We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed in September 2012”
Review of Hotel Don Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Diego
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porto San Paolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in September 2012 , the hotel , staff and food was very good . We must mention Alessia who was working at the reception , she was so helpful and made our stay even better.
There isn't anything that i didn't like , Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be certainly coming back in 2013 ! .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulfLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 193 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here with my partner in September 2012 just after the main holiday break had ended.

The hotel is nice with really well kept traditional communal areas, the room we stayed in was by no means modern style but was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately our air conditioner broke leaving us very uncomfortable for one night but we were given a free upgrade the next day when the problem could not be resolved.

The private beach is small but lovely as was the pool- although it was filled with salt water! i'd not encountered this before. The staff were lovely at all times and very friendly and professional making a real effort to understand us even though some of them didn't speak English very well. The location, views and area are stunning!

The only draw back is the price, it was an expensive trip, with the hotel's bar prices being rather steep too, I think the cheapest bottle of wine was about 30 euros and then up. Dinner here is expensive and its one set menu with no choice or variety, however a taxi into town was only 10 euros and we ended up eating in a lovely restaurant called the Flintstones in Porto San Paulo.

There wasn't a load of stuff to do in Sardinia but if you want a relaxing break and aren't too worried about money this is the hotel for you.

One last thing we hired a car while we were away in Sardinia it was pretty cheep and defiantly needed to get around! Oh and the drive leading up to this hotel from the main road was pretty full of potholes and actually had quite a lot of fun driving up and down it although probally not good if you have a bad back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 28Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Found this place some 8 years ago.. looking for a combination of good wheather,food and rest beeing a quite busy musician.. My eldest son learned how to swim there.. Went back this summer for a week's break, and could not believe my eyes.. nothing has changed.. even the salty swimming pool and the old waiter with the white vest in the evening.. I lost my hair and gained belly, my eldest son is now 13, and lots of things changed in my life... but not Don Diego.. it is definitely there to last forever and a day. And that's a good thing...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IVY007-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 4 days in September. Great location if you are willed to spend some money.
We did not book in advance and received a really good price for a suite (end of the season). Still serious money, but we loved the room, the view and the service.
The beach is absolutely fantastic.The 2 pools super nice. There is one salt water pool and one smaller pool.
The snacks are too pricy so we went to Porto San Paolo for lunch ( Il Conchiligia and Il Portolano- great restaurants!!) ) and returned for dinner.
Dinner and service at Don Diego are fantastic.A delicious 4 course menu with a lor of seafood and good pasta.

Room Tip: Take a suite if you can afford it. They have a stuning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnkathrinAusBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found this hotel to be over priced for the experience offered. On the positive side, the grounds were nice, well kept gardens, very nice pool area with comfortable chairs, large covered veranda with an amazing view for breakfast and lunch. Beach is semi private with grainy sand and chairs with umbrellas for guests. We had a standard room which was spacious and clean with a small balcony. The breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection of choices including crepes, omlettes and fresh fruits. The desk staff were friendly and helpful with good restaurant recommendations. On the not so positive side : the breakfast was only served until 10 am and lunch until 2 pm . We found this schedule to be quite inconvenient as we had 2 teenagers with us who wanted to sleep in. The lunch menu is quite expensive and limited in choices. A small towel is given to you for use at the pool, but you are charged 2 euro each time you want a clean one. There is a good sized gym , however it was very dirty and the equipment quite dated.. The air conditioning did not work in the gym which made it almost impossible to work out due to the heat. We asked them to clean the gym as we planned to use it everyday, but they never did. We only ate dinner at the hotel once and found it to be very expensive for the quality of the food. There is wireless Internet in the lobby and pool area but the signal is quite weak. We have travelled extensively and really feel as though this hotel is over rated and over priced, they need to pay more attention to the details , a great view is not enough,

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very far from the pool, restaurant and beach - if it is important for you to be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked Don Diego early for 2 weeks in June 2012 directly by 100% prepayment with a 20% discount which was a fault!!
The hotel looks great from outside with a very nice garden and a great breakfast terrace...but inside they have many hidden problems.
We had a sea view Junior Suite with a very impressive view from the big terrace.
The room inside was partly originally and ok but without any window screens and therefore including lots of insects flying and also crawling around. The rooms might become very loud if other guets don't behave themselves with consideration (what we hoped to find at recommended quiet Don Diego).
The prepaid halfboard dinner was only average because of the obviously low budget quality products (à la carte for good/extra money you can order the good food). We can only recommend the desert. The breakfast was acceptable but only with can fruit.The all in all excellent Sardinian wine (starting with EUR 20,- for a bottle) and the soft drink prices were fair, liquors too expensive (starting with EUR 6,- for a glass amari).
The service for a leading 4 star hotel was very, very poor in the restaurant (dinner and lunch). Some waiters were obviously unskilled! and only speaking italian. If you were no repeater or known you had to wait long for the dishes (although we've been always friendly to everybody and we gave good tips!)?! If you complain still friendly ...they ignore you even more.
Very good and friendly was only the service at the pool restaurant for lunch (great salads etc.).
The called and sold "private beach" is no private beach at all. It is only a part of the hotel area adjacent to the very little stony beach. Many foreign guets come to the beach thru!! the hotel property and also use the shower and toilets inside the hotel at the pool area which is an absolute NOGO! Nobody of the hotel staff cares about and therefore we assume it is tolerated (we never complained about this at Don Diego even not to cause any trouble!).
The lifeguard Giuseppe is very friendly and keeps the pool and beach area absolutely clean and he also speaks excellent english (what we originally expected from the waiters).
We friendly complained and asked for few things (like a a bowl with vinegar to treat the stings) at the front desk but nobody could (wanted to) help us. Every little demand/wish seems to become a big unsolvable problem and nobody is competent. The director hides in the back and only listens...until he comes out becomes very mean and unfriendly and shouts to you very badly in the lobby. He threatened us and told us that we are no more wanted in "his" hotel and we shall leave right away. We said ok, but refund our prepaid part for the remaining days. He did not react and kept on cussing! Only after we asked to call the Carabinieri he calmed down and we left early (within 30 minutes) by beeing "kicked" out of the property and hoping!! that they would submit our money by wire the next days (at least the money was credited after 3 days) because they refused cash repayment.
The director Mr. B. can become a very mean and dangerous person and we were happy and lightened after we left the property ...and found a very nice hotel with a very friendly and good skilled staff for a much lower price also!
We are from Germany and you can also read our detailed german judgement on holidaycheck.de including the very short and poor statement of this director thinking to have 99% satisfied guests. Maybe someone should give him a calculator.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chewbaka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDDCostaDorata, Direttore generale at Hotel Don Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are thankful that 99% of our guests are satisfied, for there is certainly a good reason. For that we don’t need a calculator we only count the repeat guests.
Customer service is our motto, but some guests are just not welcome here. That is why we asked you to leave our hotel and we would even refund your money back. To be clear, after we were asked by many guest and all the employees to get you to leave and you would’d do it, we intimated you by calling the police and finally we got you out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

good facilities, pretty surrounds. would be excellent if wifi hadn't been so patchy..
pool, bar and snacks, private beach.. all in all pretty cool

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucemacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto San Paolo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Castello di Tavolara
Hotel Castello di Tavolara
#3 of 5 in Porto San Paolo
166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto San Paolo
Residence Hotel Porto San Paolo
#1 of 5 in Porto San Paolo
89 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
#11 of 40 in Olbia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Borgo di Campagna
Borgo di Campagna
#4 of 5 in Porto San Paolo
208 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Ollastu Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Diego

Address: Costa Toni Costa Dorata SNC, 07020 Porto San Paolo, Loiri Porto San Paolo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Loiri Porto San Paolo > Porto San Paolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Porto San Paolo
Price Range: $211 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach, the Hotel Don Diego rises on a ravishing cove facing the Marin Park of the islands of Tavolara and Molara. All the typical colors and scents of the lush Mediterranean vegetation grows all over the valley surrounding all the buildings. This discreet corner of paradise is the ideal place to go to relax, enjoy the emerald sea and admire romantic golden sunsets. It is a Hotel with immense Charm and a keen attention to detail. The Don Diego will welcome you in his complete quietness and restfulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Diego Hotel
Hotel Don Diego Sardinia/Porto San Paolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing