We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on a great island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Rotondo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel on a great island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location: First of all, Sardinia is a fairly large island, so I highly recommend getting a car; its so much easier to go beach hopping and truly explore the beauty here. If you do not have a car, I would not recommend staying at this hotel because its a bit far from Porto Rotundo and its restaurants/bars (not walkable unless you REALLY LOVE walking) . We saw people in our hotel w/o cars who had taxi's arranged for dinners and beaches...seemed like a hassle to me. If you DO rent a car (we were able to rent one for only EUR 16 per day so very easy/affordable), then I highly recommend this hotel's location as its a bit tucked away from town, is a large and gorgeously kept property right off the Golfo di Marinella, close 10-15min drive to several v. nice beaches (Marinella, some along Golfo Aranci), and has a pool as well as a small private beach on the property which is very convenient.

Rooms: We had a junior suite with a seaside view for a very reasonable price and we loved it! Room was very large, clean and comfortable with a decend sized bathroom/shower. The property is very large and it seems there is a lot of different size/kinds of rooms (some with balconies, some sea facing, some with garden furniture, etc) - so maybe you can request for specifically what you want.

Service: Overall friendly and helpful staff, we got several restaurant recommendations from the nice lady at the front desk, all of which we loved. Not everyone spoke great English but we were able to communicate just fine for the most part. The free breakfast was OK (cereal, croissants, yogurt, some fruit, rolls, cheese/cold meats) but could be improved - i.e. open later than 10AM (that is very early to wake up while you are on holiday!), have some more variety (esp some hot foods), better juices (fresh and not weird syrupy ones), etc. We did discover after 3 days that they serve hot breakfast (i.e. scrambled eggs, omletes, bacon, etc) that you can order separately from a waiter free of charge -- this was not communicated and we would have taken more advantage of this had we known earlier! We didn't stay for lunch or dinner any night as the menu seemed a little expensive and not of huge variety.

Overall: Can't speak for the busy summer months when it may be more expensive, but we thought this hotel was a great value for a week in September. The property is very well maintained and was everything we were looking for in terms of a relaxing holiday in the sun.

Room Tip: Lots and lots of steps to some rooms, may want to request one closer to the reception / pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    67
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
43
91
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed here at the end of Sept as a gift for our honeymoon. It was a week timeshare but we only stayed three days. First of all, if you aren't prepared to spend a lot of money, do not go to Sardinia. Although beautiful, it is very expensive.
The hotel is not in Porto Rotondo but about 3 miles from the town. If you do not have car(which we did not) it is difficult to get anywhere. Taxi's are expensive to walk 6 miles(there and back) everyday for a meal is a little much for us anyway. The food at the hotel was overpriced and not good. Lunch was 40 Euro for the two of us and consisted of meatballs, mullet, and salad. Dinner was the same price but the food was even worse. More mullet, pasta with whole crab shells mixed in, strange salads, and weird meats.
The hotel beds are not very comfortable but they weren't the worst we stayed in.
The pool is nice(cold salt water) and the beach area was ok.
We decided to leave early on the ferry and beware of the time schedule. They cancelled the morning ferry for no reason and we had to wait for the next one which took 7 1/2 hours to get to the mainland.
I wasn't impressed with this hotel or Sardinia. Maybe if I had a lot of money and would have enjoyed it more.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The food and location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank catepillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

i stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a junior suite with my sister, we had a lovely view and the room was lovely. we stayed on half board and were very happy with the food. nice walks to local beaches and went into porto rotunda with a taxi. i recommend a day boat trip around local islands north of sardinia from porto rotondo. the weather was extremely hot but plenty of shade. stayed between 19.06-22.06.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishgirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

I stayed in two rooms during my stay. The 1st one was a double water view. The rooms are pretty simple, but spotless and have a nice view. The bathroom was nice and the shower worked very well.
It had a porch with a couple of chairs and a table.
I moved to a water view suite when my girlfriend arrived. It was above my 1st room. It had a better view because of it's height and was larger with a sitting area and a nice balcony.
The rooms are simple but nice. You can't beat the views.
Our rate was B&B so we usually ate breakfast there. It was a typical European breakfast. The dining room had a nice view of a small inlet and the surrounding mountains. We never ate dinner there because of the previous reviews here. Most of the restaurants nearby were very similar (pizza or pasta and seafood). We didn't have a bad meal during our stay.
We didn't find an employee that was fluent in English, but we got by. It would have been nice to have a little help with local travel planning while we were there.
Overall we had a very nice stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.
I booked the rooms on the hotel website. The rates were very good for the area.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — Bad music at the bar in the afternoon.
  • Tips/Secrets — If spending a week in Sardinia stay at a couple of hotels.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rjslatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

We went for a 10 day holiday at the end of May. We flew into Olbia and rented a car to get us to the hotel. This proved to be a good idea as the hotel is not really walking distance from anything. It is at the bottom of a 100m steep hill!
We asked for a room with a garden view under the impression that it was the cheaper alternative to the sea view. On arrival we found that the hotel offer only sea views and 'other rooms'. Not much cop!
Anyway, on discussion with the reception staff it was worked out and we were allocated 2 rooms with a sea view at no extra cost, but a mid-week move.
The rooms were pleasant, clean and air conditioned which was good.
Breakfast was the best meal in the hotel, with lunch a close second. If you go room only then i would strongly advise buying something from the supermarket down the town; and i certainly wouldn't go full board. Evening meal was a real disappointment. Pretentious service and food that could have been prepared by the cleaner! However, the young lady who served at the bar was a real star. She made everyone feel welcome, could remeber you as individual guests and suggested drinks we had never tried but thoroughly enjoyed. She alone made our experience with the hotel a positive one.
Porto Rotundo and the Costa Smerelda were beautiful and well worth the visit if a little pricey. It is not really on the tourist circuit so a good few words of Italian would be a very wise idea.
Would we go back? Yes the place is beautiful, but it was expensive and the food was not what we had hoped for. We would probably look for somewhere else in the locality.
Finally, avoid the Sardinian meal - my wife ended up with a real 'pigs ear' on her plate!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Awfulx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

We had two weeks here in May/June with mixed weather - I think Sardinia has had an unusual Spring with unsettled conditions. The hotel is fine, fantastic location near to Porto Rotondo. A bit isolated if you don't have a car. We did, and spent mornings on the hotel's private beach and afternoons sightseeing on the fabulous Costa Smerelda. The staff speak little English but then why should they? This is not a package tour hotel, mainly Italian clientele but other Europeans and the odd American guest as well. The staff are pleasant and helpful, language not a problem provided you don't want to discuss philosophy! Restaurant OK once you grasp the menu whereby the starter is followed by the first course of pasta followed by a meat or fish dish and then sweet. Some nights the timelapse between courses was a tad long other nights it wasn't. At a low season price of 20 Euro PP it was good value, this goes up to 30 Euro in high season. All in all we had a good experience here and would not hestitate to recommend it to others. One small gripe. They allow dogs to stay. We had a couple of nights with a pair of yappy dogs next door.

We flew out with Ryanair(never again-- don't ask, its still too painful!) to Alghero. A better bet would have been Easyjet to Olbia.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scaredycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

We stayed at the beginning of May this year, and can I say the hotel was second to none. It is in a beautiful setting and the views were fantastic. We had BB and we ate in the hotel two out of three nights. The menu has the traditional italian "antipasti" which was usually a selection of fish, beautiful then a starter choice of three and a main, choice of three and then dessert. The wine started at around 14 euros and the bottle we had a that price was fine! The evening meal was 20 euros, which I think was excellent value for money! The staff spoke very little english, but were very attentive and polite, in fact I went from no Italian to being able to order a taxi over the phone in italian! Not bad eh! They serve lovely cocktails and I would recommend "enzo's especiale". The entertainment in the evening was very nice, there was a pleasant man singing and it wasn't "too in your face". The private beach is small, but in May it was perfect the weather was beautiful and although the location is very much out of the way, you can get a taxi to Porto Rotondo for 10 - 15 euros, in fact we ended up with a tab running with the cab firm, who were lovely people too! They stopped at the supermarket for us to pick up some drinks etc. So far as Porto Rotondo is concerned, well it was very pretencious, we paid 8 euros for a gin and tonic on the marina front! Thought that was a bit steep, but I suppose it is only London prices! It is nice to look round and there are some lovely shops but things are rather pricey! We ate on the second night at a fantastic restaurant, just up from the marina called "Il Portico" we had a lovely meal with wine and liquors after for just under £30 a head, which I thought was excellent and the service was fantastic!

So as you can see we had a lovely holiday and I would certainly recommend the hotel for a get away from it all break, we went for 4 days and 3 nights and it felt like a week away, highly recommended.! One word of warning though, if you don't like fish, beware the italians do like their fish, so did I for that matter!

Enjoy!

Kathy

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Rotondo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel S'Astore
Hotel S'Astore
#2 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
144.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
8.6 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo

Property: Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo
Address: Via della Marina 52, 07026 Porto Rotondo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Porto Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Porto Rotondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among a lush vegetation between the Mediterranean greenery and the crystal blue sea, hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo is a quiet, luxurious resort where nature reigns supreme. A simple but refined architecture, well harmonized in its context, built with natural materials and surrounded by patios and flower gardens that welcome the guests in search of intimacy and relax Situated in the Gulf of Marinella and very close to the famous locality of Porto Rotondo, this unique resort combines the calmness of the location with the proximity of the well-know trendy places of the island's society The hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo provides large rooms overlooking the sea, an elegant and sinuous pool, lawns that gently drift to the sea. The exclusive private marine area "Porto Oro" which represents the crown jewel of the property, can receive yachts up to 15 meters length and also arrange tours in boat or raft (this services are in outbound, and subject to availability) to discover the beautiful bays of the coast or for an offshore swim . To complete the proposal of this exclusive resort: the lounge bar, the spa with a massage room for beauty treatments and gym, the beauty shop and the private beach, a soccer and tennis court and a lovely little bay sheltered from all frenzy A marina with 45 berths for yachts up to 15 meters, complete with services for mooring, restaurant, beach club. A little gem in the heart of the Emerald Coast for the lovers of sea and sailing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Palumbalza Hotel Porto Rotondo
Domina Hotel Porto Rotondo
Domina Hotel Palumbalza
Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing