We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than a Rip Off!!!!”
Review of Aquadulci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquadulci Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel last friday for a 5 day stay. We were forced to take a suite as we were travelling with our 5 year old daughter and baby so our total price per night was over EUR550. I found the staff very un kind and un friendly.

During our stay one woman fell and broke her arm as she slipped on the pathway. That same afternoon, i slipped very badly while walking down the external stairs. I was carrying my baby at the time. Fortunately i was fine but shockingly, the next day when i approached reception, i was told by the terribly rude and un pleasant woman that "next time i should be more careful when walking down the stairs". Her arrogance was beyond me particualalry as she could see i was coveredin cuts and bruises from the fall.

With regards to the hotel facilities, i would consider them to be less than acceptable for what we paid. Breakfast was absolutely disgusting. Filter coffee left in a jug, concentrated juices. When i asked for a freshly squeezed juice for the baby i was charged a ridiculous sum.

But the biggest let down of all has to be the total unfriendliness towards children. The restaurent opening hours were srtichtly from 1 to 2.30 pm. On our last day i approched the restaurant at exactly 2.25 and the manager of the restaurant told me to leave as the kitchen was closed (even though it wasnt yet 2.30). I explained that my one year old child was starving as he had been asleep till then and if they could just boil a simple plate of spaghetti. He refused which led me to get very upset. Some kind guests who saw this go on shared their bread basket with the baby.

As for my elder child, all she wanted on her entire holiday to ITALY was an ice cream. Every morning we were asked ot pre order our dinner. We ticked all the options we wanted which included chocolate ice cream for a 5 year old. every night it didnt arrive. The staff were un apologetic and simply told us each time to go to the bar the next day andpurchase a pre packeted one ourselves.

In short, this hotel is over priced, bad value, poor customer service and disgusting quality of food. Stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Aquadulci Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to visit a day earlier than planned as our previous hotel in Bosa had been a major disappointment. When enquiring with the Aquadulci hotel if it was possible to book an extra night, we were told that they only had a classic room available for 125 euros. We found this to be reasonable and decided to spend an extra night there than originally planned.

Upon arrival we were kindly shown our room, which was a good size for what seemed to be a good price. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. However, the sound proofing was not adequate given our neighbours' 'antics' at 5 am......

The following morning, we informed reception that we were now ready to go to our original booking which was a 'sea view' room and they were free to pick up our luggage while we had breakfast.

Breakfast was certainly not 4-star. The scrambled eggs were cold and the buffet was not properly stocked, despite it being 9am. The juices were cheap concentrate and there was a pot of filter coffee - not what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

After having spent the day at the beach (which was a lovely beach), we were shown to our 'sea view' room which we had pre-paid via an online agent, a whopping 348 euros.

At these prices, you expect a bigger sized room than the 'classic room' we had just spent the previous night in, and a sea view at the very least. Upon entering the room, this was clearly not the case. The room was half the size of the classic room, and you had to lean over the balcony to see a glimpse of the ocean! Not impressed at all!

The bathroom was cramped and the shower cubicle was so small it was difficult to manoeuvre in it at all. It was actually half the size of the classic room's shower.

We then went to reception to ask how a room more than twice the price, could be so small and lacking a decent view. The receptionist (possibly manager) shrugged her shoulders and told us this was the way it was. No apology and no proper explanation.

The worst however was yet to come....

Upon checking out the next morning, we received our check-out bill for the additional first night in the classic room (which we had been told was 125 euros), and found it to be a staggering 250 euros....we were then told that the price was per person per night. How on earth can a hotel room be charged per person when you are booking a double room for a night??? They should have explained this to us when we rang to enquire about prices a couple of days before.

Once again it was shrugged off as 'this is the way it is'....all in all, two nights in a pleasant hotel with tiny bathrooms, and hardly a view, for a exhorbitant price tag of 700 euros!!!

I am seriously annoyed with this place and their attitude to customers. I would not recommend going there and perhaps find another resort in Chia as the beach is actually very beautiful.

To sum up, we feel totally ripped off and this leaves a bad impression about Sardinia as a holiday destination...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JRM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived here planning to stay one night and enjoyed it so much we stayed for a second. The hotel is quite small for this area, and certainly the public areas are 'design', done in stone and pale tones. We stayed in a classic room on the ground floor the first night. The room was quite small, but nicely done, again in pale colours. The only thing was the bathroom is very small. The second night they moved us to an upper floor with a balcony and a sea view. This was quite a bit bigger, and again elegant and cool.
We ate dinner in the restaurant which was OK, but I wouldn't want to do that every night.
Unlike some other reviewers, we had excellent service - from the ladies at reception, to the bar staff who happily brought drinks to the room, to the waiters.
And the best thing about the hotel is that it is close to the beach. Yes, a walk along a boardwalk, but as the beach is a protected area, I don't see how you could easily be closer.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FreidaBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staff incredibly inhospitable and inflexible! We were on half board and we were not allowed to choose to have dinner or lunch! They want to be environmentally friendly and promote sustainable tourism but there are most certainly not as not allowing us to eat in local restaurants...we are willing to eat lunch at the hotel...they are quids in aswell! They do not promote the excursions that are available which are incredible..highly recommend them! The food is superb! Wouldn't return though!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went in May 2012 to the hotel with family and friends to marry on the beach in front of the hotel. The environment was beautifull, very nice beaches and with sand. The hotel was very flexible to arrange everything with us. The food was very very excellent. Eacht day fresh food and a lot of choices. Breakfast in the morning is extensive. Dinner in the evening is delicious. The rooms of the hotel are modern, big, nice decorated. We booked the junior suite and had a very beautifull sight. I would recommend the hotel to everyone, and will certainly go back! Have fun!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katrien v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Near the beach, close to a beautiful lagoon with lots of sea birds.Good service, The interior design is lovely. But the best part is the tranquility. Loved every minute.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view and ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anatmo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed there for five nights in august. We booked it in April. As we had a really great time at southern sardegna last year we wanted to have the similar experience and we decided to stay at chia area this year and chose this hotel.
If you come here just for a long weekend holiday from Europe I guess it's acceptable. But expecting great summer holidays for long and flying from Japan, unfortunately it's not worth.
Classical garden view rooms are rather small and views really depend on which room you stay. View from no 5 is quite a pity.
What's disappointing was they don't have private beach which is even ok but you have to pay 28 euros for a parasol and two sun beds. Plus sometimes even it's difficult to find a place and they say we need to book it in advance. I have never heard a sun bed to book. Anyway if it's such a place the hotel should have informed it to us. Anyway the beach is great. White sundy beach and really crystal clear water. Weather is always sunny but you have to be careful for wind. Some days were quite windy and not possible to keep staying at the beach.
In addition we expected a quiet hotel but it was full of family with small kids. Even though hotel has some codes for kids but it's not followed and even at 10 pm, kids are screaming around even at bar. So if you prefer a bit pricy but family friendly holidays I think it would fit but if not it's not ideal place. We would choose last year hotel we stayed which is Villas resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nomisuke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chia
0.9 mi away
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
9.4 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spartivento
Hotel Spartivento
#5 of 7 in Chia
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Valtur Torre Chia
Valtur Torre Chia
#7 of 7 in Chia
181 reviews
38.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Gabbiano
Il Gabbiano
#6 of 7 in Chia
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquadulci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquadulci Hotel

Address: Loc Capo Spartivento | Domus de Maria, 09010 Chia, Domus de Maria, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Domus de Maria > Chia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chia
#3 Family Hotel in Chia
Price Range: $155 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquadulci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Aquadulci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquadulci Hotel Chia, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing