We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Su Gologone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Su Gologone
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

All I can say that staying in this place is a wonderful experience. We stayed 2 nights, and I think that is really enough to discover this wonderful place. The pool area is nice, but having to drive a minimum of 1 hour to the wonderful white beaches with crystal blue water is probably not very practical to do every day, and would be a shame to miss.

The food there is just amazing - you have to try it. The locals come form all over the island to this place just for lunch or dinner - it's definitely worth is!!!

Just one negative for me to mention would be the WiFi. You have to get a new log-in code every two hours, and there is almost only WiFi access in the lobby, wish is pretty slow when it works. Something you don't really expect in the price-range they offer their rooms for...

Room Tip: Don't expect to have Wifi excess apart form in the Lobby, and even there it didn't always wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MarcAroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 992 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in August and used it as a base for hill-walking in the surrounding area.

It truly is a beautiful hotel, lovingly curated by its friendly staff. The description "living museum and art gallery" suits it well. Despite having nearly 100 rooms, it comes across as an intimate, cosy place because it is spread over several levels and buildings.

We had a room near the very top, a mini-suite as it turned out but not one with a bath on the balcony. Be prepared to get your exercise walking to and from breakfast - there were well over a 100 steps each way, I counted.

The pool area is lovely. Breakfast is excellent and plentiful. We ate there on 2 nights and the menu, while limited and best suited to carnivores, is very good and the setting beautiful. The third night we ate the set menu at the agriturismo Guthiddai down the road which was good value bit the setting is not nearly as appealing. We missed out on some of the special meals held on some nights but they sounded like fun.

What I will remember most about the place is the use of vibrant colours throughout and the countless nooks and crannies and special features to be explored, all revealing aspects of the life of the island. Great walking in the area too including near La Sorgente just 400m down the road and the walk to Cala Luna beach which is not for the faint-hearted in the August heat.

As other reviewers have said a minor irritant is the need to get a code at reception every time you need to use wifi on any device. This is a nuisance especially as the mobile phone signal is very poor in that whole area. I could live with wifi only being available in reception but at least put in a couple of more powerful and faster routers and require a code just on first use.

Overall a treasure of a place and one to return to for short-breaks.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CorkyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

It's all about harmony. Su Gologone is an experience more than an hotel. The setting, in the heart of Barbagia close to Oliena, is stunning. The service is warm but impeccable and the Sardinian food prepared with local ingredients is magnificent. It's a relaxed and sophisticated atmosphere. Blending rustic and contemporary details the Su Gologone Style gives you something charming to look at with every turn. Each room is unique and there are miriade private nooks all over the property. Owner Giovanna Palimodde is an artist who creates contemporary textile, handmade jewelry, paintings, which are shown in the Botteghe di Su Gologone. And her Mother, Pasqua, presides over everything. It's a place that 's very hard to leave...

Room Tip: Junior suites has a little romantic terrace with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Truly wonderful. The staff are friendly and appear genuinely happy. There is nothing they won't do to assist. We stayed in two Junior Suites - just fantastic. We will definitely return. Only issue was trying to find our car which was parked by staff and who could not remember where they parked it! We actually laughed as we wandered around the car park trying to locate it. Everything about this place is magical. The walks in the area are outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the mountains. Great pool for the kids and good local food. Very laid back and relaxing.....its a great spot in the mountain and people come for miles around to eat here. The outdoor baths are novel !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MTB186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is undoubtedly beautiful and creative in the way it has been decorated and laid out. Once you felt you had seen it all you would find another terrace, corner, etc. and it felt that a lot of care and attention had been put into it.
The pool was a lovely area and the gym and jacuzzi great. Breakfast was plentiful with fantastic selections and very generous.
The restaurant was reasonable, though the incredible Agriturismo Guthiddai down the road wins hands down.

The location is beautiful and looking out into the surrounding mountains at sundown from the terrace of dreams was a highlight. They also put on an astronomy evening with incredible telescopes and experts; unfortunately all in Italian, but we muddled along. It is also very well located for the many beautiful places to visit in the surrounding areas; a stunning part of the island.

They were very helpful when my boyfriend wanted to surprise me on my birthday and organised a cake and champagne to the room- it was a really lovely touch.

The tweaks required are as follows
- staffing; it is a large hotel and written information about surrounding attractions is limited. We would have liked more information about the surrounding activities and attractions but staff, though helpful, were often distracted by other tasks and demands

- internet access. Access is poor and this is not a disaster in isolation. However, with poor information at the front desk about local activities, you need to have good internet connectivity to work out what to do/where to go. You also have to ask for a ticket to access it each time and it lasts only two hours; I felt like a naughty school girl asking for permission each time. The connectivity itself was very slow. I suspect this system is to limit the number of guests accessing it at any one time as the broadband width can't cope.

-room cleaning; this was below par and not as thorough as I would expect from a hotel of this standard.

Overall, however, the hotel is a special place and like nowhere else you will ever stay! Lovely part of Sardinia- we moved onto the touristy Costa Smeralda after and lamented for the the area Su Gologone occupies.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was a lot lighter than our neighbours who felt very closed in in their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lk1983186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel in June 2014, on a half board basis. The hotel is exceptional and will be one of my all time favourites. The warm welcome we received from all members of the staff was outstanding and they should all be congratulated. Our room was beautiful and the grounds/gardens were spectacular and unique. All the meals were excellent, the choices at breakfast were staggering and the views from the outside dining area will never be forgotten. Will definitely visit again.
Anne and Dave C, gloucestershire

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliena
75.9 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#4 of 33 in Cagliari
2,016 reviews
64.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
58.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
766 reviews
70.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
57 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#5 of 21 in Porto Cervo
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Su Gologone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Gologone

Address: Localita Su Gologone SNC, 08025 Oliena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Oliena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliena
Price Range: $220 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Su Gologone 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Su Gologone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Su Gologone Oliena, Sardinia
Su Gologone Hotel Oliena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing