We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosa Dei Vente”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Castelsardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here in early July 2012 and the area was very quiet except Sat night. The rooms are nice and very clean. We asked to have our room changed as we had been given one of the rooms without a balcony. It cost 10 euro a night more but it was worth it. There is a small garage under the hotel but I doubt it could cope with a full hotel. The problem with that is we parked on the main road just up from the hotel, there were no noticeable parking restrictions or lines on the road but we got a ticket, 39 euro fine. We were told by a member of staff that you could not park overnight in the public carparks either. If you can get in one of the laybyes on the main road you would be OK but they are usually full. The staff are OK BUT they do not speak virtually any English which was difficult when I had to ring them to say we would be late checking in. I had to do an online translation when we wanted to check out late and show him it on my phone! There is free WiFi in the lobby just ask for the password. Breakfast is OK, great coffee and they will do refils. It is a bit boring bread, cereals, yogurt etc.
You do need a car to go anywhere other than Lu Bagnu.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, the views are far better and there was not much road noise in early July...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lutyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 272 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed there at the end of April. The hotel is very nice and clean. It is located in Lu Bagnu, which is some 5 km from Castelsardo, so you definitely need a car to go to Castelsardo or use the public transport. The hotel offers good breakfast with good cappuccino :) They have a small garage for hotel guest, but I think that in summer, when the hotel is full booked, there is not enough space for everybody there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanaXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel was very nice. We travel very often and this is the first hotel that not even 4 and 5 star hotels do, that we found in our room on our arrival already had four of everything.
In every hotel in Europe and even in the US, I always have to ask for towels for 2 more people as we are a family of 4. This hotel had 4 of every type of towel, 4 of every soap and 4 glasses. The room was very clean and the bathroom was very nice. The AC works great too.
Our room did not face the street or have a balcony but stairs on the back.
We did not have the problem hearing people going on them but instead loud music and people yelling. There is a music bar right next to the hotel and you will not sleep, so you might as well join them outside. I am sure this is only a summertime affair, but I wouldn't promise this.
We parked our big car in the garage under the hotel but there is free parking very close by. Breakfast was a normal deal. All fresh. The people were very nice.
I would stay here again if it were not for the noise at night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

we stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased with the rooms. The air conditioning was good and the rooms calm. The bathrooms were perfect. We booked 3 rooms because we are a couple with three grown up children and we were pleased to have 2 double rooms very comfortable and another very large room. Eveything was very clean and new. The staff was nice and the atmosphere was pleasant and comfortable. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orphee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Had a great room, wrap around balcony facing two directions, very good view. Its not exactly sea front, its on the main road with another hotel ( closed it seems) opposite. Nevertheless the view is pleasant if not stunning and the road is quiet. Value in Sardinia for a very clean modern room with TV and fridge was very good. Walk 5 minutes to good beach, free parking opposite hotel. Couple of restaurants in La Bagnu but no English menus and sometimes no English speaking staff. Stick to Alghero if that worries you.
beach here very nice, nothing much for a beach in Castelsardo but that is a pretty town for an evening or two. You need a car though or catch a local (infrequent) bus.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Most the reviews of this hotel I saw before I booked it were glowing, but there are issues with this hotel that potential customers need to be aware of.

The Hotel is about 3km from Castelsardo in the area known as Lu Bagnu. The Hotel is in quite a busy area and I found that the bedrooms could be affected by noise from surrounding properties. On the dates we stopped there we were disturbed by noise until the early hours despite the bedroom window being fitted with metal shutters. After midnight the reception closes and entrance into the hotel is via a flight of metal stairs at the back of the hotel. If you have a room at the back you can be disturbed by people going up and down these stairs in the early hours.

Note that as reception shuts at midnight there could be a problem with check-in if you arrive after then. Expedia advises you call the hotel if a late arrival is envisaged but as staff only speak Italian this could be a problem if you don't (I tried and only got a “no, parlare Italiano” response!). Luckily I managed to arrive before midnight so didn’t get locked out.

Reception staff only speak very rudimentary English and I struggled to make myself understood with more than the standard check-in and check-out questions. Their web site suggests staff speak English and the Expedia web site I booked via, states the hotel has “Multilingual staff”. I expect this may be a common problem in this area as there are very few English tourists around Casteldardo.

The breakfast selection was somewhat limited (Cereal, Yogurt, bread rolls with Cheese and Jam and Croissants) although the ingredients were fresh and plentiful, the service was good and the breakfast area was clean, light and airy.

Rooms are advertised with Balcony or Terrace although some rooms have neither (My first floor room just had a window out onto a patio area).

It’s not all bad news with this hotel. The Hotel is kept very clean throughout and the maid service is exemplary. Staff do try to be friendly and attentive despite the language barriers. The bedroom we were allocated was quite large and had a double bed and two chairs that converted into pull out single beds. I think our room was in fact an apartment room rather than the standard hotel room as it was equipped with a sink and a fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worslesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at the hotel August 2007. The hotel was OK but we think it is a bit over-rated.

Summary:

Location:
Lu Bagnu: It is not located in "Castelsardo", it is situated in Lu Bagnu (3 KM.) which is 70 km. from Alghero's Airport where public transport is not good. We flew with Ryanair and at that time at night we could only get there by Taxi which is € 90.- The town is not that nice, needs more care and some developing for tourism.
The Hotel: Over the main street, near the beach, shops and restaurants. It has a Pub next to it so it gets noisy at night.

Staff: No one speaks other language rather than Italian. As our flight got delayed, they did not want to wait for us after midnight! In the end we got there at 1 a.m. and we did not get a welcoming arrival.

Cleanness: Excellent.

Breakfast: Good, but needs improving. If something runs out, it does not get quickly replaced.

Price: we felt that it was a bit excesive.

Conclusion: we were not happy with the town, and did not feel really confortable with the hotel or staff. Therefore we moved to the next town "Castelsardo".

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelsardo
0.8 mi away
Bajaloglia Resort
Bajaloglia Resort
#2 of 16 in Castelsardo
236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#5 of 16 in Castelsardo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
120.3 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Baga Baga
Hotel Baga Baga
#4 of 16 in Castelsardo
215 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castelsardo Resort Village
Castelsardo Resort Village
#11 of 16 in Castelsardo
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa dei Venti

Address: Corso Italia 47 | Lu Bagnu, 07031, Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelsardo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range: $60 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa dei Venti 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rosa dei Venti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Dei Venti Castelsardo
Rosa Dei Venti Hotel
Hotel Rosa Dei Venti Castelsardo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing