We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for snorkeling and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Don Diego
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Porto San Paolo
Certificate of Excellence
Civitella di Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect location for snorkeling and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Profession staff, breathtaking scenary of Tavolara island, typical Sardinian style furniture and architectural structure, great cuisine....etc.. I could go on and on and on. During the last week of August the warm crystal blue lagoon offered us some good snorkeling. Having the boat rentals right next to the hotel was perfect. We rented a boat to visit the nearby islands. We had a junior-suite with the most beautiful view and a big surprise.... our bungalow had a private terrace on the roof. The rate for this kind of a room was not low but we are happy with our choice and plan on returning next year. The staff was very friendly and some of them have been there for years. I suggest this hotel to couples and to families with small children but not for teenagers as the surrounding area doesn't offer much for them.

Room Tip: Junior suites have a sea view and a few stairs - One can choose from a main floor bungalow or a fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Civ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    12
    18
    10
See reviews for
39
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

2 weeks of total relaxation in Hotel Don Diego. Location could not be better. Safe and shallow beach for the kids with great snorkling in the hotels backyard and a great salty water pool.
Breakfast outside with the best view ever. Possibilities to play tennis, hire cano, bike or motorboot to explore the coastline. You definitely need a car as the hotel is positioned in a secluded area between San Paolo and San Teodoro.
Dinner was o. In the evening the terrace and restaurant seem to turn into an old peoples place. So I suggest to have dinner in one of the fine restaurants in the area.
Staff is incredibly helpful and friendly.
The Gym is funny. It is definitely outdated but has its charm with birds flying in and out.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit old and don't have the best location. The Junior and Family Suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onmyway2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed as a large group in Don Diego. We had four rooms. Each room was clean, spacious and well equipped. All had wonderful views. The only problem we had were the hard beds and the rock solid pillows. The hotel staff were really friendly and very helpful. The food was good but slightly dated as was the formal dinning area. The pool was large and the beach beautiful.There was a lot of tolerance towards the baby of the group which made us feel at home. I would stay again but next time i will take my own pillow! My only other complaint was minor and that was that we couldn't watch telly from in bed!! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 504 was a great room with roof top balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in September 2012 , the hotel , staff and food was very good . We must mention Alessia who was working at the reception , she was so helpful and made our stay even better.
There isn't anything that i didn't like , Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be certainly coming back in 2013 ! .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulfLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here with my partner in September 2012 just after the main holiday break had ended.

The hotel is nice with really well kept traditional communal areas, the room we stayed in was by no means modern style but was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately our air conditioner broke leaving us very uncomfortable for one night but we were given a free upgrade the next day when the problem could not be resolved.

The private beach is small but lovely as was the pool- although it was filled with salt water! i'd not encountered this before. The staff were lovely at all times and very friendly and professional making a real effort to understand us even though some of them didn't speak English very well. The location, views and area are stunning!

The only draw back is the price, it was an expensive trip, with the hotel's bar prices being rather steep too, I think the cheapest bottle of wine was about 30 euros and then up. Dinner here is expensive and its one set menu with no choice or variety, however a taxi into town was only 10 euros and we ended up eating in a lovely restaurant called the Flintstones in Porto San Paulo.

There wasn't a load of stuff to do in Sardinia but if you want a relaxing break and aren't too worried about money this is the hotel for you.

One last thing we hired a car while we were away in Sardinia it was pretty cheep and defiantly needed to get around! Oh and the drive leading up to this hotel from the main road was pretty full of potholes and actually had quite a lot of fun driving up and down it although probally not good if you have a bad back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 28Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Found this place some 8 years ago.. looking for a combination of good wheather,food and rest beeing a quite busy musician.. My eldest son learned how to swim there.. Went back this summer for a week's break, and could not believe my eyes.. nothing has changed.. even the salty swimming pool and the old waiter with the white vest in the evening.. I lost my hair and gained belly, my eldest son is now 13, and lots of things changed in my life... but not Don Diego.. it is definitely there to last forever and a day. And that's a good thing...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IVY007-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 4 days in September. Great location if you are willed to spend some money.
We did not book in advance and received a really good price for a suite (end of the season). Still serious money, but we loved the room, the view and the service.
The beach is absolutely fantastic.The 2 pools super nice. There is one salt water pool and one smaller pool.
The snacks are too pricy so we went to Porto San Paolo for lunch ( Il Conchiligia and Il Portolano- great restaurants!!) ) and returned for dinner.
Dinner and service at Don Diego are fantastic.A delicious 4 course menu with a lor of seafood and good pasta.

Room Tip: Take a suite if you can afford it. They have a stuning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnkathrinAusBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto San Paolo
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
#8 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ollastu Residence
1.2 mi away
Hotel Castello di Tavolara
Hotel Castello di Tavolara
#2 of 4 in Porto San Paolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
4.3 mi away
Due Lune Resort Golf & Spa
Due Lune Resort Golf & Spa
#15 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Pelican Beach Resort & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Diego

Property: Hotel Don Diego
Address: Costa Toni Costa Dorata SNC, 07020 Porto San Paolo, Loiri Porto San Paolo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Loiri Porto San Paolo > Porto San Paolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Porto San Paolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, the Hotel Don Diego rises on a ravishing cove facing the Marin Park of the islands of Tavolara and Molara. All the typical colors and scents of the lush Mediterranean vegetation grows all over the valley surrounding all the buildings. This discreet corner of paradise is the ideal place to go to relax, enjoy the emerald sea and admire romantic golden sunsets. It is a Hotel with immense Charm and a keen attention to detail. The Don Diego will welcome you in his complete quietness and restfulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego Hotel
Hotel Don Diego Sardinia/Porto San Paolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing