially view over terrace and bay in distance with very high standard of food
- very romantic although had gone for relaxing break with a female friend - did not feel odd being literally only non-couple although guess is also a spa resort (although didn't test out spa itself) so not totally for the honeymoon brigade

Slightly negative things:
- the restaurant isn't that great on choice for vegetarians (as in many restaurants all over the world) and menu is fixed so even less choice if eating there every night. Will happily rustle up something vegetarian and pasta- based if asked though.
- the dirt track road is 1.5 to 2km down from the hotel to the village of San Pantaleo . Will only say it is "slightly negative" - sure it's not the easiest drive for about 5 mins and not the best possibly for hire cars but take it slowly and surely and you'll get to the other end in one piece. Plenty of Fiat 500s in hotel car park showed it was do-able. Believe me - far worse driving in London.

Negative things:
- cannot escape fact that hotel and restarant are very expensive. Certainly if you really really can't face that dirt track road in the dark, the hotel restaurant is your only option which would be expensive albeit lovely if staying for a few nights

Good restaurants - pizzeria in S.P. -cheap, cheerful and very very good - hence busy. Also - Belvedere fish restaurant - awesome for fish eaters (according to my friend) and surprisingly good for veggies too. Pretty expensive but good.

Porto Cervo - maybe unfair to comment as off peak but not that impressive - bit Eurotrash- y and really not that exciting.

Beaches on Costa Smerelda - pretty but busy and will get pestered by hawkers every ten minutes. In the end. just stayed at hotel and lounged in peace and quiet by hotel pool - much much nicer

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marium22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I really cannot beleive that ec1jones was staying at the same hotel. We loved it! We had booked a junior suite in case the weather was poor, in fact very good for most of our week. The room, 306, was beautiful, with a stunning terrace that looked across the mountains and the bay of Cannigione. It was always so peaceful and quiet, I have rarely slept so well in a hotel.

We had a lovely welcome from Claudia and Luigi and the two West Highland White terriers who were often around the grounds, giving the hotel the feel of a well loved family home. All the guests enjoyed playing with them, and laughing at their antics around the swimming pool. I am too much of a wimp to go swimming unless the sea is very warm but my husband and many other guests thoroghly enjoyed their use of the pool so it can't have been too cold.

The drive up to the hotel takes 5 minutes and just needs a steady approach - if you are used to English country lanes, no problem. It is rough but we had the lowest grade car and were fine. We also enjoyed walking the lane to San Panteleone, 1/2 hour, and pottering around the village and having coffee overlooking the church square - more hospitable dogs around.

The decor of the hotel is cool, clean and uncluttered with many personal touches of paintings, books and interesting objet's d'art. It was beautifully maintained and very stylish.

The staff were delightufl - all of them! Daniel and Claudia were always ready to help, advising places to go etc. The waiting staff had a nice balance of friendliness and professionalism, and the housekeeping staff never failed to say 'hallo' whenever you met them.

The food is a particular, quite 'nouvelle', style which has some unusual touches, Luigi likes to experiment, and we were very happy with most of our food experiences. We didn't bother about a cooked breakfast after one try, but thoroughly enjoyed the range of cold buffet choice. We enjoyed the evening ambience so much we never bothered to go anywhere else, although we had planned to go out a few times originally. We usually ate lunch there as well!

i had two massages which ranked amongst the best I have ever had.

Yes, it is quite expensive, but we felt that it was worth every penny and would go back again very happily. We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and this is definitely up there as one of the favourites.

Room Tip: 306 was perfect for good or poor weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardener0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
126.5 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
7.3 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
133.6 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#1 of 16 in La Maddalena
593 reviews
7 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
8.1 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Segreta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Segreta Resort & Spa

Address: Via Buddeu Snc, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range: $235 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Segreta Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden refuge, naturally inspired. Hidden amongst the hills of San Pantaleo, overlooking the Costa Smeralda, Petra Segreta Resort offers the perfect combination of tranquil country charm with the five-star service of a Relais & Chateaux property. Nestled at the heart of five hectares of Mediterranean vegetation, amid essences of myrtle, mastic and juniper, the hotel offers an elegant club-house with welcoming rooms warmed in springtime by open fires, a bar with large windows overlooking the sea, restaurants Il Fuoco Sacro and L’Osteria del Mirto and, set a little apart, the wellness area and pool. The estate hosts 23 rooms and suites (including five with private heated pools) inspired by the traditional Gallura stazzi - the low, stone buildings typical of the region – and offering beautiful views over the La Maddalena archipelago. The interior design of the rooms and common areas creates peaceful spaces, with Sardinian ornaments set alongside souvenirs from trips to eastern lands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Segreta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Segreta Hotel San Pantaleo
Petra Segreta Resort And Spa
Petra Segreta Resort & Spa San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing