We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE SURPRISE!”
Review of Centro Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Centro Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“NICE SURPRISE!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went to the Centro Restaurant & Bar after reading others reviews on tripadvisor. Were going to see a show so the location was perfect. Had read the menu prior to arriving and kinda had an idea of what they offered. When we got there, we had no reservations. It was Saturday night at 6pm. We got seated right away. I thought the atmosphere was trendy and upbeat. I'm not sure if I would call this a romantic restaurant and that is only due to the proximity of the other patrons tables. Hard to have a "heart to heart" when the table next to you can hear your conversation.
The waitress we had was very attentive and more than happy to help us with any questions or decision making. We both ordered drinks, which by the way, were delightful. Order the Duck Spring Rolls. VERY yummy...sad there were not more than 4 pieces! Our entrees came rather quickly and had a nice presentation. I had ordered the shrimp and my boyfriend ordered the salmon. Both of us were pleased with our meals. The Salmon came with an eggplant side dish smothered with apples. It was good (I had a bite) but it was almost too sweet to have as an entire side dish. Unfortunately, we did not order desserts, but that is okay...gives us an excuse to come back and try that! Would really recommend anyone to try out Centro...glad we did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant with a wallet-friendly, tasty menu”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant provides a menu that is innovative and wallet-friendly. It is only open for the dinner and late dinner crowd and is a destination for the savvy diner. Not quite sure what to order? The chef will work with you to build a dinner you will enjoy! Not sure where to sit? The bar area is gorgeous and worth waiting for a seat. Once seated, the bar staff will treat you like you have been coming there for years.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Ten for Dinner”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Ten of us went to this restaurant last evening and it was wonderful. They set us up in the middle of the room in a very comfortable arrangement. They had a Tuesday & Wednesday menu of specials for under $15. I had the chicken piccata and it was just great. (specials menu) The macaroni and cheese with steak tips was raved about by 2 others. ( reg. menu) Salmon topped salad looked yummy. ( specials menu) The server was also fantastic. He was very attentive and did a nice job. The desserts were also good. I would definitely return again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant, a must try.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

So many good things about centro. First is the service, Jared our waiter was excellent, very knowadgable about the mean and also very engaging with us. The food was also great with good portions. The chef came out and said hi when we first arrived and even customized a dish to meet our dietary needs. After dinner we got to talk with the chef again and she was wonderful. Everyone who worked there was very attentive and always had time for us. A great experience.

Helpful?
Thank random315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very comfortable place, good service, excellent food. Very fresh ingredients, well-presented, reasonably priced. The duck confit spring rolls were a real treat, and the "bundled" asparagus was a really interesting, very tasty appetizer. Duck pate was terrific. We would definitely come back to Centro.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariacaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing