We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort in beutiful baia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautifull surroundings, excellent dinners, perfect beach with good services and good apartments with perfect airco.
More interest should be given to environmental energy (sun, wind) ,combating insects (wasp and mosquito) and control over the shuttle service.

Room Tip: Room not too far from the reception
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uva174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 622 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

I don't usually write reviews for places I didn't stay, but if the 'service' we got in our efforts to stay in this resort is any reflection of what you get when staying here, I would say, avoid it.
We called the reservation line to ask if they had a room anywhere in the resort available for the following night. We called 3 times, no answer (this was at 11 in the morning). Finally I got through to someone, who said she didn't know if they had rooms, but would check and call me back. 2 hours later, after no phone call, I called again. Yes, they had rooms in the Village and Baia.
When we arrived, we went first to Bahia to see the room. You have to park at the bottom of a very steep hill and a shuttle takes you up to the room. Given that they wanted to charge just over 300Euros a night, I expected something nice, not what looked like huts in a scout camp, with scrubby patches of mud and plastic chairs outside, very basic furniture inside, and not even a view on the sea. As we were going back down the hill, the (very nice) driver tried to tell us how close we were to the sea - yes, but down a very steep hill, and the people coming back up didn't look like they were enjoying their hike at all.
We then went to the Village. The receptionist spent about 10 minutes to print out the rates from their website. Then when I asked if I could see a room with a balcony, she didn't know if any were available or clean (this was at 5 pm.). Then she said someone might come to show us a room. 15 minutes later we decided to leave as no one had come to show us the room, and they still didn't seem to know what would really be available.
All in all, not what I would expect from a place charging those kinds of prices.
We ended up staying in Aquadulci, just down the road, which was much smaller, more personal service, and for the same price as the Baia, a stylish, elegant room with a sea view.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank FreidaBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was in Chia for 1 month and I was living in villa. I liked this place because of local food, activities which you can do in hotel, beach and sea.
Staff was great, but most of them weren't speaking English.
It's great that they got staff from different countries to help people with low level of English.
Special thanks for Lina ( Lithuania/Литва)
and Julia (Russo/Russia/Россия)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan_Polovinkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Resort and all services (beach, facilities...) are great; staff is very kind. However, too many rooms and too many people in the beach. Considering the price paid it should be more exclusive in terms of number of people and quality of the food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergio t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The three rooms we got were far below par ! The shuttle service to the rooms (some quite far from the reception /restaurant) a headache ! The food at the self service restaurant mediocre !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went to Chia Laguna in late May to early June. To be honest it wasn't really open for the first 5 days, it pretty much opened in June. Some restaurants were closed, for a couple of nights there was a conference which meant the other guests were crammed into a handful of tables outside. We had to wait nearly an hour to get a table and that had to be achieved by standing next to a group that looked like they were about to finish, which was not nice for us or them. The staff did not help at all. We had half board which included the buffet restaurant. The food was good and there was plenty of it. The supplements to eat at the other restaurants were ridiculous. At the Luna restaurant across the road it was cheaper to eat from the non residents menu than to pay the supplement.

The best and the worst aspect was the staff dealing with the children. In the evening they had a little show and disco from about 8.30. My children loved it, it was one of the highlights of their holiday. The staff were enthusiastic and fun. BUT, the kids club was dangerously chaotic. It was obvious from the the first moment that the systems were just not up to scratch. It's a lovely building next to a lovely kids pool area, but when we were there was only a 80cm easily opened gate between the two areas, so children could walk out of the club area and/or into the pool area with little difficulty. Also the systems for checking children in were not properly established. We put our 3,5 and 7 year old children in the club, but one of us stayed in the adjoining area at all times as we just did not trust the set up. This turned out to be just as well as on the third visit to the club, my husband was stunned to look up from his paper to see our 3 year old son wandering past the pool towards him, completely unsupervised. He dashed back into the club, thinking they would be frantically looking for him, but no one had noticed he had gone. I was assured that there would be changes to make sure that this could not happen again, but we did not return so I cannot say whether this was completed. Just because you are relaxed and on holiday, don't let your instincts slip. If it doesn't feel right, it probably isn't and you should ask questions. This incident was very upsetting, but it could have been tragic.

Chia Laguna is very pretty and the pools are lovely. The beach nearby (not exclusive to the hotel, but not busy) was one of the best I've ever been to. The rooms are nice, but a bit small.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ByronBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Childrens club staff were extremely good with the children.
Hotel room (Baia) was basic but extremely clean. Cleaning service was excellent. Fresh clean towels daily.
Beaches were superb, extremely clean and safe for children.
Restaurant assigned to the Baia hotel was very good (buffet service) . Staff very attentive and cleared away used plates etc very efficiently.
The pool area was excellent.

The outside bar area, childrens play area and the hotel room gardens need more attention to take the appearance up a level.
A little more information about the hotel services upon arrival would have been helpful. e.g. we weren't initially aware that the hotel runs the mini bus to your room every evening.

We would return to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chia
0.2 mi away
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
34.5 mi away
Valtur Torre Chia
Valtur Torre Chia
#7 of 7 in Chia
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aquadulci Hotel
Aquadulci Hotel
#3 of 7 in Chia
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spartivento
Hotel Spartivento
#5 of 7 in Chia
114 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia

Address: Loc. Chia, 09010 Chia, Domus de Maria, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Domus de Maria > Chia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Price Range: $285 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baia Chia stands out proudly amongst the landscape, complementing the golden dunes and the clear waters of the sea in Sardinia. The dominating old Tower of Chia watches over each of our 80 splendid rooms, embedded in the promontory, from a distance. Indulge in this paradise of relaxation and tranquillity when you stay at Hotel Baia, and discover an exciting holiday where anything is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Baia Chia
Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing