We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, rude people!”
Review of Owl Diner

Owl Diner
Ranked #5 of 263 Restaurants in Lowell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Clinton, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OK food, rude people!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stopped here for lunch and accidentally got there only 15 minutes before close. I felt bad because I didn't realize until after I had ordered, but for the rest of the time that I was there, the workers didn't let me forget it. They were rude and the only time our waitress came to our table was to take our order and bring our food. We never got refills and she never brought the check. My water was room temperature with no ice. All of the employees loudly commented the whole time on how they wanted to leave. Our waitress picked up dirty plates from another table and then grabbed our food without washing her hands. The food was acceptable but nothing special, just burger and fries like you could get anywhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToTNandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is Breakfast”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Owl Diner is the place to go especially for breakfast. If you can't find an omelet that you like then you don't like omelets. They are known for reasonable prices and not skimping on the quantity. Like any busy place you can get a so-so waitress or catch the cook on a not so good day but nine times out of ten you are going to get a great meal for a great value. This is one of my favorite places to go for breakfast.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They need Robert Irvine! UGH..why the good reviews?”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I live in the area and have tried it 3 times each time ordering something different just to give them the benefit of the doubt, but once twice three times..OUT! Warm OJ, they don't season anything so if you dont want bland blah food then I guess you'd best skip this whole in the wall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great find in the heart of lowell!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ran into one of the guys that appeared in the movie the Fighter :) His granddaughter works there too! A great meal food was fresh and best omelette and grilled english muffin! Soooo delicious - our server she was sweet and informative extremely friendly and always smiling-

Def the only neg thing I could say is the wait for the bathroom was long for men and women.

Music in juke box great atmosphere an we were so impressed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summer20127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Value”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sometimes, a friend will tell me about a neighborhood restaurant, and I am glad I was told about the Owl Diner. It's a diner, yes, but it's much more than that. It's a popular spot with the locals, and it's always busy. The Owl Diner features breakfast and lunch at very reasonable prices, and the food is delicious. I went there with several of my friends for brunch, and the three of us ate for about $20-- and let me tell you, the portion sizes were quite large. I had spinach and cheese quiche (excellent!) and my friends had omelettes. Service was attentive, and while the Owl Diner doesn't have much in the way of atmosphere, such good food and great value explains their popularity. If you're in the vicinity of Lowell, the Owl Diner is worth a visit: but be aware that they are only open until 2 pm, their parking lot is often full, and they don't take credit cards. However, given how reasonable their prices, that shouldn't be a problem. I am not usually a fan of diners, but the Owl Diner has a lot to recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevorahLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owl Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing