We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great To Be Back (but 5* restaurant to be avoided!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great To Be Back (but 5* restaurant to be avoided!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Back again for another wonderful summer holiday July-Aug 2012. Have reviewed Chia Laguna before (see previous reviews). We keep going back because the kids love the italian flavour of the resort.

First off - be sure you book the right place. The Bahia is 3 star with the out of date pool and looks a tad sad. The village is four star - money has been spent on re-furbing. So bad reviews on the pool refer to The Bahia not the Village - though the pool is still small and I suspect clients from the 3 star end up using the Village pool putting greater strain on it.

But you're really paying for the most beautiful crystal clear SEA water in the med! The italians know it but it seems the Brits prefer to sit and whine by the pool - leave them to it.

Far less bling this year and the resort better for it.

The half board buffet was pretty good as always - standard anti pasta, one or two dud mains but generally very good. Le Dune beachside restaurant still extortionate but you're paying to eat the best seafood by a glorious beach in the shade with a glass of chilled white wine - has to be done! Also great to have a sandwich delivery service on the beach this year.

The 5 star La Luna restaurant a disastrous experience. Poor atmosphere, miserable clientele, the worse tuna steak I have tasted in many a year. Save your money and eat at Le Dune by day and the buffet by night.

Breakfast also great except for the brazen italian picnic lunch-making that involved shovelling half the buffet into their beach bags without the slightest embarrassment. Marvelled at the audacity of it all but couldn't quite bring myself to jump in and join them.

Still need to do more to make the central plaza area less of a concrete jungle and more appealing to the resort clientele. Shops ridiculously overpriced and tacky items no one wants to buy. It needs a serious overhaul. However great to have a chemist, Gelateria and Pizzeria onsite.

Kids club staff worked very hard and made the daughter's holiday - as usual. Lovely to see the same faces year in, year out. Big thanks to Dee Dee.

Day trips still outrageously expensive. Would get more trade if dropped the prices.

Room Tip: Most rooms in The Village tend to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fawltyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    61
    36
    13
    17
See reviews for
152
99
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

First of all it must be said that 'Chia Laguna Resort' currently consists of these hotels:
- 5* Laguna
- 4* Village
- 4* Oasi
- 3* Baia

I am mentioning this since Tripadvisor (of course) distinguishes between the hotels and this site only concerns the Laguna (see above). In order to get a complete picture

After a magnificient stay at the Laguna in 2011 it was clear that we wanted to go back this year. Since mid June 2011 had proved to be a bit early (water temperature was ok but the wind made bathing a cold experience) we went a week later this time and found very pleasant conditions.
The location is immaculate - rather than spoling yet another beach the hotel (and the surrounding 'Chia Laguna Village') was built approx. 1000m inland leaving the coast line almost untouched. The beaches are certainly among the best and widest in Italy. As other travelers have noted a sunbed in one of the first two rows costs quite a lot of money. However, during our stay there was always plenty of space and I actually preferred to choose a chair myself.

The hotel can be considered small to mid-sized and offers the amenities one would expect from a 5* establishment. There is no downtown bustle here: young director Antonello was happy to show us some hidden tennis courts and the splendid terrace on the third floor (which affords views over the lagoon). Generally speaking, staff are both courteous and attentive - if anything then behavior of some snobbish guests would have to be mentioned. That was not a problem since most guests were in a holiday mood.

We managed to get the same room as last year on the 3rd floor. While it is nice to overlook the resort it must be said that there is some impact from nightly activities on the piazza (sound, light). I believe that the rooms overlooking the lagoon (east) are calmer. Since different room types are available on several floors it should be possible to get the desired room at the preferred level.

Anyone who is not in the mood of watching the rush to a restaurant buffet will be delighted to enjoy the four course menues (antipasto, primo, secondo, dessert) at the great 'La Terrazza' restaurant. Service was much quicker this year which is not necessarily a good thing - we had more time to talk to staff last year and I do think one needs more than two minutes to select items off the comprehensive card. Food quality was excellent and I do not remember having ever eaten squid that was so tender as here. Quality of desserts ranged between good and excellent (smaller food items seem to be better / more special).

The 'Terrazza' now features an additional, uncovered section which proved useful whenever Italy's soccer team played and guests flocked to the restaurant as early as possible. Next to it one can find a bar that serves excellent drinks - my only complaint would be that my 'Mango Mambo' was made differently everytime I tried.

Direct transport from the 'Laguna' to the beach has been added this year. However, being accompanied by our toddler we strongly preferred the ride on the little train which starts between the reception (of the village) and the swimming pool. Kids have a blast at the Laguna since they easily find other kids even if they are too young to be admitted to the mini club (3+).

Some remarks:
- consider flying from a major Italian airport if you appreciate several convenient flights per day.
- since transportation to the hotel always seems to cost €200 (roundtrip) we let the hotel organize our shuttle. That worked very well (Porsche Cayenne on the way back).
- Chia is located in a somewhat remote part of the island. It is not particularly suited for access to more populated areas in Sardinia.
- Eberhard Fohrer's guide book on Sardinia is nothing less than a landmark (13th edition, 700 pages). For some reason the book is only available in German. I strongly recommend it to those who would like to travel to several regions of the island and are looking for 'that special tip'.

Last but not least thanks to waitress Elisa who always seemed to know what a family with a small kid required - even before we could ask a question. Amazing.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Urs w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Pros: the beach 250 mt away is nice.

Cons: my room was dark and small; the food is average; to go to the beach you have to cross a street and walk 10 min, unless you wait for their shutlle

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paolo1974Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a very difficult review to write as I want to be fair. I'll start with the positives.
We stayed in a garden villa in the resort and it was lovely. The accomodation has been refurbished over the winter and you couldn't fault it. We had a villa with two bedrooms one upstairs one downstairs both with TV and bathrooms. Cleaned every day to a high standard.
Fridge, no complementary water, which would have been good for when we first arrived.
The resort overall is beautiful, a liitle train takes you to a lovely beach, with free sunloungers.
Good size pool, Kids pool, Massive stage for entertainment, Ice cream parlour with ice cream to die for. Piazza with various shops, pharmacy, excursion office. Food was freshly prepared.
All of the facilities were amazing........ if they had been open
We arrived 12th May, if we'd done a bit more research we would have realised that it was the begining of the season. I was travelling with my daughter and grandaughter of 2 years old and had chosen this resort for all the facilties for children. We were expecting a number of restaurants, childrens pool, entertainment, kids club, shops. In reality only one restaurant was open in The Laguna Hotel (5*) so forced to eat there. Limited menu, not geared up for children, chaotic service, food very limited, certainly not suitable for children. Miserable staff, very little English spoken, so really difficult to ask for anything. Really glad we were not staying here. Luckily after a day the resort had a conference so they opened the main restaurant in the resort. It's a buffet, food fresh, but very limited. hot food always cold. Loads of miserable managers around who look like it would be a hanging offence if they smiled. Again very little English spoken, staff unhelpful. No welcome. The resort had hardly anyone there, sat in bar on our own, no music, no atmosphere. No entertainment, one or two shops open, ice cream parlour opened after a couple of days (only because they had a conference) no kids club open, kids pool closed. No information about anything. Found out that the little train was running by accident, same with a Pizza restaurant, part of the resort but just outside main entrance, found out that this was open a couple of nights a week (Really good by the way)
Reception staff very little English, so everything hard work, managed to get a couple of excursions after a lot of persistance. Island beautiful, weather 31 degrees, people outside resort lovely. Amazing beaches. Told by guide to avoid Sardinia in August, not only is it extremely hot but overrun with Italians. To sum up, I think if we had gone a month later we would have had a very different experience. Once up and running I think the resort could be very good, so don't let me put you off. It was just very unfortunate when we went and I don't think we would go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanti_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This italian resort at the bottom of Sardegna is a good four star 'continental' resort. Once you get over the whole 'handbags at dawn' scenario where over-dressed ladies play handbag brand poker at dinner, it is a fabulous place to bring your tweenies and teens. Why? It is truly international mixing at it's best. Of course we Brits (and the Germans) tend to choose to dress less conspicuously and that's fine - the main restaurant is self-service after all so if you want to wear shorts and a T-shirt go for it.

Having grown up going to 'european holiday camps' no nation does it better than the italians. Good food, excellent wine and a group of guests intent on enjoying themselves. The Victor Meldrews amongst you can stay at home as the nightly 'animation' could drive you to the edge. The point is that the kids love it and want to be involved so grit your teeth. If that's not your style then there was a fabulous jazz band and quiet areas to relax at night.

The kids activity team were always inclusive, international football games were a nightly occurrence with all ages battling it out till late in the night with good humour and tolerance. Kids from different countries play volleyball on the beach and older kids hang out and chat.

It is expensive - a family of four staying for 2 weeks, including flights, will see little change from £6-7k for an all-inclusive break. But in return you have a fabulous beach and beach restaurant serving delicious calami fritti and chilled white wine. There is also a delightful train bus that takes you to and from the beach regularly - just don't expect people to queue - it's a free for all.

Downsides - if you're not a beach lover then you might find the pool area disappointing. The pool is rather small for the size of the resort and certain British families have taken over the mantel of hogging the sun loungers from early in the day (shame on you - you know who you are).

Sardegna is well known for the 'mistral' so the beach can be windy but in the heat of summer that can actually be quite welcome.

Medusa swarms (jellyfish) can be bothersome as well but what can the resort do about that? Best to sit back and watch concerned Grandmothers' histrionics at the waters' edge. These are not the Portguese men of war after all and the sting lasts for a couple of hours (wee and white wine vinegar is the solution - strange but true)

The resort is pretty remote so don't expect excursions and history on your doorstep. This is a place to take good books and chill.

The real test is asking the kids if they want to return - the answer from a teen and a tween were both excited 'YES!'. So if the kids are happy you've at least got a chance to relax!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fawltyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

we stayed here august 2011....it was awful...the accommodation was the worst i have ever been in...the food was average.....the swimming pool felt like it hadnt been touched since the sixties and was crumbling....and it wasnt cheap......genuinely,and by a long way the worst place i have ever stayed in.....when i told the manageress this she admitted there were"problems" and if i came back next year hopefully things would be better....ermmmm....no thanks....to anyone who has stayed at the forte village and found the accommodation there basic.....don't try this place.....!!!!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank spencerg186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

stayed a week in the laguna hotel, the rooms and views fabulous, food amazing, staff very polite and helpful. lucky enough to be able to go in september when perhaps the hotel was not at full capacity. can see that maybe in july and august things could get a bit chaotic. the beach was stunning, as is the clear gently shelving sea. no problem with sunbeds and umbrellas at all. (beach sellers were in abundance but after a firm 'no thankyou' they did move on). felt that maybe the village was a bit spread out and more walking would have to be done if you stayed there, and i can't comment on the rooms/facilities of the village but i can receommend the hotel. visited the infinity pool at Torre which is by far the best pool and a perfect setting for early evening drinks as the sun goes down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank currentbun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chia
0.9 mi away
Aquadulci Hotel
Aquadulci Hotel
#2 of 7 in Chia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
38.1 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
4.3 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Castello
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Cas...
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
43.8 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
0.6 mi away
Valtur Parco Torre Chia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna

Property: Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
Address: Localita Chia, 09010 Chia, Domus de Maria, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Domus de Maria > Chia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna in Sardinia is a testament to Italian hospitality and charm. The beautifully appointed 5 star hotel resort offers breath-taking view of sea and lagoon, and promises guests the relaxation and calm they've been craving. The energy and vibrance of the surrounding nature encompasses you, and this feeling carries to each of the rooms as well, with their spacious interiors and elegant décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing