We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food in a gloriously rustic setting”
Review of Pedristellas

Pedristellas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant food in a gloriously rustic setting”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having scoured Porto Rotondo , Sardinia for something with some character ,we had given up and were driving home-about a mile or so out of town we saw a sign post featuring photos of outdoor candlelit tables set amid olive tress and giant boulders. We ventured in and I am so pleased we did, we had the best meal and service out of our three weeks in Italy. A simple rustic setting with exquisite food and refreshingly genuine and enthusiastic service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    102
    47
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very expensive and what a terrible upsetting experience!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We got a flyer advertising this restaurant and thought it looked quite unique, with tables outside amongst the rocks and trees. So we decided to give it a try. Well what an experience it was, well we have never had such an experience in our lives. It was off the beaten track and seemed quite pleasant setting however when our food arrived we were swarmed with wasps which took a liking to our food after several minutes of being under siege we asked the restaurant owner if something could be done about it as it was dangerous to have food with wasps in it. We were anxious in case we swallowed a wasp etc anyway my husband asked to be moved and the owner got cross with us so we decided to leave and to give a token payment as we had not eaten any food although it had been served. The owner then started to get aggressive and said we have to pay 56 euros otherwise he would call the police. We were shocked by this, had we spoken Italian we would of stood our ground and argued our point that we should not have paid the full amount as we had not touched the food. Sardinia is very expensive and you do feel that we are being robbed all the time but this was definitely robbery. SO be warned and give this restaurant a definite miss. Our regret is that we had not looked it up on tripadvisor so we could have saved ourselves 50 Euros. On food we did not get to eat. We have never on our lives experienced anything like it and we were very upset by it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sugaraunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedristellas_Ceo, Direttore at Pedristellas, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
EXTRAAAA BOOOOMMMM - 30 € is NOT expensive
Dear lady...
1) If you don't pay in a italian shop, it is usual to see the presence of the Carabinieri/Police 'cause it is a infringement of art. 641 del codice penale italiano....("insolvenza fraudolenta").
2) You had the opportunity to eat indoor, in a closed gazebo, faraway from wasp...ehhehe
3) EHEHEHEH you eat part of the dishes :P

4) we were very kind and opened the restaurant at 1845... for your ....needs.
5) we offer porcetto à la carte, not in the menu'...you have not tasted our main menu...
6) 24 GBP/30 eur.... like tips in british restaurants....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderfull”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

we visit this restaurant since many years. the owners are very nice and helpful. the dinner is a excellent menu with seafood or meat. the location has the most wonderful ambience at the costa smeralda. just try it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank christian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a wonderfull ...world !”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We read the advertising on the beach of that restaurant. We tried first time in dinner and we discovered a location that was simply amazing. Really, we never seen so nice and original restaurant in Italy. About the food, we tried the both menu land and seafood. We were 4 persons and we spent a right price for a lot of good food. The quality of the food was exellent. The service was also in english. We propose for our friends, and they appreciate too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brotus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“average food, overpriced and treated like a criminal!”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

we visited this 'restaurant' laste week during our holiday. We advice you all not to go there;

1. the food is average, fixed menu and overpriced
2. wine is from the supermarket
3. service is incompetent; they argue and do not know anything about the food or the wines
4. You can only pay in cash... which they DO NOT ANNOUNCE in advance, we had to pay 257,- euro and do not carry that amount of cash with us*

* we were offered to get the money in Porto Rotondo Centro while it was in the middle of the night and we had a child with us... We told him we would like to pay with a creditcard, was not possible. Only cash was accepted. During the evening more people got surprised at the end of the evening as we noticed that a lot of other tables went to the 'office'. Later on it got clear to us that those people were 'forced' to give an Bonifico Bancario to guarantee the payment. We got a discussion but did not want to waste our holiday experience so decided to go into town to get the money in cash. The so called 'manager' felt offended and called the carabinieri which we met when we returned to settle the bill.... ofcourse we were not arrested, we paid and wanted to get out of this terrible place as soon as possible.

This restaurant and the people working in it are a curse to Sardegne, which on itself is a beautiful Island. So we would advise you all to go elsewhere, there are a lot of better spots to visit!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedristellas also viewed

Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Pedristellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing